We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed & Breakfast!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Street Inn
Save
You added Chestnut Street Inn to your Saves list
176 East Chestnut Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bed & Breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about the Chestnut St. Inn. LaDonna and her staff were fabulous! They were all very friendly and welcoming. The Inn is in a great location within walking distance to downtown Asheville and only about 2 miles with Biltmore House. The rooms are all very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The 3 course gourment breakfast was delicious!! I've stayed in several B&B's in Asheville and this was by far my favorite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    46
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
29
311
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The Biltmore room is quiet with a comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. LaDonna is very gracious and knowledgeable. The breakfasts were delicious, and we were able to see many of the wonderful origami creations made by Chris. The location is convenient, and the porch with rockers is very restful after a day of exploring Asheville.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Chestnut Street are very quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Celebrated our first anniversary here and LaDonna and staff made it an anniversary to remember! Wonderful atmosphere! Breakfast was incredible each morning and LaDonna would "not let anyone leave hungry". So there was plenty to eat. Zen Retreat was an amazing room, we loved everything about it. We would recommend this room and inn to anyone! We are trying to think of an excuse to go back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great place to stay! Ladonna was very nice and knowledgable about the area. Breakfast was very hearty and delicious. Stayed in beaucatcher suite- great privacy, very quiet. Only possible complaint is the wireless service didn't reach out to our suite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Lovely, well kept, accommodations.. extremely clean with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Attention to detail was much appreciated. Beautiful Decor 'turn of the century' charming but the best was the staff. The owner, LaDonna, is a sweetheart who puts her guests first and provides you with as much information as you need for a fun stay in Asheville. The staff was very friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast there is a treat and any special dietary needs are handled with ease.
We stayed three nights and felt at peace in the serene surroundings..

Room Tip: The Zen Retreat is awesome with 3 window seats looking out at the tree tops (you're on the 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Chestnut Street Inn six times, for two nights every 3-4 weeks since June 2013. I've had a wonderful experience every time. I will be staying again in November, twice. LaDonna, the innkeeper, makes every effort to ensure my stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Twice I brought others to stay with me, and they both raved about how charming and beautiful the Inn is, and how friendly the staff.

I am in a yoga teacher training program nearby, and its schedule does not allow me to have breakfast at the regular time, nor do I want a full breakfast before training. LaDonna and her talented helpers, Chris and Rachel, make sure to provide me with tasty fruit, yogurt and granola early each morning. My guests were able to attend the breakfast and found it fabulous, although they both groaned about how full they were. They simply couldn't stop eating frittatas and waffles!

The Inn is conveniently located with onsite parking. It is about 0.5 miles to downtown. I've walked there several times as parking in downtown Asheville can be a challenge and expensive. There are restaurants nearby the Inn, including the delectable Plant (you MUST go there). In fact, it was thanks to LaDonna that we even got a reservation at Plant at a reasonable hour.

My husband and I have traveled to many European, Caribbean and North American destinations, and we have children in New York City, Seattle and Savannah. We tend to spoil ourselves with nice places to stay, such as The Three Ostriches in Prague, the Surrey in NYC and Caneel Bay on St. John's. Given our experiences at such places, I would not hesitate to recommend the Chestnut Street Inn to any traveler. It's southern hospitality and B&B lodging at its finest.

Room Tip: I've stayed in the Biltmore, Chestnut Hill, Iron Horse and Wall Street rooms. All four rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Chestnut Street Inn was a fabulous place to say. The most perfect place, with the most perfect people! My husband and I celebrated our anniversary together and loved every minute of the weekend. LaDonna, the owner was very helpful providing us with information on where to eat/visit. One of the sweetest B&B owners we've met! The Inn is within walking distance of downtown Asheville with great shops, restaurants, art galleries and breweries. We also visited the Biltmore which was only a short drive away. Great location! The food was also amazing. We would hands down recommend Chestnut Street Inn and are looking forward to visiting again very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Street Inn

Address: 176 East Chestnut Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic, Award Winning 1905 Grand Colonial Revival home is one of the most distinctive fully restored Homes in Asheville. Indulge in its Architectural Charm and Grace with eight beautifully appointed rooms to choose from. Walking distance to all the fabulous Downtown Shops, Galleries, Antique Stores, Restaurants and Night Life. We serve a Homemade Gourmet Breakfast each morning with plenty of delicious Fair Trade coffee and teas to start your day. Relax on the Verandas with Goddess Diana in the beautiful gardens. Jacuzzi tubs, Steam Shower, Romantic packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnut Street Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.