We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Mountain Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Inn
Save Saved
You added Cedar Crest Inn to your Saves list
674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming Mountain Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Cedar Crest Inn in four nights in June. In the Asheville area, staying at a hotel is not much cheaper than opting for a bed and breakfast, so we thought this inn to be a good value considering you get breakfast, snacks and a more charming atmosphere. We really liked the Tower Room, where we stayed for two nights, however, we did not realize how hot it would be in there. We enjoyed breakfast each day. My suggestion to the staff though would be to serve a menu with greater variety. Each day the breakfast was generally the same - fruit, a muffin and a variation of eggs. We stayed in Guest Cottage 2 for half of our visit, and we found it a lot more spacious although less the charm of the Tower Room. One other plus - we got the package that included tickets to the Biltmore House, which we found to be a good deal versus buying the tickets alone. We would certainly stay here for future trips.

Room Tip: Avoid the Tower Room. There is no central AC, and the portable AC unit in the room is loud and does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    48
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
42
163
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is spectacular soup to nuts. The house and its grounds are breathtaking! We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet room which is small but cozy. There isn't central air but they have a portable AC unit which was fine. The bed wasn't the most comfortable but fine for short stays. It might be time to replace this mattress. We got lucky and got to stay one night in the Queen Anne room. I highly recommend this room because of its exquisite decor and ample space. The bed is also a lot more comfortable than the other room.
Breakfast was very relaxing on the porch with the cool breeze and birds chirping. The food was nothing special but Cynthia was a terrific host. I can't say enough good things about her. She made us feel welcome from the get go. I wish they would come up with a "signature breakfast dish" other than the standard scrambled eggs, muffins, fruit, and limp pancakes. When I stay at a b&b, I want to be wowed by the breakfast. They might to work on their menu and even steal some ideas from other b&b.
They do offer AAA discounts so I would jump on that if I were you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent a weekend in April for our daughter's 13th birthday. The third floor suite was perfect with the extra bedroom. Drew and the staff had a birthday card and gift bag in her room when we arrived and on her actual birthday she had flowers, balloons, and a nice card waiting when we returned from a long day of shopping. The breakfast was delicious each morning and Drew gave us many recommendations for shopping and dining in Asheville. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Cedar Crest Inn is absolutely amazing! Spent a girl's weekend there a couple weeks ago and stayed in the Stables. The room was just behind the main house. It nicely decorated and perfectly appointed with all the modern conveniences needed. We enjoyed the peacefulness of the Stables, but yet close enough to walk over to the main house for breakfast or a glass (or two) of wine. Drew, the owner, was so helpful and was able to point us in the right direction for the best food and entertainment! The breakfast was scrumptious and it was nice eating with all the other guests. We will definitely be returning to the Cedar Crest Inn again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place is adorable and extremely well maintained with historical details. It's also a really cool place with a casual atmosphere. They give you free wine and beer whenever you want (until pretty late at night)! The rooms were clean and unique. Drew, the owner, is a super cool guy who gets to know his guests and make them feel comfortable. He had great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. We stayed in two different rooms and really enjoyed them both, especially the fireplace. We were in walking distance of several fun places and had a great weekend. We'll definitely be back to the Cedar Crest soon.

Room Tip: The Romeo and Juliet room is small and doesn't have a fireplace but has a very comfy tempurpedic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is the Ultimate Bed and Breakfast! The one that sets the standard for all the others! The staff was amazing and very helpful. I chose the Cedar Crest Inn to propose to my now fiancé, and it was the best thing I could've done! The staff was able to get all the little details in place before we drove there from the Nashville, TN area. Sabrina, Leta, Cynthia and the Proprietor, Drew all took part in making this special time an unforgettable one!

The breakfast was great (complements to the chef!) and just the right servings! (although, if your expectations are to be served in buffet quantities, you will be disappointed!) But, if you're eating right, and healthy, and in SERVING SIZES (as we should all be doing) then you will be content with it, along with the ambiance that can only come from a Historical B&B such as Cedar Crest Inn! It was like being transported back in time to a bygone era!

I cannot say enough about Cedar Crest Inn and the Wonderful Staff who made it all happen! And if you want to know what my (then) girlfriend thought about this place, reserve the Garden Room when you go there and be sure to read the little guest book that's kept at the nightstand by the bed! We chose that room because the owner Drew took the time to tell me about all the different rooms and helped me to make an informed choice based on what I was looking for!

We never did get to meet him in person, but we will, on our 1st year anniversary when we venture back to Asheville and every year after, God willing!

TO THE STAFF: Thank you, thank you, thank you! (By the way...she said, "YES!")

Room Tip: The Garden Room was a Perfect Choice! Larger bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from the Inn. Wow! This place is clean, boasts a great location on the breakfast was both plentiful and delicous. The owner Drew was a fantastic host and his staff (Sabrina and Leeda were extremelly accomodating.) All the rooms we got to look at were great looking, we especially liked ours though "The Eastlake Room."

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Address: 674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#22 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside just three blocks from the entrance of the Biltmore, Cedar Crest Inn Asheville's finest bed and breakfast is one of the largest and most opulent residences surviving from the 1800s. Downtown Asheville is just a mile away from our "Pink Lady," and the Blue Ridge Parkway is just four miles away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.