We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Excellent Service and good price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Noodle Shop

The Noodle Shop
3 W Pack Square, Asheville, NC (Downtown Asheville)
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 625 restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Almonte, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food, Excellent Service and good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a small restaurant in the middle of it all downtown. The room is very small and it was a cold day so no one was using the outside patio. The service is very friendly and attentive. We started with the fried tofu appetizer. It was brought quickly and was very tasty with a sweet sauce. I ordered a spicy chicken with peanuts and noodles. My wife had the spring soup with rice noodles. Mine was tasty, but could have used more spice. I asked for some chili sauce which helped. My wife's was tasty but a little bland. She added some of the tofu appetizer and some my chicken and that helped. The food here is good but not great. It is a good choice for a fresh lunch at a reasonable price. Next time I would try one of the other Asia restaurants down the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    35
    20
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful noodles, I won't pass by without stopping next time I am in Asheville!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Last November a friend and I had some idle time while driving home on I-40 and I stopped in Asheville to explore downtown and get a break from driving. We wandered around and eventually stopped here to eat, and I am glad we did. I enjoy spicy food, and this place did not disappoint! It was a relaxing atmosphere and the noodle soup I took home with me was still tasty when heated up the following day. My only critique is the restroom could use a little attention.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All kinda noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Being from the San Francisco Bay Area, my daughter and I know from noodles. This place right across the street from the Asheville Art Museum, is very good! They have many dishes with rice noodles, so gluten-free will be happy. Pad Thai has right balance of sweet and spicy, Mongolian beef hearty & mildly spicy. All genuine flavors, no MSG. So happy we tried it! Be careful though! It's one of a little cluster of restaurants & a really poor Chinese restaurant is a couple doors away--choose The Noodle Shop, closer to the corner, next to a Bistro.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dan Dan Noodle is Very, Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

In Asheville for only one night, I wandered the downtown streets in search of place to eat. Asheville's got many that I'm sure are pretty good, but when I spied Noodle Shop, I knew this was my dinner spot.

Why?

There's a dearth of good (or any) noodle shops in Milwaukee, my home. On a chilly December night especially, a bowl of spicy Szechuan noodles just can't be beat.

When the waiter asked what I was in the mood for, noodle bowl or stir fry, I replied, "Noodles. Soup. Spicy." He readily pointed out the Dan Dan Noodle (Szechuan Style) and warned me that the dish is vegetarian, but I could add chicken if I wanted.

And want chicken I did.

The soup, paired with a Gaelic Ale by Highland Brewing Company (a new beer for me) was great. I'd order the same meal one hundred times over if I lived near the noodle shop.

Which begs the question, "Why doesn't my hometown (Milwaukee) have more Asian noodle shops?"

Someone get on that, but in the meantime, if you're in Asheville, grab a spicy bowl at The Noodle Shop!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Passed by many times walking without going in. What a mistake! Once we tried dinner we went back many more times for lunch and dinners.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Noodle Shop also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Noodle Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Noodle Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.