We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801-3022   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a find...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

What a find and value. I was looking for a property within walking distance of downtown Asheville and was surprised at the prices being asked. Everything was approaching $200 per night. Any property around $100 and under involved driving 10 to 15 minutes. This property was the exception. It is a little older but very well renovated. The rooms are very nice and the bed is extremely comfortable. The staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful. The price even includes parking. I really enjoyed cooling off the the large pool area after a sweaty day of sightseeing.

This will be my go to property anytime I am in the Asheville area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sheasen,

Thank you so much for the great review and positive words regarding your recent stay with us. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to providing you with another simple and uncomplicated stay!

Thank you for choosing Four Points -- Asheville Downtown!

Steven Brown
Guest Services Manager
Four Points by Sheraton -- Asheville Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    176
    129
    59
    26
See reviews for
97
186
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location and an easy walk to the town of Asheville, the first we encountered at the desk was particularly helpful and ensured we got the lay of the land for a walking tour - the rest of the folks weren't so keen unfortunately. The rooms were a good size, clean and functional. If your eye sight isn't what it used to be you should take a torch with you in the lift to ensure you hit the right buttons or you could be spending your time riding between the lobby and the basement. Good value overall if you enjoy walking around the town

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Yendon,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely hope you had an enjoyable stay and would love to see you again in the near future.

Thank you for your business and for choosing Four Points -- Asheville Downtown!

Steven Brown
Guest Services Manager
Four Points by Sheraton -- Asheville Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is one of only a few right near the action. We were able to walk to the bars and restaurants each day of our visit, and easily stop back in during the day without going out of our way. The rooms are not the fanciest, but suited our needs. The bathroom could definitely use some work, but it was fine. The hotel has a pool which was nice, and the restaurant has pretty good food, plus on your first night they have a complimentary beer tasting. We also explored further from the center of town, and the access on and off the highway was very convenient. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy your time here and the downtown Asheville area. Please come and stay with us again the next time you're in the area!
Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here on June 29th for one night. We had a total of three rooms. Our group found everything quite satisfactory. The staff was helpful in every regard starting with getting all of our rooms together. The location is good in that it is an easy walk to the square where so much happens in Asheville yet is far enough away that you don't get the city noise at night. The hotel was completely booked but you never got the sense that you were being overrun with other guests. I am 6'4" and did not have a problem with the bed being too short so I don't understand the comment from the reviewer whose 5'2" wife had a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy your time here and the downtown Asheville area. Please come and stay with us again the next time you're in the area!

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked a stay at the Sheraton Four Points because it got a 3 Diamond rating from AAA and the rate was good. I should have realized that the hotel was poorly run when neither the elevators nor the halls were air conditioned. When I wanted to get ice for the room there were no sign as to where an ice machine was. I finally found one on the ground floor which required one to insert the room key, but no further instructions as to how to get the machine to give ice. I fortunately tried pushing the spout the ice comes out of and was able to get the ice. Now how hard is it for a hotel to put up signs as to where to get ice or to list the information in the room. My next experience related to my needing to make a toll free call. I called the front desk and the person on call said he did not know and I should consult the room card. I did find the information on the room card, but the phone provided in the room was a portable phone and the battery went out after a few minutes. I guess the adage "you get what you pay for" is true at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I sincerely regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. We will be renovating the HVAC system in the hallways and elevators this winter. Unfortunately we do not put operating instructions on every piece of equipment in our hotel. We do offer ice machines on the 2nd, 4th, and 5th floors for our guests convenience. Once again, thank you for staying at Four Points by Sheraton -- Asheville Downtown and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Four Points by Sheraton -- Asheville Downtown, 22 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Ended up staying at the Four Points Asheville hotel this month for two nights and I think that was two nights too long! Nothing went right since I checked in. First they tried putting me into a room with a musty smell, which is common as all the reviews state here. I obviously walked right out of that room and asked for another which was on a higher floor and had air conditioning problems. The thermostat on the wall didn't even work!! Was moved to another room since I couldn't sleep because the temperature of the room was so hot. Finally this room was ok and this floor was not even given to me as an available option when I checked in! I'm glad the staff was accommodating but Wow this hotel needs work. The constant traffic outside since the hotel is next to the highway can be a nuisance but not that bad at night if the air conditioning is on (if it works that is). Breakfast buffet was ehhh ok at 10.95... I've seen better. I'm glad I got this on Priceline because I would never pay the regular rate for this hotel when there are definitely better options around Asheville.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I sincerely regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. We are planning on renovating our rooms in January of 2014 per Starwood standard. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with an uncomplicated stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at Four Points by Sheraton -- Asheville Downtown and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Four Points by Sheraton -- Asheville Downtown, 22 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The location is good if you want to spend time in downtown Asheville. The pool is nice also. The bed was hard and lumpy and did not seem to be a normal length. Even my 5'2" wife had a hard time keeping her feet from sticking off the end. The sheet was too thin and the comforter too thick so you had to make the room really cold or really warm. The towels were small and scratchy. You could hear people in other rooms too easily and plumbing noises kept waking us up. The in room coffee was really disgusting and didn't even look like a normal coffee color. I would recommend somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. We do follow all Starwood standards on all items in the rooms but I have passed along your comments to the Executive Housekeeper and the Chief Engineer to investigate if any of your issues can be resolved.

Sincerely,
Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Address: 22 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801-3022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Asheville Hotel is located Downtown and offers the convenience of a great location while being nestled among the Blue Ridge Mountains. We have a committed, lively staff and put our guest's needs first! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown Hotel Asheville
4 Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Four Points Asheville Downtown
Best Western Asheville
Asheville Sheraton
Asheville Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.