We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, charming, historic property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
62 Cumberland Circle, Asheville, NC 28801-1718 (Historic Montford)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Biltmore Estate Package
Ranked #9 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Beautiful, charming, historic property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived Nov 22 from out of state. We had many options to choose from on Trip Advisor and stumbled upon this one. The reviews looked good, so we decided to book it. We arrived way before check in time on Friday, and we were easily accommodated. The house is a beautiful historic home overlooking the town. Nancy and Larry were wonderful hosts, including the little dogs, Maggie and Lila. Not to mention, the 3 course breakfasts were amazing!! We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would definitely return given the chance. You will not regret staying at Applewood- it was truly a great experience.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the winter- get a room with a fireplace! The Macintosh was just what we needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
402
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon Valley, Pa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the Applewood Manor in October with 10 of my friends from Duke. The Inn is lovely and was great for a group like ours. We were able to visit with each other in the parlor and on the porches. We ate breakfast together and wine and snacks in the afternoon. Nancy's breakfasts are outstanding and served with good humor by Larry. We used almost every room and all of them are comfortable. A few have very small baths but that did not bother us. We made use of our two day passes to the Biltmore House and loved the town of Asheville. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Applewood Manor ended up being a great choice for our honeymoon. We spent 6 nights in June in Asheville and our stay could not have been more comfortable. Nancy and Larry are wonderful innkeepers that add that personal touch you don't get at a hotel or resort. Nancy's breakfasts are gourmet and many days we did not even have an appetite for lunch as they are the perfect morning fuel for an activity filled day. We took the opportunity to walk downtown several nights, which is feasible for any able-bodied visitor and there are even some great dining options within a more manageable walk from the property. The grounds of the Applewood Manor are beautiful and we took the opportunity for an afternoon nap in the shade on a couple occasions. It was a wonderful escape and we would not hesitate to return in the future. We were so glad we got to spend our honeymoon in Asheville at the Applewood Manor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cortland Cottage, which was excellent for couples getaway. You have your own parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Applewood Manor is simply an exquisite experience. Beautifully appointed and immaculately maintained, it is like stepping into the past, but with modern amenities! Nancy and Larry treat each guest like family and the breakfasts are nothing short of amazing. My husband and I visited in October and stayed in the Granny Smith room. How cute is that? The social hour with wine and cheese was a delightful way to end a busy day. No B&B could possibly top this one. I have recommended this charming inn to so many people and hope that we can return for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great facilities but Nancy and Larry made it one of the most enjoyable that we have ever experienced. Don't miss it if you are in that beautiful area! We stayed in the guest cottage, which was like our home away from home. The food was superb and the fellowship was outstanding.We recommend it without equivocation.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Applewood Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast was wonderful. The accommodations were immaculate and beautiful, too. The breakfasts were delicious and contained excellent choicesby the owners. The hosts Nancy and Larry were warm and caring and Larry was most entertaining each morning at breakfast with his witty and funny jokes. We wholeheartedly recommend staying at this magnificent Bed and Breakfast when you are in Asheville, NC!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days (2 days in the guest house which we found to be spacious and charming.) The last day was in the granny smith room which was a little small but Nancy and Larry took excellent care of us no matter where we were laying our heads. The breakfast was delicious all three mornings. I would definitely stay here again if i am in Ashville.

Room Tip: Guest house in the back was perfect for a couple looking for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Cumberland Circle, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. Larry (a 6th-generation native of Asheville/Buncombe County) and Nancy's goal is to provide continuous comfort and establish and atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.