We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is thought of here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Lodge on Oakland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added North Lodge on Oakland to your Saves list
North Lodge on Oakland
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   84 Oakland Rd., Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Asheville B&B and Inns
Wellesley, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Everything is thought of here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the Marsh Suite for two nights in February. Greg did a fantastic orientation and our room was lovely. Bed was so comfy. The inn is close to downtown and the Biltmore Estate which is why we chose it. It is in a quiet neighbourhood. We were there on President's Day weekend and the inn was full both nights.
The breakfasts were lovely. The soaps etc. in the bathroom were wonderful. The refreshment centre offered lots of options for tea and coffee. The spaces to curl up and read were lovely. Greg made a different breakfast each morning and each was very, very delicious.
Greg is a charming host and great chef. The inn is beautiful. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    17
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
198
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canton, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I loved every minute of our stay at the North Lodge on Oakland. We were celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary. Our cozy retreat on the third floor was perfect! We loved the quiet and the privacy. Greg, owner and host of our weekend, was professional, kind, and accomodating. The breakfasts were delicious. We will defintely be back, and we recommend the inn to all our friends and family who plan to travel to Asheville. Thank you!

Room Tip: Again, we loved the quiet and privacy of the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here on Dec. 26th. Such a fabulous place with every amenity you could want. The inn keeper (please forgive me I'm horrible at remembering names) is such a welcoming gentleman. He made us feel right at home and was not upset in the least when our arrival was late due to weather problems. We most certainly will be back for a longer stay. Oh yes let's not forget the excellent breakfast you will be served in the morning. You don't want to miss it.
Thank you for such an enjoyable stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersville, nc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently spent at a weekend at the North Lodge on Oakland. What a quaint place - it looked beautiful, all decorated for the holidays. Nestled in a residential area, the location was great - just a mile from the River Arts District, and a mile from downtown. The owner Greg welcomed us and got us acquainted with the place - where to find things, the breakfast routine, etc. Breakfast was tasty!! Good way to start the day before heading on a hike, or walking about the town or Biltmore. Room was tiny - we stayed in Geranium. I did struggle to get in/out of shower, being so short. But it was fine for us for a few days. We look forward to visiting again, and would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was truly a great experience. Very nice place tucked away in a neighborhood just outside of downtown. The setting/house were great, and it was incredibly well appointed inside. Owner was friendly, accommodating, and so many nice amenities. Would definitely stay here again on a trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

When you pull into the drive for this beautiful inn you find a graceful place that, like its history, is a peaceful retreat. Lots of amenities - homemade snacks, coffee and tea service, candies, dvds galore, separate areas in which to snuggle up. Our room was perfect. Two big comfy chairs and a fireplace with a majestic four poster bed. Breakfast was great. I have some dietary problems and Greg, our host, was only too please to make special meals for me. Everyone felt very comfortable at breakfast -- I am sure they had a good night's sleep which facilitated the morning chat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carolina room. Quiet, large and comfortable. In-room bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

my wife and i stayed at north lodge two days in october and could not have been more pleased.its very convinent to the biltmore.the innkeeper,greg,is helpful and knowledgable.of all the b and b's we nave stayed greg makes the best breakfast.

Room Tip: the least expensive room,the library,was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to North Lodge on Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lodge on Oakland

Address: 84 Oakland Rd., Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — North Lodge on Oakland 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best Asheville bed and breakfast (B & B) inn North Carolina. Always affordable luxury with free wireless internet! Near Biltmore Estate, and we sell tickets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your North Lodge on Oakland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Lodge on Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.