We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Street Inn
Save
You added Chestnut Street Inn to your Saves list
176 East Chestnut Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Chestnut Street Inn was a fabulous place to say. The most perfect place, with the most perfect people! My husband and I celebrated our anniversary together and loved every minute of the weekend. LaDonna, the owner was very helpful providing us with information on where to eat/visit. One of the sweetest B&B owners we've met! The Inn is within walking distance of downtown Asheville with great shops, restaurants, art galleries and breweries. We also visited the Biltmore which was only a short drive away. Great location! The food was also amazing. We would hands down recommend Chestnut Street Inn and are looking forward to visiting again very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    46
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
29
311
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I have been to the Chestnut Street Inn twice and plan to return again. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The food is delicous and served with such grace. It is very close to downtown - an easy walk or short drive. LaDonna goes out of her way to be a fine hostess and meet our needs. We love Chris' smile and her origami creations are beautiful. The inn provides recommendations for local restaurants which we have found to be outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Pleasant environment, decent people...bed kind of hard and uncomfortable, but rest was nice...Breakfast served from 9-930..came down at 9:35 and was told nothing they could do and no breakfast. Was surprised and unimpressed by the level of service on that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I were referred to the Chestnut Street Inn by a friend and we were further encouraged when we read the very positive online reviews. We had a wonderful stay in the lovely Zen Retreat - the room was very private, well appointed and comfortable.

LaDonna and her staff were incredibly warm and hospitable and were clearly focused on making themselves available to their guests. Our breakfasts were very good and thoughtfully prepared. I felt like a guest in someone's home, but also appreciated the staff's respect for our privacy.

Two thumbs up for the Chestnut Street Inn! :)

Room Tip: The Zen Retreat is a modern room with an amazing bathroom and great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have spent two weekends at the Chestnut Street Inn (once with my sister and once with my husband) and have enjoyed the stay both times! The owner and staff are so welcoming, the accomodations are lovely and close to Asheville, and the breakfasts are quite delicious. I would recommend this B&B to anyone planning a visit to Asheville!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, sc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I absolutely loved everything about my stay at Chestnut Street Inn! The owners are incredible. I was in town for work and had a pretty intense schedule, so I missed breakfast each morning. The owner made breakfast for me and left it in the fridge for me to have in the mornings because I was leaving so early. Each day I saw her she asked how I was doing and if I needed anything. The house is beautiful, the bed was incredibly comfy, the location is ideal... the downtown YMCA even let me get a weekly pass at a great rate so I could workout... and it is about 2 minutes from the Inn. I will definitely be going back! You will not regret your decision to stay here. :)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely. There is one room that is decorated in yellow that I thought was absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first bed and breakfast stay and I must say that the bar has been set high! LaDonna and Rachel were perfect hosts. We stayed at the Biltmore Room and it is definitely a romantic room for couples. Food was amazingly delicious each morning, the Chef's really know their stuff! We were sad to go and when we finally did, we were already planning our next trip back. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I would recommend the Biltmore Room. Very large private bath with 2 person jet tub. Oh and a firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Street Inn

Address: 176 East Chestnut Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic, Award Winning 1905 Grand Colonial Revival home is one of the most distinctive fully restored Homes in Asheville. Indulge in its Architectural Charm and Grace with eight beautifully appointed rooms to choose from. Walking distance to all the fabulous Downtown Shops, Galleries, Antique Stores, Restaurants and Night Life. We serve a Homemade Gourmet Breakfast each morning with plenty of delicious Fair Trade coffee and teas to start your day. Relax on the Verandas with Goddess Diana in the beautiful gardens. Jacuzzi tubs, Steam Shower, Romantic packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnut Street Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.