We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING WEEKEND!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Street Inn
Save
You added Chestnut Street Inn to your Saves list
176 East Chestnut Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING WEEKEND!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I wanted to do something special for our 20th Anniversary. We have never stayed at a bed & breakfast and were not sure we would enjoy the experience. We read reviews and looked for hours on-line. Chestnut Street Inn was our choice based on the internet alone. I am submitting this review so others searching the same way will know - this Inn is phenomenal!! I must say that LaDonna and her staff are AMAZING!! They provided the right mix of pampering and privacy. The weekend was a just perfect. The Zen Retreat was comfortable and beautifully furnished. LaDonna guided us on popular things to do and restaurants whose food was delicious. I simply cannot say enough!! This Inn is well worth your time and hard earned dollars. Amazing group of people – thank you Chestnut Street Family for opening your home and helping us add beautiful memories to this chapter in our life!!!

Room Tip: For the best in privacy, pick the Zen Retreat. It's on the third floor - an oasis all to its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    46
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
28
301
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our first trip to Asheville was made so much better by our stay at the Chestnut Street Inn. The room was beautiful and comfortable. LaDonna was the best hostess and had a wealth of information about where to visit and dine in Asheville. It was walking distance from downtown but after dark it was easy to get lost getting back, which happened to us. However, that did not damped our experience. The breakfast each morning was very good and visiting with the other guests was enjoyable. Chestnut Street Inn is an outstanding place to stay on any visit to Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our first B&B and we loved it! We were only several blocks from Downtown Asheville and we walked the whole time. LaDonna provides you information on restaurants and things to do and sells some of the tickets for attractions. The other individuals assisting LaDonna were also very helpful. Of course, the menu does change at the restaurants themselves every 3-4 days because most restaurants used locally/seasonal food. We stayed in the Chestnut Hill Room on the first floor with a closet converted to a single stall bathroom. It was fine for us but if you are a big person and need LOTS of elbow room in the shower, pick another room. The total cost for two days was $375.18, which included breakfast each morning at 9 am sharp! The breakfast was delicious both times. They provide cookies in the afternoon and you have access to water and tea...coffee too in the morning. You also had access to a refrigerator, too, which worked out well the day we left because we had leftovers from a restaurant that we could put in our cooler and take home. First time experience with a gas fireplace and it was nice when you got ready in the mornings. The hospitality was wonderful and enjoyed meeting different people from different states. We didn't get to experience Pumpkin Pie (the cat) in our room so we missed out on that experience but others got a good laugh. This is one B&B we would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I received a weekend getaway at the Chestnut Street Inn as a gift from my colleagues. We stayed in the "Zen" room which was on the top floor. Quiet, comfortable bed, beautifully decorated with a large fabulous steam shower. LaDonna and her team made excellent restaurant and activity recommendations, in addition to providing delicious homemade breakfasts and afternoon treats. Easy walk to downtown Asheville. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Zen room is on the top floor and is spacious and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the Chestnut Street Inn in Asheville, NC. The Inn was beautiful. Our hostess, LaDonna, was so helpful with directions and recommendations of things to do and places to eat. The room was comfortable, the jacuzzi tub was great, and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to all and would return there for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was the second anniversary we've celebrated at the Chestnut Street Inn. LaDonna introduced us to a new vegan restaurant; The Plant, just three blocks from the Inn, that by far exceeded our expectations. The food was excellent. LaDonna's hospitality and her interface with the business community provided us with a memorable vacation that we will look forward to repeating over many years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

we had a great stay at Chestnut Street Inn. We stayed in the Zen Retreat, which is just beautifully set up. The hotel staff is incredibly knowledgable about Asheville and very helpful. I think you will enjoy it!

Room Tip: listen to the suggestions of the innkeeper, she's very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Street Inn

Address: 176 East Chestnut Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic, Award Winning 1905 Grand Colonial Revival home is one of the most distinctive fully restored Homes in Asheville. Indulge in its Architectural Charm and Grace with eight beautifully appointed rooms to choose from. Walking distance to all the fabulous Downtown Shops, Galleries, Antique Stores, Restaurants and Night Life. We serve a Homemade Gourmet Breakfast each morning with plenty of delicious Fair Trade coffee and teas to start your day. Relax on the Verandas with Goddess Diana in the beautiful gardens. Jacuzzi tubs, Steam Shower, Romantic packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnut Street Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.