We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully comfortable spot to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
177 Cumberland Ave., Asheville, NC 28801 (Historic Montford)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 Asheville B&B and Inns
Safety Harbor, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderfully comfortable spot to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in the Robins Nest room on Dec. 28 & 29th. Our room had plenty of space and the bed was so...comfortable. the small fireplace was perfect since we had a little snow one day. The breakfasts were delicious and I was surprised that the evening gathering had some nice wines and tasty hors d'ouevers. Our hostess Sara was helpful and welcoming. We had friends who also stayed so the palor was a great place to meet up and talk and play some cards. The location is close to downtown. A great place to stay! !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
324
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved our stay in Asheville at the Carolina B&B. It was Christmastime and the inn looked lovely and charming both outside and in. Our room even had a little lighted Christmas tree to welcome us! We stayed in the Robin's Nest room and it was just perfect. The bed was very comfy and the electric fireplace kept us toasty. Breakfast was scrumptious and our host was gracious and welcoming. She gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner the night we arrived and not only was the food wonderful (Nine Mile; Jamaican flair) but carolers dropped in to sing a couple of songs in beautiful harmony. In all, a great place in a perfect location in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I loved this beautiful and cozy B&B. Its ideal location compliments the owners' graciousness and sound advice on Asheville excursions. Great breakfasts and snacks in the evenings. We'll be return customers. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

While scouting Asheville in October for our December 12, 2012 wedding, we luckily found ourselves on the doorstep of Susan and James at the Carolina B&B. We knew immediately that this was the perfect place. Their home is lovely, warm, and welcoming, but the deciding factor was the immediate ease and graciousness we received from the Murrays. They could not have been more accommodating in any and every way.
We wanted a very simple, small affair with just the tow of us, a celebrant, and a photographer. Susan and James stood as witnesses. It was everything we had hoped for .. intimate, and reverent. They created an atmosphere that made our special day wonderful.
After the ceremony, we all toasted with champagne, shared wedding cake, and feasted on Susan’s amazing hor d’oeurves . Every morsel we ate over the next 3 days from the wine and appetizers in the evenings to the incredible breakfast was fabulous. We felt so taken care of. We hope to make Carolina B&B our home away from home when we visit Asheville.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Carolina House. Very pretty, comfortable room, great breakfast and wine & homemade snacks in evening. The hosts are very friendly and helpful regarding things to do and where to dine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a relaxing stay at the beautiful Carolina B&B. Our Innkeeper (Sara) was gracious, friendly, and helpful. The location in the historic district is ideal - pretty, safe, and within walking distance to downtown. We fully recommend staying here if heading to Asheville.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Carolina B&B’s decidedly one of the fanciest B&Bs we’ve stayed at. Good location – leafy quiet residential neighborhood 15-20 min easy walk to downtown Ashville. Nicely furnished and decorated sitting room and library, and a pantry fridge stocked with an assortment of drinks. Fantastic hosts – James will practically plan out your entire day’s schedule for you, if needed, including dinner reservations, and Susan kept all the guests pampered with her superb cooking – from the creative happy hour snacks to gourmet breakfast offerings (different recipes each day!). We had the Mockingbird room upstairs and it had the most luxurious and spacious bathroom, Jacuzzi tub as well as a separate shower (complete with big fluffy towels and bathrobes). Room itself not big but comfortable (bed could have been slightly firmer), with gas fireplace which we made ample use of – the warm glow from the fire creating a warm soothing atmosphere, very helpful for a good night’s sleep. Communal seating at breakfast at one of the two dining tables - good time for socializing with other guests. We had a wonderful two-night stay there and certainly would like to find another excuse to go to Ashville so that we can stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave., Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carolina Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list