We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Victorian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House to your Saves list
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   235 Pearson Drive, Asheville, NC 28801 (Historic Montford)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 off room rate
Ranked #16 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming Victorian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Wright Inn, where we were warmly greeted by our hosts. Our room was large and comfortable, but the adjoining bath had no heat, which made it quite challenging as the overnight temperatures fell into the 20s. The shower in the footed bath was very hard to adjust and made an awful banging noise until adjusted perfectly. Unfortunately, I scalded my back one morning while trying to stop the noise.
Other than the bath, the accommodation was charming and very comfortable - great bed! Breakfast was beautifully laid on, although a bit sweet for my early-morning tastes. But there was good variety during the 4 days we spent there, which was appreciated. The Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Asheville (about 1/2 mile).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    38
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
280
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This Bed & Breakfast was very comfortable and furnished in beautiful charming antiques that were in keeping with the Victorian era. The owners couldn't have been more accomodating to our group of women who were traveling in the area for a girls getaway. The house itself was so comfy, the rooms were quite large, and all of the bathrooms were updated. The beds were very comfortable with beautiful linens and coverings, and all of the bedrooms were extremely quiet. The breakfasts were always nicely presented, varied day to day, and the portions were very sizable and delicious!. Each day before our outings, the owners provided us with written driving instructions to our destinations. points of interest along the way, and helpful suggestions as to parking, walking distances, as well as nearby restaurants. Upon our returning to the house after our outings, there was always fresh goodies and coffee and tea for us in the dining room which we greatly appreciated. The owners were so friendly and engaging with our group, and made such an effort to make us feel so welcomed in their home which made our girls trip that much better!! I would highly recommend this home as a must for those traveling in and around Asheville! It is truly a step back in time, is centrally located for experiencing all of the historical points of interest, top rated restaurants, walking and biking trails, and is a short distance to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Inn is well kept by Barbara and Bob and staff. We were in Asheville, one of our favorite cities to visit, at Thanksgiving and needed a recommendation for a restaurant for Thanksgiving dinner. Since few restaurants are open on that day, Bob recommended and made reservations for us at the 1890 Bistro on the square. The restaurant food was very good. The Inn is well kept with suffient towels, soap, etc. Breakfast was tasty and well served. My wife and I recommend the Inn without reservation. It is quiet and cosy as noted by several other travelers.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Expect to do some stair climbing if on the third floor. We enjoyed the firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Wright Inn for a weekend retreat. From arrival to departure everything was perfect. The inn is charming, spotlessly comfortable, and full of thoughtful touches. Despite being fully booked it was very quiet and the excellent service was delivered with smooth, relaxed efficiency. The inn keepers and staff were also very helpful with directions and suggestions. What a find.... make it a must when you're in Asheville!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reiser1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Once again in Asheville visiting family and stayed at the Wright Inn, which has also nearly become family. It is all so familiar and comfortable. The owners are so nice and even though we have been to the area many times they keep telling us about new and interesting things to do and see.

Asheville this time of year is also magnificent. The colors of the leaves and the cute downtown area make it very charming.

This is a must for romanic adventures, friends and for families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We felt like we were on a movie set in that gracious and ambient victorian home. Bob and Barbara made us feel at home, fed us beautifully, and gave us helpful information which contributed to our full enjoyment Asheville. We're grateful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A great place to stay - one of the best B&B's we've been to. Barbara and Bob were very friendly and hospitable - offering to help with suggestions and directions to places in the area. The breakfasts were elegant and delicious. We also enjoyed the wine and appetizers in the afternoon. We noticed lots of little "extra touches" throughout the inn which made our stay even more enjoyable. If we ever return to Asheville, we will definitely go back! Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Address: 235 Pearson Drive, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.