We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Carolina Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
177 Cumberland Ave., Asheville, NC 28801 (Historic Montford)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Downton Abbey/Biltmore
Ranked #5 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in the lovely Goldfinch Room. As the weather was just turning cooler, the gas fireplace was just the ticket, and the large Jacuzzi was also welcome after a long day of playing tourist. Hosts James and Susan run a top rate place. I especially appreciated the "real" cups for making tea. (I was more recently at The Greenbrier, and their café uses paper) We had a great time at breakfast and happy hour, everything one expects and more at this wonderful B & B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
372
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Carolina B&B for our anniversary and couldn't have been more happy with our choice. First- the location was perfect for us. We were never more than 2-4 miles away from anything we did during our 3 night stay. The neighborhood is full of historical homes- and within walking distance from downtown if you did want to leave the car behind at the b&b. One of the best meals we had (aside from breakfast each morning) was at a place within a few hundred yards away from the b&b- a little gem called 9 Mile.

As for the B&B itself, it's a charming home- kept very tidy, with ample room in the common areas if you wanted to get out of your room and do some reading or relaxing elsewhere in the house. We stayed in the Mockingbird room, which is upstairs and down the hall. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious (shower and jacuzzi tub) and it was very quiet. As soon as we awoke every morning, we were treated to a two course breakfast. They rotate from a 'sweet' breakfast to a 'savory' option from day today. Each meal we had was delicious and very creative.

Other nice touches were the hour devours/wine time each afternoon. It was fun meeting other guests and finding out what types of things they had done or were doing while in Asheville. Plenty of choices of teas, cider, coffee, drinks and cookies for guests to help themselves to at any time of the day or night. Susan even makes a dessert type treat delivered to each room in the evening.

James was so helpful with restaurant tips, hiking info, etc. and even let my wife and I borrow his backpack for a few days while we were out and about. They are both super nice and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again when we come back to Asheville.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I recently had a three night stay at the Carolina and had a wonderful time. James and Susan are fantastic hosts and the B&B was excellent. Location was convenient to downtown. Breakfasts were gourmet and happy hour was great fun with excellent appetizers. Enjoying Susan's cook book at home now and hope to use several recipes for the holidays. Can't wait to return some time. The Millers

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Four night stay early Nov 2013 could not have been better. Gracious hosts, excellent and varied breakfasts, complimentary afternoon wine and snacks, nighttime treats, comfy beds and hot shower. Location is 1/2 to 3/4 mile from downtown Asheville. Much better than other B&B's withbenefits of updated plumbing and in-room gas fireplaces! Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a delightful inn!! We stayed two nights and wished it could have been longer. James and Susan are the perfect host. James was on hand to assist with directions and give advice on things to see, do and where to eat. The inn is beautifully decorated, comfortable and inviting. We stayed in the Mockingbird Room on the second floor. Loved the view looking out onto the quiet tree lined street. After a day of touring really enjoyed the relaxing jacuzzi in the spa like bathroom! The late afternoon social time was a chance to visit with the other guest and enjoy appetizers and a glass or two of wine. Each night upon returning to our room, a special treat was awaiting us!! Delicious!! After a pieceful sleep, we enjoyed waking up to the smells of freshly brewed coffee and breakfast. Each morning we enjoyed a different breakfast prepared by Susan. The meals are "out of this world!" You can't go wrong with a visit to The Carolina Bed and Breakfast!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have charm and are very nice. Go online to see each room for individual preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I could not have more wonderful things to say about the Carolina B&B. My dad and I stayed here on a trip through Asheville. We stayed in the Cottage which is set back from the house, quiet and relaxed. The king bed was incredibly comfortable (my dad stayed on the daybed, and had no complaints). The shower was heaven, and there was also a giant jacuzzi tub, a mini kitchen with a stocked fridge, Kuerig coffee machine and homemade desserts brought to the room while we were at dinner. Very clean, and just lovely.

Even better, each morning Susan made a delicious breakfast which we all ate at communal tables, and at night Susan and James served a large spread of amazing homemade appetizers and wine. All the guests gathered around to chat for an hour or so before dinner and exchange tips for the next day. The warm interaction with all the guests made it feel like we were staying at camp with old friends.

But there's still more! Susan and James themselves are incredible hosts to be treasured. They spent time just chatting with us and getting to know each other a bit, they shared recipes and could not have been more helpful in figuring out what to do/eat/drink in Asheville. They know about every area and restaurant in town, and made us maps of the fastest way to get to each spot. Plus we bought our tickets for the Biltmore Estate - discounted - right at the Inn which they just charged to our rooms.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Cottage is great, especially if you are two people that are not a romantic couple, or probably a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I just got back a few days ago from a week-long road trip that included a four night stay at the Carolina B&B. This was our first trip to the mountains together and our first stay at a B&B and both experiences were wonderful. We were there to see the Fall colors of course (I believe the locals call us "leaf peepers") since we've never really experienced the change in seasons, being that we're from Florida and not having traveled much in the past. We stayed in the Goldfinch room and it was perfect. The mattress and linens were very comfortable and we even slept with a window open to breathe the fresh air and hear the birds in the morning. The gas fireplace was great and the bathroom had a large jetted soaking tub. James was incredibly helpful and took the time to talk to us and map out some great recommendations for restaurants and activities based on our interests. Susan's cooking was delicious and rather gourmet, with a bit of a twist on your typical breakfast fare. I would compare the whole experience to staying with awesome relatives that cook for you and make you feel very much at home. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave., Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.