We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Lodge on Oakland

Save Saved
You added North Lodge on Oakland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Lodge on Oakland
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   84 Oakland Rd., Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Asheville B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I like to stay in B&B's when we're looking for a romantic getaway in a historic area. The North Lodge on Oakland didn't disappoint. I chose it based on the great reviews and the reasonable prices compared to some others in town. It's conveniently located near downtown Asheville and Biltmore Village/Estate. Breakfast was really good and our host(s) was very friendly and accommodating. We would recommend, and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    14
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
168
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days at the North Lodge over Thanksgiving. We had a lovely time, and so enjoyed the yummy breakfast every morning. We had a ton of questions about the area because we're thinking of moving there, and Greg was so informative and really guided us as to the best places to look/drive around. We both really loved Waynesville! Thanks Greg! The Marsh Room (on 3rd floor) was awesome - we literally had the whole 3rd floor to ourselves. Nice and quiet, and plenty of room. The only tiny suggestion I have is possibly more of a daily variety of afternoon goodies. The chocolate chip cookies were delicious and we loved them! But because we stayed for 5 days we kept hoping for brownies or something different after a few days. But this is just a suggestion. Everything was wonderful and if we go back to Asheville this is where we will be staying!! Thanks for everything! Mr & Mr Thomas

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Marsh Room. It's on the 3rd floor (so you do have to carry luggage up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We just finished our second stay at North Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it! The rooms are large and luxurious, breakfast is wonderful, and Greg is the consumate host. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We feel very welcome at the lodge and look forward to our next visit. We highly recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the Tiffany Suite and Marsh Retreat. Both are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Conveniently located minutes from the Biltmore Estate and downtown Ashville, North Lodge met all our expectations and then some. The Lodge was charming, immaculate and tastefully decorated. The staff was friendly and very helpful with any of our questions/requests. The breakfasts were superb. We would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Ashville!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Just came from a 3 night stay at North Lodge on Oakland, October 20, 21, and 22. It was a pleasure from start to finish!

The owner, Greg, has thought of everything for his guests comfort. So let's talk about specifics:
1. Beds- firm but comfortable
2. Linens- exquisite
3. Breakfasts- fit for a king (inspired, just right size portions, plated, beautifully presented, crips linen, great company)
4. Location- perfect. One mile from Biltmore, but in a quiet neighborhood.
5. Charm factor-historical house, lovingly restored, tastefully appointed, quiet, welcoming
6. Grounds- gazebo, stone stairs, lovely approach, nearby parking, unloading at front door
7. Hospitality- A+. Greg knows a lot about great places to eat, things to do, and gave us a recommendation for the Sensibilities day spa. which was a nice experience.

The Library Room is perfect for one person, and is the only one on the ground floor. The other rooms are larger, with sitting areas, but do requite climbing stairs. I also saw the Carolina room, where my friend stayed, and it was also charming.

Everything is immaculate, and you will be treated like an honored guest. Absolutely 5 stars! Thanks, Greg. Would love to return someday!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I loved it. Spent 2nights in the Library Room which was just right for us. The Inn was very comfortable and the Breakfast is to die for. Good service, especially as guiding us around town and making our reservation for the Asheville Food Tour. Found it to be ideally located for trips in an out of downtown and other area attractions. Highly recommend it for a stay. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: If you like the first floor the Library is the only one. Small but for just the 2 of us perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed four nights at the North Lodge. The best part of this B&B experience was the breakfast. Each day there was a different menu, and the variety, skill. appearance and tastefulness of each meal was excellent. The host serves the breakfast to everyone at 9 a.m. so, if you are an early riser and want to get going sooner, this B&B may not work for you. Perhaps the host makes an accommodation. There are also accommodations made for food allergies and other food-related problems. The room we had--the Library--was the smallest with only a double bed. There were lots of books however, so if you want to spend your time reading, this would be the room for you. It would be nice to have a little bit more floor space or space for a chair. The host goes out of his way to provide extras--such as use of a refrigerator & microwave, and also hot and cold drinks. The house is located near the downtown, Biltmore, the Blue Ridge Parkway so the location is very convenient.

Room Tip: If you want a room with more space and a larger bed, request any of the other rooms--not the Library...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Lodge on Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lodge on Oakland

Address: 84 Oakland Rd., Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — North Lodge on Oakland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best Asheville bed and breakfast (B & B) inn North Carolina. Always affordable luxury with free wireless internet! Near Biltmore Estate, and we sell tickets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your North Lodge on Oakland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Lodge on Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.