We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   62 Cumberland Circle, Asheville, NC 28801-1718 (Historic Montford)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Biltmore Estate Package
Ranked #12 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

With a choice of many for our first trip to Asheville, I am so glad we chose the Applewood Manor! Nancy and Larry are the best Inn Keepers I have ever encountered (and I have stayed at so many Inns) - they are just lovely to be around and so very welcoming. The Inn itself is charming, cozy and feels just like home. We stayed in the WineSap Suite and it was wonderful ! We cannot wait to return and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when we do!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
417
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I just completed a 3 night stay with Nancy and Larry. The home was immaculately clean, the bedroom was large and comfortable with a new mattress. Gas fireplaces in most all of the rooms, including the bedroom, made us feel right at home. Larry and Nancy were extremely helpful with recommendations on restauraunts and touring. Nancy's breakfasts were outstanding. The 5 pm cocktail hour was a welcome respite. The wine, cheese, crackers and chips were great. We are frequent travelers and have been around the world many times and quite frankly this was the best B&B we have ever stayed at. We were made to feel like family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here back in October in the Northern Spy room. This is a lovely, well run bed and breakfast. The owners Larry and Nancy are very helpful with recommending restaurants, places to visit and with sharing the history of Asheville with those who are interested. The breakfasts were very delicious, and consisted of 3 courses- one of fruit, yogurt and granola (homemade), one of some type of bread, and the main course. We had nice weather during our stay and quite enjoyed the walk to downtown, some have complained that it is too long of a walk, but we didn't find this to be the case, maybe because the weather was so enjoyable while we were there. The wine happy hour in the afternoon was a nice treat and allowed you to talk to other guests and get recommendations for where to go for dinner!

Our room was nice and had a flat screen TV. The bathroom was a little on the small side, which was fine for us during our stay, but if you need to have a large bathroom you may want to choose one of the larger rooms. I'm sure you could contact Nancy and she would help you pick the room best suited to your needs.

We enjoyed our stay at this wonderful bed and breakfast and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I found a really nice B&B the other day. The owners, Larry and Nancy were as nice as can be. Both were especially warm and friendly. The house and bedroom was spotless and most comfortable. Our breakfast was excellent. Nancy prepared an incredible banana / chocolate nut bread, Belgium Waffles, thick cut bacon, fruit, yogurt and homemade granola. Wow! Great coffee too.
Downtown Asheville is walk-able from the Inn but it isn't right around the corner. We walked it in about 20 minutes. Would we go back? Yes, most definitely!

Room Tip: Request the York Imperial room. That's where we stayed. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I wanted to go to Asheville and she found this place. It was so much fun, in and of it self, plus all the other things to do in the area. We enjoyed great food in the morning to get your day started and then a comfortable place to lay your head when your ready to sleep. Nancy and Larry are the best host you could as for. The food they made for us in the morning was delicious. We enjoyed our time with them, and all the other guests. I watched my Alabama- LSU football game on the flat screen TV in my room with Direct TV HD reception. What a fun place to stay. The fire places added a great touch of warmth to the main rooms. The house was so well maintained and clean. We enjoyed every minute and will do it again soon.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great. The up stairs room has the most room but all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our visit with Nancy and Larry at their outstanding B&B, Applewood Manor Inn, was a delight from the first moment entering their doorway to the wonderful "to go" breakfast prepared for us since we had to depart before breakfast was served. Our hosts made the weekend visit a wonderful experience; our room was lovely and comfortable (as was the rest of the Inn) and the breakfasts were outstanding. We will certainly return and feel that we have made life-long friends in Larry and Nancy. Our hosts say that their motto is "sit down, put your feet up and relax", and that is exactly how we felt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After having to cancel our weekend getaway to Ocracoke Island because of Hurricane Sandy, we were lucky enough to book the Macintosh Room at Applewood. As I write this review, my husband is drinking from the fabulous coffee mug we purchased on our last day there.

The Inn owners, Larry and Nancy are two of the best we have ever met (and we have stayed in a lot of B&Bs). Nancy greeted us Friday afternoon and gave us the tour of the house and all the amenities that the Inn offers. We were invited to an afternoon snack of cheese and crackers with wine, apple cider or "pop". We took part in that before heading out to downtown Asheville for the Friday night before Halloween festivities.

We had 3 breakfasts at Applewood and they were all different, delightful and delicious. Each one was 3-course: fruit, yogurt and lovely homemade granola, sweetbreads and cream cheese, and main dishes of quiche one day, french toast the next, following up with a special request by us for scrambled eggs and toast.

The Macintosh room was very nice with a gas fireplace, large, high bed (almost too high up off the ground, but there is a stop stool!) and and wonderfully huge bathroom with a marvelous "bubble tub". This tub is made for dual occupancy bubble baths!

Of course the room had a big TV mounted on the wall with hundreds of stations and the Inn has WIFI throughout the property -- they even have a lap top set up in the lobby for common use. They really do think of everything!

The Montford neighborhood where the Inn is located is great. Big, beautiful houses, each one a gem in its own way. There is a also an excellent place to eat nearby at the Nile Mile Restaurant on Montford.

Although the owners informed us that the Inn is walkable to downtown, we ended up driving everywhere because of our schedule of cool and fun things to do in and around Asheville. Next time we visit, we will definitely do more walking.

We highly recommend this B&B and intend to visit again next Fall unless we can get back to Asheville sooner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Cumberland Circle, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. Larry (a 6th-generation native of Asheville/Buncombe County) and Nancy's goal is to provide continuous comfort and establish and atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and T4B so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.