We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Asheville B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while in Asheville. The accomodations were great, and Jim and Linda couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was delicious! We definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
316
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it was a delight from start to finish. Linda and Jim are warm and friendly and have really thought of everything to make their guests comfortable and welcome...from snacks to chocolates to coffee delivered outside your door every morning at 8 a.m. And the breakfasts were oh so yummy--if you are lucky Jim might be making sweet potato pancakes during your stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just back from 3 nights at The Lion and the Rose and what a great place to stay in Ashville, not too far from Downtown but within a few minutes of a great little restaurant, Nine Mile, where we ate twice. We had a beautiful room on the first floor with a four poster bed and the most tasteful decor. The owners Jim and Linda were so helpful with directions and advice and printed out anything we needed. One of the nicest touches, and there were many, was the early morning cup of tea or coffee delivered to your room each morning. I also liked the pantry which was well stocked with everything you could want for a snack or late night cup of tea. I do hope that we will be able to visit again, there is so much to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lion and the Rose for two nights. We made this the starting point of traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway. We can not say enough about the L&R. The rooms have character, the grounds are beautiful, the location is walking distance to town. The owners, Jim and Linda, are wonderful people. They gave great suggestions for dinner. This B&B was different from one's we have stayed at in the past: access to water, soda, tea, coffee, ice, and snacks 24 hours a day. If we are ever back in Asheville, we will be staying at the L&R!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had close friends stay at the Lion and the Rose. They were happy so when we planned our trip we said "why not". When we arrived after a 7 hour drive the owners were no where to be found. A very pleasant young man showed us to our room but couldn't answer any of our questions about the surrounding area. In the three days we stayed at the B & B we only saw the owners briefly at breakfast. The breakfast was always a ridiculously complicated dish with no substitutions ( not even a bowl of cold cereal) and often inedible.The B & B is not a walk into town. There is one close very strange restaurant, otherwise it is a drive anywhere. Our room was charming and the bed was comfortable but you had to sit on a hard bench to watch the TV. We were not enjoying ourselves and wished to leave a day early. Finally we were allowed to leave without being charged for the extra night, but it was unpleasant. They do have a little snack kitchen available but if you are looking for company and tea or wine in the afternoon go elsewhere.

Room Tip: We picked a very large almost suite with a nice bathroom that had a stall shower. It was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionandRose, Owner at The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
After owning and operating this bed and breakfast for over ten years, we have learned that we need to take breaks. Therefore, we were not present when these guests arrived for check in. We employ a very professional and outgoing 40 year old "young man" to inn sit for us when we are away. He has lived in Asheville longer than we have, and his knowledge of the city and surrounding area is equal to or better than ours. It is difficult for us to believe that had he been asked questions about the area that he would not have the answers or would not have made the effort to obtain them. Not only has he lived in Asheville for the past 13 years by choice, but he has worked in the public service sector the entire time.

When these guests first walked in the door they asked to cut their stay short by one day. Then they asked when the rain was going to stop. Weather reports had predicted that it would last throughout their stay. The fact that they knew immediately that they would not be "enjoying themselves" apparently had more to do with the weather than our bed and breakfast. Our inn sitter reminded them that we would charge for their originally scheduled stay, whether they left early or not.

We always ask (at least once) if guests have any special dietary needs or requests. This couple stated that they had none. We pride ourselves on our inventive and unexpected breakfast entrees. There are sample menus and recipes as well as a description of the type of food we prepare on our web site. These guests said nothing on their first morning, even after tasting the "inedible food". The following morning they asked for cold cereal before they even knew what the entrée was. We do not keep cereal on hand. We did offer them granola or eggs with whole grain toast - but apparently only cereal would suffice. They eventually agreed to try and then did eat the waffles that had already been prepared. There are hundreds of other reviews of our inn on this site that are extremely complimentary of our breakfasts in particular, and which also point out our willingness to accommodate special diets.

We are located less than a mile from the center of downtown Asheville. It is an easy walk with sidewalks and tree lined streets all the way. We agree that there are people who can't walk that far - but we have never misrepresented our location. There are scores of reviews on this site which point out how great our location is and how easy it is to walk downtown.

We do not understand how a day bed with a mattress and many pillows translates to a "hard bench". Yet that is the seat in the Marion Hall Room that is opposite the TV - as you can see on our web site.

The "one close very strange" restaurant they referred to is Nine Mile. This restaurant is consistently rated among the top ten restaurants in Asheville - look it up on this site or anywhere else.

We do not conduct afternoon tea or a social hour and we do not advertise that we do. So, yes - if you want this you need to stay elsewhere and will probably pay more for it.

Finally, we decided to "allow" this couple to leave a day early without charging them because we did not want their unpleasant demeanor to ruin our other guests' vacation. Perhaps this was their goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Lion and Rose. It was a delightful experience. The owners are very accommodating hosts. It is in a great location, an easy walk to the downtown. The Inn is beautifully decorated and the surrounding grounds are exquisite. Sitting on the front porch enjoying a drink and relaxing after a day of sightseeing was a favorite time.
You will not be disappointed by the B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast and we loved the quiet, the good food, and the hospitality! I wasn't sure being so close to downtown Ashville would be good, but Jim and Linda made the experience wonderful. Thanks Jim and Linda for delectable breakfasts and your ability to anticipate what we needed before we even had time to ask. I agree with j1alex "just the best"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list