We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Biltmore Mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reynolds Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Reynolds Mansion to your Saves list
The Reynolds Mansion
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   100 Reynolds Heights, Asheville, NC 28804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better than the Biltmore Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay at The Reynolds Mansion was exceptional. The history and actual artifacts of the history was great. The personal attention by Billy, the Innkeeper, was very appreciated. The breakfasts were definitely gourmet. How could they not be with a great chef, fresh eggs from the on premises chickens and great preparation. We recommend staying at the Reynolds Mansion on your next visit to Asheville.
Burr and Geri Daly

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
361
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Blue Hydrangea carriage house suite on the weekend of our anniversary. I have to say that this Bed & Breakfast was the perfect place to relax and take in all that Asheville has to offer. Between the gorgeous room and views, the delicious breakfast, modern amenities and the incredible staff, my husband and I did not want to leave! Billy and Michael were knowledgable and gracious and Marti took the time to give us an in depth historical tour of the property. When we sat down to our yummy breakfast it was like we has stepped into the pages of Southern Living magazine! My husband and I have finally found somewhere away from home that is cozy, inviting, and filled with people who genuinely want you to have the best stay possible.We have already booked our next romantic getaway and are counting the days!

Room Tip: They all seemed spectacular...I think we will try a different room each time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was the absolute best trip ever - we have never felt more at home or more relaxed than in the Reynolds Mansion. Our room was incredible, the bed was incredible and the breakfast even better. The entire experience was wonderful from start to finish. On top of that we loved hearing all the stories behind the mansion and the restoration. What a jewel Asheville has with the Reynolds Mansion and the owner Billy. Looking forward to returning soon. Gill & Judy

Room Tip: Book early as they have a lot of return visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here last weekend with our in-laws and our dog. Because we had the dog, we stayed in Rhett's suite which is located very close to the house, but not in the house. If I was there without my dog I would have definitely stayed in the house as it is a gorgeous, immaculate property. As it was, we stayed out in the Rhett suite. We thought it was a one bedroom but it turned out to be an entire apartment! The family all came over and gathered in our place Friday night and it was nice to be able to have that gathering place for ourselves. Rhett's suite has a full kitchen which is stocked with everything you would need to make dinner. There is a large bathroom and as a bonus a second bedroom, although it has a single bed. I'm not sure if the couch in the living room was a pull-out, in which case 4 people could comfortably stay here. The breakfast each morning was delicious and filling enough to get you through to dinner. Billy has stocked the guest access kitchen full of wine, sodas, cookies and pastries to keep you satisfied all day, too. i was just lamenting to my wife that I want to go back as soon as we have a chance. we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rhett's Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Reynolds mansion is the perfect mix of comfort and elegance . The owner ,Billy , is one of life's true characters and is absolutely delightful as he pours out his passion for the mansion and tales of the restoration. The rooms are traditionally furnished but the beds are super comfortable . There is a permanent supply of beverages and sweet snacks on every floor as well as in the dining room. The presentation at breakfast and the service is worthy of any of the great hotels of the world but still manages a relaxed atmosphere where all the guests can meet and chat . It's easy to get into Asheville but you do need a car .

The only sad part is the building of modern apartments close to the mansion but this does not detract from the building and service once you are there

Room Tip: We had 'Linda's room' I looked through most of the others and I was very happy we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Did research online to try and find a place to stay in Asheville, NC for our first visit; so glad we choose to stay here, although we did not stay in the main home but the Carriage house, in the BLUE HYDRANGEA room, we loved it, very private and the pictures online do not do it justice! The breakfasts are wonderful, stories great, everyone that we met that works very nice, with great recommendations for restaurants, day trips etc. Will stay here again if ever in the area!

Room Tip: The Blue Hydrangea room in the Carriage House is private and nice, with big jaccuzzi tub, & wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent 3 days at this wonderful historical B&B. The home is beautiful and has been lovingly restored by Billy and Mike. The staff is top notch and eager to please. The rooms are large and comfortable. Most have great mountain views. The large porches wrap around the mansion. These are great places for resting after a fun day exploring Asheville.
The breakfasts are great and the conversations enlightening.
The true difference in this B&B are the two innkeepers Billy and Mike.
Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reynolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reynolds Mansion

Address: 100 Reynolds Heights, Asheville, NC 28804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reynolds Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Registry for Historic Places, The Reynolds Mansion was built in 1847 and is one of the few remaining pre Civil War homes. The mansion sits on a four acre site with spectacular views near the foot of Reynolds Mountain. With over 3,000 sq feet of porches, and 12 fireplaces, you'll feel the warmth and hospitality from the moment enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Reynolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reynolds Mansion Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reynolds Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.