We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and cozy on a cold autumn day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Inn
674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy on a cold autumn day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had hoped for a beautiful fall weekend in Asheville, but were there when Superstorm Sandy made her presence known. We did visit the Biltmore Estate but it was too cold for us to wander the town. The Inn proved a comfortable respite: blazing fire in the main room and a cozy fireplace in our bedroom (upgraded thanks to a tripadvisor coupon). The hostess also provided us with a space heater in the room and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The breakfasts were good but we weren't offered in any choices in our selections. There was coffee, dessert, and wine available each day until 8 PM. Our hostess also recommended restaurants two nights in a row, each worthy of the recommendation. We are sure if the weather had been nicer we would have enjoyed the welcoming porch as wll.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main street but we were not bothered by the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    47
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
40
161
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Cedar Crest Inn. Very comfortable, authentic, great breakfast and wonderful innkeepers. The Inn's preservation is amazing for a place over 100 years old. Centrally located to Biltmore Village.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sitting in it's own grounds this beautiful looking house has real character. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, complimentary coffee, cookies and wine certainly helps the warm welcome. Our room was a victorian style which made a great change from the bland main street motels. You are a 5 minute walk (yes a walk, there are side walks here in Asheville) from the Biltmore Village which is all 1890 vintage and has all the best bars and restaurants. Loved this place, would recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Why would anyone stay in a hotel when you can be in a beautiful historic house such as this! The interior of the main house is beautifully restored. I stayed in one of the guest cottage house rooms separate from the main house. It was charming, cozy, safe and private. The grounds are nice to wander and sit with a glass of wine (or two!). Breakfast was over the top every morning. The wrap around porch is one of the most relaxing places to rest after a long day of sightseeing, and is beautifully lit at night. The Inn's location is superb. Close to Biltmore estate and a short easy drive right up Biltmore Ave. into downtown Asheville. I cannot say enough about the wonderful, friendly, helpful staff here. Thank you Sabrina for making me feel welcomed and right at home there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfane, VT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The stay was great. I choose the small room as part of a cottage and it was small but just what I needed. Great breakfast. Learned that being within walking distance to the entrance to The Biltmore did not matter as the entrance was 2 miles from the Biltmore itself!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We three sisters had SUCH a delightful stay at Cedar Crest Inn. The Inn is lovely, the hospitality wonderful, delicious afternoon Tea/goodies and a wonderful homemade breakfast daily. I give a lot of the credit for our great memories to Sabrina, who warmly welcomed us, helped me carry my luggage up to the 3rd floor, even mailed some cards for me. I enjoyed going to Asheville before this visit, but, staying at Cedar Crest Inn made this visit even more special!

Room Tip: The Tower Room has a delightful, and quaint, bathroom with a claw foot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The stay wasn't bad, but there were quite a few things that could have been done better by a quality B&B. For instance, maybe have a current paper there for guests to read with coffee in the morning. Maybe offering honey as a sweetner for tea and coffee. Or, closing the kitchen door so that the employees' dirty laundry about their divorces aren't aired for the guests. It was a lack of the little, finer things that I wished had been different.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Address: 674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#23 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside just three blocks from the entrance of the Biltmore, Cedar Crest Inn Asheville's finest bed and breakfast is one of the largest and most opulent residences surviving from the 1800s. Downtown Asheville is just a mile away from our "Pink Lady," and the Blue Ridge Parkway is just four miles away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cedar Crest Inn to your Saves list