We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit As Fabulous as the First” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Carolina Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
177 Cumberland Ave., Asheville, NC 28801 (Historic Montford)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Downton Abbey/Biltmore
Ranked #5 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warne, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Second Visit As Fabulous as the First”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second stay with James and Susan at Carolina B&B, and it won't be our last. This B&B is one of the very best we have ever experienced. The rooms are well appointed, spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious, as are the afternoon hors d'oeuvres and wine offerings. James and Susan are hospitable, friendly, and always helpful with suggestions or directions. You won't be disappointed, and once you go, you'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
372
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Super two night stay. Sara (manager) was great with all requests and questions. Very comfortable room and lots of attention to detail. Wonderful food and evening snacks. The streets in the area are great for walks and the houses are interesting to view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I really like to stay at B+B's when we travel.
The Carolina B+B is one of the best we have stayed in to date.
The host and hostess are attentive, helpful and gracious with their time and expertise.
The room was impeccably clean, well appointed, and very comfortable.
The breakfasts were delicious, filled with fresh ingredients and very well prepared and presented.
The offering of wine, coupled with multiple choices of delicious bites of freshly prepared food to start the evening, was relaxing and a great way to converse with others staying at the inn.
The location was very convenient to all Asheville has to offer.
Great stay, and this will be the place we stay on our next visit to Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The best! The house was beautiful, the food delicious, and the hospitality out of this world. Susan and James were so accommodating and knowledge about the area. They were able to recommend tour guides, restaurants, things to do, etc. They made this one of the best travel experiences! Would highly recommend! Deb

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Six of us spent a long weekend at James and Susan's lovely home ... and I say "home" instead of "inn" because they treated us like treasured guests. The rooms are charming and very clean, the food is wonderful, and our hosts and their capable assistants - and even their family - took splendid care of us, even with our special requests and other inconveniences. Combine that with it being a ten minute walk from town, and I can't imagine why you'd select other lodging. Liz

Room Tip: If you have any doubts after looking at the web site, book over the phone and Susan will help you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Carolina Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful place! The host and hostess knew so much about the area and could recommend places to eat and were very honest about prices of the different places. We had a delightful happy hour daily at 5:30 PM with wine and all sorts of delicious homemade appetizers. We talked with the other guests then and got ideas of what to do the next day. Our room was very well-appointed, and while we were out at supper, our hostess left us (in our room) scrumptious treats she had baked. Breakfast every day was wonderful, and our host described each dish we were having. Coffee was available every day at 7:30PM, and we had our coffee on the porch before breakfast. It was so nice to be able to walk to town and leave the car at the b&b, The garden is beautiful, and I could go on and on, but I hope you get the idea that it is a grand place to stay, and the host and hostess are grand as well.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the stairs and was extremely quiet. This is very important to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband & I chose to stay at the Carolina B&B to celebrate our anniversary after doing extensive online research months in advance. It seemed to have everything we were looking for: charm, good food, comfort, good location, a jacuzzi (hard to find in an older home & a welcomed treat after walking around the Biltmore Estate!), and a reasonable price. We were not disappointed! It was truly all of those things & more.
People are not kidding when they say Susan's food is amazing! We couldn't get over the quality & creativity of all of the food offerings throughout the day. Breakfast was delicious & beautifully presented in the dining room each morning. We were pleasantly surprised by the hors d'oeuvres spread every evening. I think we were expecting some cheese & crackers with the wine, but there were 5 or 6 artistically presented appetizers that were incredibly delicious. We didn't have to order an appetizer at our dinners in the evening that's for sure! Also, the sweet treat in the evening was such a nice welcome home, & my husband still says Susan's pumpkin blondie bar was one of his favorite things he ate in Asheville!
Lastly, I want to emphasize what a relaxing atmosphere there is at the Carolina B&B. You can tell that James & Susan are world travelers & know what tourists are looking for because they have nailed it! You leave feeling pampered & refreshed. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave., Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.