We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazeballs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage to your Saves list
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
173 East Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazeballs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was an incredible place where my husband and I were able to reconnect. The owners were amazing and warm, the service was phenomenal, the food was out of this world. I didn't want to leave the room! But everything was walking distance to downtown and we had a blast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    39
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
309
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Where do i start...From the first moment of walking into the house, we were hooked! Thomas invited us in and made us feel right at home. Service, food and staff exceeded our expectations for our 7-day stay. We will forever remember the warm southern comfort we received during our honeymoon stay at 1889 Whitegate Inn. Frank and Ralph are the best !!! Love you guys !

Room Tip: Stay in the Walt Whitman room !!! Great Jetted Tub and Steam Shower :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dandridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My fiance and I have been told for years that we needed to visit Asheville, so when a LivingSocial deal for the 1889 WhiteGate Inn came up, I decided that we should just go for it. We spent a cold and snowy two days in Asheville last month, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the WhiteGate Inn. The location was good, about a 15 minute walk from downtown Asheville, with a grocery store just around the corner.

I thoroughly researched the Inn and other B&B's before deciding to purchase the deal, and knew that I wanted to stay in the Carl Sandburg suite, which was a king sized bed, and an attached sitting room with television and an antique writing desk. If the Oscar Wilde suite had been available for our stay, I would have taken that instead, since it had a jacuzzi tub. The Carl Sandburg had a jetted soaking tub/shower combination, but it really would only fit one person. While the room was comfortably appointed, we both found the bed to be more firm than we care for, and did not sleep particularly well. We also did not like the European style shower, which felt very cramped, and got cold as it's open to the rest of the bathroom. Other than those complaints though, the room was very nice.

The rest of the B&B is wonderful, with a nice sitting area, what I'm sure is a beautiful garden in the warmer months, and great service. There was one sitting for breakfast, at nine o'clock, and it is a three course breakfast, which varied from day to day. The owners, Frank and Ralph, were there for breakfast, and Frank did a wonderful job of keeping the conversation going. We did not see much of Ralph, but Frank made up for it. :-) The staff did a wonderful job of providing gluten free options for my fiance, and we both enjoyed breakfast. In the afternoons, there is a social hour, where there were tasty hors d'oeuvres, and complimentary glasses of wine, which we certainly indulged in.

On the whole, I very much enjoyed our stay with the 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, and appreciated Frank and Ralph's hospitality, and their genuine interest in providing a comfortable place for their guests.

Room Tip: The Carl Sandburg suite was very comfortably appointed, but the soaking tub will only fit one person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I did a ton of research before choosing 1889 Whitegate Inn. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this would be it. We stayed in the Walt Whitman suite, with a double Jacuzzi tub, two-sided fireplace in the bath and bedroom and a steam shower. It also has a little bar area with drinks. The owners Frank and Ralph serve an outstanding 3 course breakfast. They also serve hors douvres from 5:00-6:00 pm with wine. The grounds are beautiful as well. The location is central to downtown and other sites such as The Biltmore.
I highly recommend this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Grove, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here as it was convenient to places we had to go in area. We had our little dog
They are pet friendly in 2 suites which were immaculate. Loved the jukebox tunes in sunroom loved the 3 course breakfast and visiting with guests. Wine and snacks in evening excellent owner and staff service. Wish we could have seen their beautiful garden in summer but it snowed......

Room Tip: Can see online a 4star b&b
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The inn is very clean, well-decorated, and the owners are extremely nice. We were greeted with complimentary glasses of wine and hors d'oeuvres
between 5-6.

We stayed in one of the bungalows in the Oscar Wilde Suite. The suite is noted to be pet friendly. Not sure if that contributed to this, the suite had a musty smell that we also carried with is when we left. The bathroom had a light that was out, which made the shower extremely dark. The jacuzzi tub was touted as a two-person tub, but I could barely fit myself (6-1, 200lbs). The TV was also inoperable, and I normally do not have problems with TVs.

Finally, there was breakfast. They only serve a vegan/vegetarian breakfast, so be aware....NO MEAT! I called ours a gourmet continental breakfast.

To summarize, while we might have had a different experience if we'd stayed in the main house, our stay did not measure up to the bill we paid. Frank and Ralph, please consider offering a breakfast for us carnivores!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitegate, Manager at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Had we known you were unhappy with your accommodations, we would have gladly moved you to another suite that would have better suited you. Had we known about the light and television issues, we would have fixed them immediately.

Our breakfast changes daily and we frequently do have meat. We believe you were only here one morning, and we did not offer that as an option for that day.

We hope that you will consider us in the future when you travel to Asheville. We would love to have another opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights during the fall season. It was perfect. The room was great with a fireplace. The breakfasts were unique and delicious. The conversations with the other guests and with the owners were very entertaining. Great place and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Address: 173 East Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.