We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papas & Beer

Papas & Beer
17 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
828-255-2204
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Salem, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fajitas are probably best thing to get. All in our party loved them. I had enchiladas, just average. Everything else was just OK. Salsa bar and bean dip was just OK. Very busy place. Crowded for 2 days we saw, so had to try. Not floored by the selection. Just OK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    129
    35
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it, Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A local actually recommended Papa's and Beer to us. We went there twice during our 4 week stay in Asheville, NC. Both times we had excellent service and food. We were also surprised at the cost. It was actually much cheaper than most of our other meals during out stay so this was a win, win, win!! Again, food and service were excellent and when in the Asheville area, we will definitely go again, ;)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stopped for a quick meal before leaving Asheville. Wish we had more time to sit and have a few Dos Equis. Good food and quick service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“decent Mexican food and good microbrews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place is popular and we had to wait 20 minutes for a table. But, it's a very family friendly place and has a huge menu, so the wait was worth it. They have a great draft beer list, including your Mexican favorites plus several taps dedicated to Asheville-brewed beer. And, instead of serving salsa with the complimentary chips, they serve a spicy bean dip. Yum! (There's a salsa bar if that's what you crave.) The food was just okay, but I still enjoyed my meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Don't come here if you're doing the...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

...food tour of Asheville. Basically this restaurant is an upgrade of the standard order-by-number mexican restaurant you find pretty much anywhere in the US (except Arizona and New Mexico I guess). HOWEVER, if you, like we, were looking for good order-by-number mexican and have tried all the fantastic farm-to-table, etc. restaurants in Asheville, by all means come here. Good beer, good margaritas, fun salsa bar, fun loud family-friendly atmosphere, and better order-by-number food than any other restaurant of its kind.

PS - apparently if it's your birthday, the waiter rubs whipped cream in your face. Take an unsuspecting friend and watch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papas & Beer also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Papas & Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papas & Beer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.