We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered in Historic Asheville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Southern California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pampered in Historic Asheville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful historic home with lovely grounds in a well cared for historic neighborhood close to downtown and highways. Fabulous (and fattening!) breakfasts. We were able to buy a same-day ticket to Biltmore at a discount and they even offered to do our laundry when they learned of our need (note that they might not have been able to if they had been busier). We also enjoyed nice conversation with the other couples at the dining room table.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    17
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
345
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Overall, we had a great time at The Lion and the Rose. The location is great, very close to downtown. The property itself is very nice; the rooms are pretty and clean, and the garden is a great place to relax. I enjoyed our breakfast every morning, and the coffee and tea served to our door every morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Lion and Rose is in walking distance of downtown, which we did several times. fabulous breakfasts!! .... and best of all, coffee delivered to room at 8 a.m. gorgeous yard and great front porch. sleep quality affected by soft mattress and window AC that went on and off all night. better to sleep with open windows.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionandRose, Owner at The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are so sorry about the problem with sleep quality! Because we are a bed and breakfast - one of the most important things for us to offer is a good bed and peaceful sleep.

Since this review was posted, we have replaced the mattress in this room with a new, firmer one.

We also researched to find the most quiet air conditioner on the market and have replaced all of our guest room window air conditioners with these quieter models.

Jim & Linda Palmer
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was probably one of the nicer Bed & Breakfasts we have stayed in. We were in the Marion Hall room, which was quite spacious and comfortable on the second floor. As there is a suite overhead and this is a historic home, footsteps above can be heard. The B&B's location, just a few minutes from downtown Asheville, made it an ideal spot to explore other areas of Asheville, apart from the Biltmore Mansion. Upon arrival, we were given a tour of the place, from where to find around-the-clock drinks and snacks, to the quickest exit in case of an emergency. Great attention was paid to the details, with chocolates and fresh flowers in the room and around the house; fresh cookies and brownies in the butler's pantry; and coffee waiting at our doorstep at 8pm each morning. The spacious grounds and lovely porch were extremely inviting and a great place to unwind and relax. The breakfast each morning was a creative, hot, fresh and filling meal. The morning breakfast is served at one large table, so be aware that you will be sharing a meal with other guests. As is often the case in these establishments, we found our fellow guests to be quite interesting and enjoyed chatting over our morning coffee. We had an excellent Anniversary celebration in Asheville and The Lion and The Rose made our trip that much more memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Lion and the Rose in February for a weekend away, and it was perfect! We loved the atmosphere... though it may be a bit too quiet for anyone under the age of 35 (we're both 22). The location was great, everyone was very friendly, and our room, Marion Hall, was spacious and comfortable. We stayed two nights, which I think was the perfect length. The breakfasts were good-- not what I was envisioning, and definitely made for adventurous eaters, but they sufficed.

I would go back here, and I'd recommend it for couples or small adult groups.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Positives: great location, very clean, gorgeous yard, generous breakfast, yummy snacks, comfy bed, great toiletries, super easy parking, very kind hosts.

Slight negative: bathroom in Margaret Grace room is quite small. Tub and sink oddly small. However, everything was in good working order. Very soft towels. Soaps smelled wonderful.

Food was a bit fancy for my taste, but was good. I think most would enjoy it. (Example- I prefer "regular" maple syrup rather than fruit infused.). But I'm a meat and potatoes person. :-). It was nice to try something new. All food was beautifully presented and special.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the Lion & the Rose; this time we brought family with us, and again, we were so very pleased and impressed. From the beautiful, comfortable rooms, to the charming and helpful hosts, to the absolutely delicious breakfasts...our visit was wonderful. Thank you - and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.