We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Asheville Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House to your Saves list
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   235 Pearson Drive, Asheville, NC 28801 (Historic Montford)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
QLD
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely Asheville Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had booked this B and B from Australia using previous reviews on Trip Advisor as a guide. We had arrived very late afternoon from Winston Salem via Boone and a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway. My reading of Thomas Wolfe's novel, Look Homeward Angel, had had a bit of an influence in selecting this accommodation from the vast range offered in Asheville. I thought there were some similarities in past histories although disappointedly none of the history of the house was referred to during our 2 night stay. We did a wonderful guided visit though through the Thomas Wolfe home. Bob welcomed us to Wright Inn and clearly explained the guidelines and the breakfast arrangements and was very helpful with places to eat, directions and road conditions when it was time to leave. Our room was thoughfully decorated with lots of Victoriana detail. Being November we found it comfortably warmed overnight. There was also a fireplace heater we were also able to control when needed. The bathroom was large but it was a little awkward showering with the hipped bath and flowing shower curtain. A tasty breakfast was served at 9am to all guests seated at a large family table. Love and care was displayed in the table setting and selection of china and cutlery. Some guests might find this a little formal and a bit impersonal. We enjoyed the breakfast conversations with other guests but it did mean that we had a later start for sight seeing and departure than we had originally planned. We had booked an evening visit for Christmas Lights at Biltmore House. We were pleased that we had acted upon some advice at the breakfast table to extend this entry to a day visit as well. We have now stayed in a wide range of accommodation in the US in the last few years but this was the first time we have found an envelope for tips for service of our room. This was a little confronting; nevertheless, we enjoyed the opportunity to experience a stay in a home of this era in such a lovely leafy part of the city and would recommend the Inn to other travellers.

Room Tip: The preferred rooms, The Green Room or The Griffin Room were already booked so we had chosen the Pow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
February 1, 2013

We, at Asheville's Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast, would like to express our appreciation for the feedback you have provided of your stay. However, we need to clarify a couple of issues.

One of the things we attempt to do is to offer our home, its amenities, history and our guidance or recommendations to all guests. We personally do not like staying at inns where all you do is hear the owner continually talk about themselves or the house. This is why we have history sheets on the home and a copy of the NPS registration of the house on a table in the parlor and also on our website. I wish we would had been aware that you missed finding the information at either of these locations. We would have been more than glad to provide a verbal dissertation of the history of this beautiful home.

You will find that we do our best to keep our prices very reasonable while continuing to provide the very best of amenities (the fine china and cutlery on the table). These beautiful niceties are usually only found at inns that are much more costly than ours. We also do not pack our rates with housekeeping wages. We pay our staff more than the average range but also give the guest the opportunity to show their appreciation (totally voluntary) of their hard work. This is a common practice and is not meant to be confronting in any way. We will re-evaluate this policy and make changes as necessary.

Thank you again for letting us know of the high satisfaction level of your stay. These comments give us things to look at and help to keep us on our toes. We are very glad that not only were you appreciative of our efforts, you would highly recommend us to your friends. Please accept our "Thanks" and come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    42
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
294
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A friend of ours was getting married on the 5th of January and we were late in making a decision to stay overnight. The hotel that was reserved for friends and family of the bride and groom was already booked so we scrambled in looking for a place to stay in the Asheville area. There are so many wonderful places to stay when looking online. But what caught our attention while booking was the beautiful presentation of the 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House website. Besides that they have a very reasonable rate for that time. Another wonderful thing about this place is that it was very close to the place where the wedding ceremony was held. Just about a fourth of a mile!! When we got there Bob was very friendly and accommodating. The place was beautiful and there are so many historical facts and information that Bob shared with us about the place. Breakfast was delicious! I usually do not eat breakfast but this time I did! While we were having our meal, Bob was gracious sharing us stories about the place and also some of his personal life. We enjoyed listening to his stories!
It was such a great experience especially that was the first time both my husband and I experienced a bed and breakfast place. We had such a wonderful time!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am blessed with a wonderful husband who takes me on "mystery trips." For my Christmas gift, he planned several days in Asheville to escape the cold and snow of Michigan! We were thrilled to stay a couple nights at the beautiful Victorian Wright Inn! Bob, Barbara, and their son were very friendly and accomodating, making reservations for us and giving us detailed directions to the local attractions. We really enjoyed chatting with them and experiencing their southern hospitality. Our room, Griffin, was comfortable, cozy, and furnished with beautiful antiques. Breakfasts were delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the south and wouldn't hesitate to stay in this B&B again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Wright Inn. We were greeted upon arrival and the owner's son assisted in helping get our luggage to the second floor. Room was small, but very clean. With 11 rooms, we were quite impressed that we heard very little noise from other guests. Even though wine was only served in the afternoons during weekends, they brought two glasses to our room. Breakfast was served at 9 with a set menu. In the future, I would probably book a more spacious room, but other than that, it was quite nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Bob & Barbara quickly became friends and were excellent inn keepers.
Service was great, camaraderie even better. They offered good planning
advice. Upper floor was quiet but a bit overheated (to be expected).
Certainly will stay there on our next trip to Asheville. Bob

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It was really a pleasure to meet and get to know you folks. We WILL contact you next time we are down in the Lake Guntersville area.
Please come and see us again.
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our first visit to asheville and both my husband and I loved staying here! The owners were very nice and the breakfasts were wonderful. If you're ever in Asheville, the Wright Inn and Carriage House is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My "new" husband and I stayed here for our "Mini-Moon" on December 12, 2012. Stayed a couple nights in the Powel Suite where the furnishings were wonderful and very cozy. Breakfast was superb and getting to know Bob & Barbara was like talking to old friends. Will certainly stay here again and would let everyone know we would highly recommend this beautiful victorian B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Address: 235 Pearson Drive, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.