We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papas & Beer

Papas & Beer
17 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
828-255-2204
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good & Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The food is fabulous & the prices are very reasonable. Our server was fast & attentive. It was very crowded, but we didn't wait long.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    123
    35
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I love this place! Great menu variety. Always fresh and hot. Great service even when it's very busy. Best pinto beans ever.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The food is fresh and very good. Service is excellent. I go here every time I visit Asheville. It's truly authentic Mexican food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina
1 review
“Best Mexican food in this area!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Love the salsa!!! It's not your normal cheap Mexican food restaurant. The price is cheap but the food is SO GOOD! Love the portion size and the food has an authentic flavor....delicious!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great value!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Our family never misses this family owned Mexican place when we are in Asheville! You may have to wait a bit on Friday night if you have a large group but it is worth it! I try something new with each visit and have never been disappointed. Kid friendly, Papa's does not disappoint! Check it out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papas & Beer also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Papas & Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papas & Beer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.