We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and cozy on a cold autumn day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cedar Crest Inn to your Saves list
Cedar Crest Inn
674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy on a cold autumn day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had hoped for a beautiful fall weekend in Asheville, but were there when Superstorm Sandy made her presence known. We did visit the Biltmore Estate but it was too cold for us to wander the town. The Inn proved a comfortable respite: blazing fire in the main room and a cozy fireplace in our bedroom (upgraded thanks to a tripadvisor coupon). The hostess also provided us with a space heater in the room and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The breakfasts were good but we weren't offered in any choices in our selections. There was coffee, dessert, and wine available each day until 8 PM. Our hostess also recommended restaurants two nights in a row, each worthy of the recommendation. We are sure if the weather had been nicer we would have enjoyed the welcoming porch as wll.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main street but we were not bothered by the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    59
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
49
202
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Cedar Crest Inn. Very comfortable, authentic, great breakfast and wonderful innkeepers. The Inn's preservation is amazing for a place over 100 years old. Centrally located to Biltmore Village.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sitting in it's own grounds this beautiful looking house has real character. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, complimentary coffee, cookies and wine certainly helps the warm welcome. Our room was a victorian style which made a great change from the bland main street motels. You are a 5 minute walk (yes a walk, there are side walks here in Asheville) from the Biltmore Village which is all 1890 vintage and has all the best bars and restaurants. Loved this place, would recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Why would anyone stay in a hotel when you can be in a beautiful historic house such as this! The interior of the main house is beautifully restored. I stayed in one of the guest cottage house rooms separate from the main house. It was charming, cozy, safe and private. The grounds are nice to wander and sit with a glass of wine (or two!). Breakfast was over the top every morning. The wrap around porch is one of the most relaxing places to rest after a long day of sightseeing, and is beautifully lit at night. The Inn's location is superb. Close to Biltmore estate and a short easy drive right up Biltmore Ave. into downtown Asheville. I cannot say enough about the wonderful, friendly, helpful staff here. Thank you Sabrina for making me feel welcomed and right at home there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfane, VT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The stay was great. I choose the small room as part of a cottage and it was small but just what I needed. Great breakfast. Learned that being within walking distance to the entrance to The Biltmore did not matter as the entrance was 2 miles from the Biltmore itself!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We three sisters had SUCH a delightful stay at Cedar Crest Inn. The Inn is lovely, the hospitality wonderful, delicious afternoon Tea/goodies and a wonderful homemade breakfast daily. I give a lot of the credit for our great memories to Sabrina, who warmly welcomed us, helped me carry my luggage up to the 3rd floor, even mailed some cards for me. I enjoyed going to Asheville before this visit, but, staying at Cedar Crest Inn made this visit even more special!

Room Tip: The Tower Room has a delightful, and quaint, bathroom with a claw foot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The stay wasn't bad, but there were quite a few things that could have been done better by a quality B&B. For instance, maybe have a current paper there for guests to read with coffee in the morning. Maybe offering honey as a sweetner for tea and coffee. Or, closing the kitchen door so that the employees' dirty laundry about their divorces aren't aired for the guests. It was a lack of the little, finer things that I wished had been different.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#14 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inn on Biltmore Estate
Inn on Biltmore Estate
#1 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.9 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#26 of 59 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Address: 674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#22 Family Hotel in Asheville
#27 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Crest Inn is Asheville's premiere Inn offering the best in.(1) Value (2) Location: Literally the best location in town! We are just 2 turns or less from nearly everything Asheville has to offer... Downtown - 1 turn and 1.2 miles away! The Biltmore Estate - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! The Biltmore Village - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! Downtown Asheville - 1 turn and only 1.2 miles away! The River Arts District - 2 turns and only 1.5 miles away! The Blue Ridge Parkway - 1 turn and only 3 miles away! (3) FREE Amenities included in EVERY stay: - A three course served breakfast. - A glass of wine in the evening. - An abundance of locally made desserts. - Fast Wi-Fi. - On site parking. (4) Well Reviewed: - We have remained in the top ten in Asheville hotels on Tripadvisor for years now. - We have been awarded with tripadvisors certificate of excellence every year they have given the award. - We have been voted year after year the most romantic hotel in Asheville. - We were named the hotel in Asheville to stay in on The Today Show in 2014. - We were featured on Good Morning America in 2012. - We have been featured in USA Today, Inns Magazine, Southern Living, Style Magazine and so many more. (5) Come stay where the celebrities stay: We have been fortunate enough to host multiple Grammy winning artists, famous actors from some of today's hottest shows on Television as well as timeless movies and we have even served as the main shoot location for a recent reality TV show. (6) Service: Nobody will offer you more honest and sincere service than we do here at the Cedar Crest Inn. We never put business relationships, financial gain or anything above providing our guests with the best local tips on where to eat, visit and hang out. We provide the perfect balances between authenticity and professionalism as well as hands on service and non evasiveness. BOTTOM LINE is if the pictures don't lure you in, our reputation doesn't convince you or these words don't sell you on this being the best choice in accommodations for your Asheville trip than you need to give us a call and allow us the opportunity to show you what makes us the most unique and ideal choice for lodging in Asheville and all of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.