We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to have brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chorizo

Chorizo
1 Page Ave, Ste 139, Asheville, NC 28801-2393 (Downtown Asheville)
828-350-1332
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to have brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We happened upon the Chorizo by accident. We were looking for a quick bite while were at the Southern Highlands Craft Show at the Civic Center, and saw that the Chorizo offered outside dining with no wait.

Well, what a wonderful surprise. The three of us each had a different brunch, two omelets and one Mexican chicken fajita. All three were delicious. The person who had a salmon omelet said it was the best omelet she had ever had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    85
    31
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“From backup to starter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were headed to Early Girl, but with a 45 minuet wait, we checked off and went to Chorizo. What a great decision it turned out to be. The service was very attentive and friendly and the food was spectacular. After being disappointed that our first choice was too busy, the situation actually help lead us to a fantastic restaurant in Asheville.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Loved the food here- off the regular track of downtown restaurants so it was the only place we could get seating for 6 on a Sunday morning without waiting 1.5 hours. I would recommend the Grand Popos and the breakfast burrito, as well as the Marzipan Porky (almond pancake., chorizo, and an egg) - all we're very excellent.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Pleasant but mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We're were trying to decide where to take out-of-town family (a young couple) to dinner, and since they were staying downtown and we couldn't get reservations at the times we wanted at Cúrate or Limones or some other spots we really like, so we settled on Chorizo as a compromise, thinking it was a lively, moderately priced place.

We were somewhat disappointed, especially given good experiences at Chorizo in the past at lunch.

Chrorizo was pleasant enough, our guests enjoyed sitting outside, our server was very friendly (there was just one waitperson for the entire restaurant). Given the staffing level service was slow, but we weren't in a hurry so that's okay.

But the food wasn't exceptional. Or even much above average. Let me be candid and call it mediocre.

The fried calamari appetizer ($10) was generously sized but the squid was rubbery and tough. The chicken taquitas appetizer ($10) was also generous but nothing special.

The four entrees -- Pionono ($17), Arroz con Pollo ($17), Paella del Mar ($20) and the Salmon Fajita ($18) -- were all okay, but nobody raved about them.

I really just got the feeling I was in a tourist restaurant with overpriced food. Perhaps the owner, Mr. Diaz, is off taking care of the expansion of Salsa's, and that this place and his Modesto's next door are not getting full attention.

But, gee, with drinks (one beer, one glass of wine and a total of five cocktails among us), four entrees and two appetizers with tax and tip the bill came to about $200. At half that I would have thought the pricing was reasonable.

Bottom line: While our guests had a pleasant evening, and I guess that's what it's all about, my impression was that we were in an overpriced, mediocre restaurant run by remote control.

When there are so many wonderful restaurants in Asheville that are priced the same or only a little more, why go back here?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We walked in on a rainy Monday night with our 8 month old and they made us feel right at home! It's in a very central location but did stand out to us as a place for a great vibrant date or family dinner.

The food was awesome. The spanish "Azul" pizza (pears, gorgonzola, and pulled pork) was to die for and my husband declared his burrito as one of the best he's ever had - pretty good for a guy who eats burritos like 2x/week. The portions are generous - the two of us split a burrito and the "pizza" which was supposed to be a tapas/small plate and were full but not stuffed. Good selection of local beers and a very good mojito rounded out the meal.

They sat us to the side where we could be comfortable with the baby but were still very attentive to our needs (some servers ignore families or behave as if you're an inconvenience). They brought us a high chair and our daughter was happy as a clam playing with the little pumpkins on each table. The server even brought her a plastic cup of water to play with!

All in all, a great experience for our first trip to Asheville!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chorizo also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Chorizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chorizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.