We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papas & Beer

Papas & Beer
17 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
828-255-2204
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here, based on previous TA reviews. It's a large place that is run as efficiently as I have ever seen. And the food was really terrific. My husband and I both had arroz con pollo which I have never seen at a Mexican restaurant and it was just delicious. My brother-in-law had Papa's fajitas, a shrimp, chicken and beef combo, which he said was the best he ever had. And the frozen margaritas at $5.99 were huge. And in Asheville, NC. Who expected this great meal?

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    129
    35
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We eat Mexican food once a week. We popped into Papas on our way out of town and sat at the bar. It was great that we had final four, family circle cup, and soccer all on the big screens. The bartender was fast, professional and efficient. The food was fresh and piled with fresh produce which you usually don't get in a strip mall Mexican restaurant. The salsa bar and complimentary chips and bean dip were delicious. Plus we had enough food to take home for lunch the next day. The hostesses were quick to acknowledge us and inform us of the seating situation. (They could smile more - all cute and clean females, but not one smiled)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The food was great and a fun family atmosphere.
Try a pitcher of Margarita's...Delicious!
We will definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Great food & great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have eaten at this Papas & Beer each time we have been in Asheville. We have always enjoyed the food and have had good service each time. This time was no different. We were there for lunch and the portions are huge. We all had leftovers for another meal. The salsa bar is excellent with several choices of salsa. When they serve the chips you get a bean dip salsa that is also very good. Our daughters are vegan and they were able to modify their selection so they could enjoy a nice meal. Even though it was very busy we had prompt, attentive service. We can't wait to go back to Papas & Beer on Tunnel Rd. next time we are in Asheville.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Although from the outside we thought we might have to wait for a table, the parking lot was full, and we didn't. There is plenty of seating at this very popular place. The staff is friendly and the meal was great. We had margaritas that were very good too. I always order chicken quesadillas when out of town to compare taste. This is one of the best. We also ordered the guacamole and it is prepared at the table. Fun to watch and enjoy knowing it is fresh! Although a bit tired indoors, it is a great place for families to dine and have a great meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papas & Beer also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Papas & Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papas & Beer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.