We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but good things to say about this place...until we were served breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Inn
674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
#1 Romantic Hotel &...
Ranked #6 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing but good things to say about this place...until we were served breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful and within walking distance to the Biltmore Village. It has a huge wraparound porch with lots of seating. They offer complimentary snacks, wine, and tea throughout the day. Staff is friendly. I highly recommend staying here...if you don't care about good coffee and the breakfast. My husband and I were thrilled with our stay here up until breakfast. We would return if they started serving local coffee and if they put more thought into the breakfast; such as choosing local, fresh foods or at least "classing up" the courses. We only had one breakfast here, so maybe it was just an off day, but we quite disappointed with the pillsbury croissant, dry breakfast potatoes, and the sausage and egg biscuit that I could have gotten down the street at McDonalds. When you are paying extra for a bed AND BREAKFAST experience, typically the breakfast should be amazing too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    45
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
40
154
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Cedar Crest B & B is located one mile north of the Biltmore Estate and one mile south of downtown Asheville. Convenient for almost anything! It is a well restored Victorian mansion with comfortable rooms. And the three course breakfast is ample. I stayed here 4 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights last weekend and were quite pleased with the whole experience. Their web site is correct in saying that the owners don't push themselves on you. In fact we never saw them. The staff were super helpful, congenial and competent, however. Cannot say enough about that feature of the place.The way the breakfasts are set up you really don't have to interact with other guests either. The wraparound porch was wonderful for breakfast and for afternoon libations. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our shower in Breese room was small. The shower in our traveling companions' room was large. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at the Cedar Crest Inn several times over the past 8 years, and I have to say it has just gotten better and better over that time. Our last stay was a few weeks ago, and the service we received from the owner and staff was tremendous. Since taking over a few years ago, the current owner is dedicated to customer service and providing a wonderful experience for his guests. He, and the entire staff, are always very friendly and ready to assist in any way. The rooms are comfortable and welcoming, and the entire house is beautiful. I can't recommend this place enough. If you are coming to Asheville, skip the hotels and stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville ga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here one night for a surprise get away with my 2 daughters. It was wonderful from the atmosphere to the snacks to the delicious breakfast on the veranda. Thanks for such a great time. I hope to return very soon and explore Asheville some more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Cedar Crest is a grand Victorian that would have had sweeping views over Asheville a hundred years ago as it sits on top of a hill....That view is obstructed by mature trees, but it's a good thing as the surround area is not that scenic. Instead you get great views of the well-manicured gardens and grounds.

The house is beautiful and most decorations and furnishings in the main house are true to Victorian era. We also staid in the carriage house - which while just as old as the main house, has been completely renovated - so you won't get that Victorian mansion vibe.

OT walking distance to the vibrant Asheville Downtown - which was the main drawback - as parking in Asheville could be difficult,

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own personality...we peeked in a few and would have been happy in any of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a fantastic place. Very centrally located and wonderful value. We look foreword to coming back from tx and visiting again. Great food as well. Staff was very helpful. Rooms were very clean. I feel like this place was not only very well managed but well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel
Address: 674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#18 Family Hotel in Asheville
#30 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside just three blocks from the entrance of the Biltmore, Cedar Crest Inn Asheville's finest bed and breakfast is one of the largest and most opulent residences surviving from the 1800s. Downtown Asheville is just a mile away from our "Pink Lady," and the Blue Ridge Parkway is just four miles away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cedar Crest Inn to your Saves list