We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful from start to finish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Inn
Save
You added Cedar Crest Inn to your Saves list
674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The Inn is perfectly located between Biltmore Village and downtown which allowed us to be within walking distance of some of Asheville's best restaurants and the most interesting art and music scene we've seen. It is by far the most historic place we have stayed and is lavishly decorated with which makes it a bargain. Easily the most impressive part of our experience was the service we received. Drew and Leta were great and really did everything they could to make our stay perfect. It was a great way to get away from the big city and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    54
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
44
180
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roachdale, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our stay at this perfectly located inn for visiting in the Asheville area offered an accompanying 2 day pass to the Biltmore Estate. The Inn was not only beautifully decorated and cared for throughout; but was absolutely full of holiday spirit with the well chosen Christmas decorations and wonderful areas in which to sit about and enjoy conversation and refreshment. The only drawback was that our room had an incredibly small bath with shower. Nonetheless the in room fireside area, exquisite bed linens, and television made up for this singular drawback which has kept me from awarding an excellent rating 5 stars!

Room Tip: If size of a bath or bath amenities are a must check what each room offers when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

THis place offers a great location and close to Biltmore and Downtown. The staff was friendly and were very helpful. We stayed in Carriage house in back of the Inn. Very cozy and everyday 2 kitties came to see me. :-)

Had breakfast in the main house and drinks and snacks in the evenings. We will be back soon.
House and grounds were beautifully decorated for Christmas

Room Tip: Stay in Carriage House its like a seperate Inn almost all by yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

From my experiences in traveling it seems typical that hotels use photoshop and wide angled lenses when shooting pictures of their establishment. Although the photos on their website are nice, the place in real life is breathtaking. We were surprised to find that our room was larger than it appeared in the photos and that it looked nicer. We were also pleased to see that no description of amenities offered or services offered on their website even came close to what all they really offered, everything was better! Drew and the rest of his staff treated us like old friends and had great "insider/local" tips for us. Our experience at the Cedar Crest hotel was great from start to finish.

Check-in was pleasant and we were graciously shown throughout the property and informed of all the free things we would receive during our stay... a multi-course breakfast every morning (which was great by the way), GOOD coffee and teas, desserts, wine, and wireless internet (I am sure there is more, but that is all I am recalling at this time.) After being shown around the property we were escorted to our room by Drew to find a very tastefully decorated accommodation. The room was both spotlessly clean and quiet. The Inn was sold out while we were there and yet we never heard any noises while in our room (a problem with many old inns.)

I could go on and on about this place but the bottom line is you must go and see for yourself. We without question will book a room again there when and if we find ourselves back in the awesome and hip city of Asheville.

Ohh and I should mention that their location is probably as good as it gets in Asheville. They are a straight shot to downtown (probably a mile or less.) They are a hop skip and a jump to the Biltmore and Village area. They are also extremely close to the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway and a few turns away from the Rivers Arts District which is weird but worth a visit.

Room Tip: I did not see all the rooms but based off of our room and the few others that couples that we met sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the cottage and felt like it was our home away from home. Excellent friendly staff, gorgeous home, inviting fire and always some wine or desserts to top it off. We love historic homes so we were thankful for the efforts to preserve the details of this home. Larger than most of the B&B's, it gives you the privacy with all the benefits of a B&B. Breakfast was always yummy with great service. Loved the "rainbow" discount. Thank you for the hospitality!!

Room Tip: The cottage (single bedroom) was a nice suite for us, bathroom was tight (a pocket door would help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Classic house, well preserved and welcoming. Super friendly and helpful guy who checked us in, made us feel very welcome. Fantastic comfortable beds, good breakfasts in a nice enviornment. Can't fault anything about this inn. Would highy recommend.
I made a late booking and had to take the Page Room, top floor which was not a problem as we enjoyed climbing the classic staircase, but be aware that this room has the bathroom located outside the main bedroom, not a big problem but did take away a bit of privacy. Not the problem of the inn, but mine for booking late.
All the staff and other guests who we had conversations with were interesting, friendly and most important...happy !!

Room Tip: Book early to get the room you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed in the two bedroomed cottage. Very welcoming, helpful staff. Clean, with pretty furnishings, cosy fire and good heating. Christmas decorations were a nice touch. Very good breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Address: 674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#24 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside just three blocks from the entrance of the Biltmore, Cedar Crest Inn Asheville's finest bed and breakfast is one of the largest and most opulent residences surviving from the 1800s. Downtown Asheville is just a mile away from our "Pink Lady," and the Blue Ridge Parkway is just four miles away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.