We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
254 Cumberland Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $25 on select meals
Ranked #10 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Baltimore, MD
1 review
“Welcoming and Helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

Cumberland Falls was a great bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Sun Shine room on the 3rd floor. Heather, their concierge was extremely friendly (but not overwhelming) and gave us excellent recommendations on restaurants and downtown Asheville. She was able to provide us with a number of options and they all seemed on point. The house was very clean, comfortable, and charming. Breakfast both mornings was fantastic (3 courses - muffins, fruit, and an entree) and the innkeepers were so gracious. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    42
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
494
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

My wife and I stayed for two nights in mid April. We generally enjoyed our stay and particularly the attention from the staff/owners.

We stayed in the Lion's Den room at the front second floor.

Breakfast was well planned and terrific. lot's of personal attention, good food and a terrific a comfort experience.

Room was appointed nicely, clean with lot's of BnB notes.Good fabrics and lighting.

Parking in the rear --- many BnBs don't offer anything other than street parking.

Very nice rear garden with waterfall and "begging" fish --- you'll love it!

The semi-authentic bath presented several challenges: Showering in the claw tub surrounded by a shower curtain that grabbed your at your arms left and right was a disappointment. Even though it is an old fashion tub experience, some consideration should be given to expanding the top width of the curtain rail to open up this "comfort space". This could be readily accomplished and still keep shower spray within the tub area.A bit nit picky --- the vanity mirror was set low so that only a relatively short man could shave with the assist of the mirror.

Local dinner reservation help was the best we've experienced. Heather was very helpful.

The bed was "soft" and sagged a bit ---- a little investment needed here.

We stayed during an in-between heating and cooling season because during the nights the room temperature swings were fairly extreme as the central air conditioning fought the in-room radiators---- this was probably complicated because there seemed to be no in-room thermostat to drive the HVAC process. I would guess that we saw an 8-10 degree swing during the night. Such is the nature of old homes.

Bottom line: when mixing "old" and "new" some compromises need to be made --- but Cumberland Falls delivers an overall positive experience.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinn, Proprietors/Innkeepers at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2007
We sincerely appreciate the comments of CT Travelers and those of all our guests.
All would agree that bedding requirements differ vastly among consumers. Even excellent, new, quality bedding could prove unsuitable for certain guest needs. That would appear to be the case here.
The Lion's Den mattress is the most expensive bedding in our entire home and routinely receives rave reviews as "the best sleep they've ever had."
We receive these comments joyfully taking some of the sting out of its cost. Kings Down bedding provides the luxury sleep experience we seek to provide for our guests but is not bedding one would seek out if challenged to find a bargain.
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast is unique in that it has central heat / central air.
The radiators disperse the heat and vents accommodate the cold air aspect of the HVAC system.
It would not be possible for both of these systems to run concurrently.
The house is set for the heat to come on if the house temperature is below 68 degrees. The air conditioning component responds if the house temperature is above 72 degrees.
It is possible for guests not desiring heat to close the valve for the radiator in their room. There are also ceiling fans in all rooms of the house to further accommodate guest comfort.

We are delighted that as a whole the experience was a positive one.
We consistently strive for excellence as we seek to provide the very best guest experience possible.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, WV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

My husband and I needed a getaway for a few days to relax and reconnect. A major factor that helped convince my husband that a trip to Asheville, NC and more specifically, staying in a B&B (a first for us as a couple) would accomplish our goal was the photos and descriptions of the Cumberland Falls B&B on their Website. We chose our room from the accurate and truthful information on the Website, discussed our choices with proprietor Gary Wiles by phone, and found it to be exactly as described.

The house was immaculate, the food was fantastic (we had no dietary concerns, but observed those of another guest were accommodated gracefully), the atmosphere was calming and attractive, and our hosts were all one could ask for. Patti and Gary Wiles certainly know and love their business, and go out of their way to make sure their guests are as comfortable as possible in the B&B, and have as much entertainment as possible in the Asheville area. They were a fount of information about restaurants, attractions, etc., and Gary had directions ready to print off for every place we wanted to visit. Although the weather was not conducive to sitting outside a lot during our visit, we enjoyed walking through the landscaped grounds, and look forward to returning at a time when we can enjoy the multiple seating and swing areas. The waterfall and koi ponds are attractive and add much to the relaxing atmosphere. Front porch sitting is also available. Meanwhile, when it was too cool or windy to sit outside, we enjoyed the seating area in the cozy sunporch. The private jacuzzi tub was great!

We definitely plan to visit again within the next year. I hope Patti will prepare her Nana's pancakes again!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

I planned a special trip to Asheville, NC for my fiances' birthday and wanted it to be special. I did a lot of research on-line to find where to go and where to stay because it was our first time going to Asheville. I found their site on romanticasheville.com. All I have to say is wow, because I really lucked out on the best place I could have ever imagined...

-The staff and owners are amazing people who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and have excellent directions on how to get anywhere

-Most delicious breakfast i've ever had at any B@B

-Decent price ranges

-Beautiful rooms!!

-Really close to downtown Asheville

Thank you so much to Gary, Miss Patti, Heather, and the rest of the staff for an amazing time in Asheville!

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesnee, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

This was a spontaneous trip and upon calling in route to Asheville, the Proprietor made us feel this was exactly the place for us. True to my instinct, we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We, being two lifelong friends, who needed a break to ourselves, just to relax and go shopping! We left the B&B very happy and refreshed. Breakfast and homemade treats were perfect!

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Didn't find anything negative
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

Cumberland Falls is a wonderful escape. Very charming B & B with the best hospitality. Their breakfasts are absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful little getaway to Cumberland Inn. I really think that the house was the most beautiful out of all the other inns, and the gardening was hands down the best. The backyard gardens and koi pond were so serene, the perfect place to share a glass of wine. The breakfast was elaborate and fantastic. I think the chef had actually worked at the Biltmore Estate. The only slight complaint (perhaps it was my fault), but I didn't realize that the bathroom in the Sunshine Room wasn't private (the toilet was enclosed by a 3/4 privacy wall). Not so romantic. However, it was a great room for a single person or perhaps for friends. I'll be sure to return, but next time will book one of the other beautiful rooms.

  • Liked — Gardens, Breakfast, Afternoon Snacks
  • Disliked — Bathroom not private
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 254 Cumberland Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.