We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored late 19th century mansion in a convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Inn
674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
#1 Romantic Hotel &...
Ranked #6 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored late 19th century mansion in a convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just a couple of blocks from Biltmore Village, Biltmore House and I-40, as well as being just a 10 minute drive from downtown. I stayed in the “Carriage House” cabin off of the mains house, which offered a little more privacy than the main house, and allowed you more control over the temperature and audio systems. The main house has three fireplaces (one in the dining room, and one each in two first floor sitting rooms) that you can control. The Carriage House had its own fireplace and kitchen. The customer service was great, and did their best to accommodate special requests. No complaints here! Well, just one: they need to change the external color from pink to something else. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    45
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
40
154
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I researched various B&Bs for our last-minute trip to Asheville for our anniversary. I booked the Carriage House room #3 the evening before we left for a 7-hour drive to Asheville. We left home at 5am, and it wasn't until almost noon before the innkeeper called us to tell us there was one "small hitch".

It was that we had our 7 month old son staying with us, and the Cedar Crest Inn doesn't accept children under 10. We were told that since we were already on the way, they would make an "exception" and allow us to stay in the Cabin Room #1, which was private from all the other guests. That's fine, we like privacy, but they offered us a higher rate for that room which I was hesitant to pay. And when I asked about breakfast in the main house, which is an important part of a B&B experience, I was told that they would bring us out a "breakfast tray".

Obviously they were trying to maintain the "romantic" environment for other guests, but there's nothing unromantic about a family. Our son is very quiet, and likely makes less noise than most adults staying at the inn, and we are respectful people who would never let our son's cries be a nuisance to other guests. We were so incredibly offended that we would be treated like such outsiders at the inn during our stay just for the fact that we had our child with us, that we could not give our money to the Cedar Crest.

Had that policy been listed anywhere on the website or through the reservation process, we wouldn't have wasted our time planning to go here, and could have made prior arrangements with another B&B or hotel before we left. Instead, we had to find accommodations once we arrived in Asheville which was stressful for my wife.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarcrestinn, Owner at Cedar Crest Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
The reviewer never had a confirmed reservation with us. They had submitted a reservation “request” which was never confirmed. We do requests only online to avoid exactly this. We reserve the right to refuse business to anyone. We do not permit young children under the age of 10 at our inn which is stated on our website. They are upset because their opinion differs from our policies, which is not a substantial argument. The review is written by the husband who we never interacted with, I know this because his last statement on the review is the following… “Instead, we had to find accommodations once we arrived in Asheville which was stressful for my wife.” The claims in this are false, we offered her a complimentary upgrade to another room that we could permit a child in and she declined. She also threatened that if we did not give her the room she wanted for cheaper because of her inconvenience she would write bad reviews everywhere… That is illegal and considered blackmail. Seeing that the reviewer was never a paying customer and never had a confirmed reservation, the review was written by someone else other than the person we briefly dealt with and they illegally threatened us with blackmail I kindly request that everyone takes their extremist ways and disregards this "review."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had hoped for a beautiful fall weekend in Asheville, but were there when Superstorm Sandy made her presence known. We did visit the Biltmore Estate but it was too cold for us to wander the town. The Inn proved a comfortable respite: blazing fire in the main room and a cozy fireplace in our bedroom (upgraded thanks to a tripadvisor coupon). The hostess also provided us with a space heater in the room and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The breakfasts were good but we weren't offered in any choices in our selections. There was coffee, dessert, and wine available each day until 8 PM. Our hostess also recommended restaurants two nights in a row, each worthy of the recommendation. We are sure if the weather had been nicer we would have enjoyed the welcoming porch as wll.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main street but we were not bothered by the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Cedar Crest Inn. Very comfortable, authentic, great breakfast and wonderful innkeepers. The Inn's preservation is amazing for a place over 100 years old. Centrally located to Biltmore Village.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sitting in it's own grounds this beautiful looking house has real character. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, complimentary coffee, cookies and wine certainly helps the warm welcome. Our room was a victorian style which made a great change from the bland main street motels. You are a 5 minute walk (yes a walk, there are side walks here in Asheville) from the Biltmore Village which is all 1890 vintage and has all the best bars and restaurants. Loved this place, would recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Why would anyone stay in a hotel when you can be in a beautiful historic house such as this! The interior of the main house is beautifully restored. I stayed in one of the guest cottage house rooms separate from the main house. It was charming, cozy, safe and private. The grounds are nice to wander and sit with a glass of wine (or two!). Breakfast was over the top every morning. The wrap around porch is one of the most relaxing places to rest after a long day of sightseeing, and is beautifully lit at night. The Inn's location is superb. Close to Biltmore estate and a short easy drive right up Biltmore Ave. into downtown Asheville. I cannot say enough about the wonderful, friendly, helpful staff here. Thank you Sabrina for making me feel welcomed and right at home there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfane, VT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The stay was great. I choose the small room as part of a cottage and it was small but just what I needed. Great breakfast. Learned that being within walking distance to the entrance to The Biltmore did not matter as the entrance was 2 miles from the Biltmore itself!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel
Address: 674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#18 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside just three blocks from the entrance of the Biltmore, Cedar Crest Inn Asheville's finest bed and breakfast is one of the largest and most opulent residences surviving from the 1800s. Downtown Asheville is just a mile away from our "Pink Lady," and the Blue Ridge Parkway is just four miles away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cedar Crest Inn to your Saves list