We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, bad bed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801-3022   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, bad bed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The location is good if you want to spend time in downtown Asheville. The pool is nice also. The bed was hard and lumpy and did not seem to be a normal length. Even my 5'2" wife had a hard time keeping her feet from sticking off the end. The sheet was too thin and the comforter too thick so you had to make the room really cold or really warm. The towels were small and scratchy. You could hear people in other rooms too easily and plumbing noises kept waking us up. The in room coffee was really disgusting and didn't even look like a normal coffee color. I would recommend somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. We do follow all Starwood standards on all items in the rooms but I have passed along your comments to the Executive Housekeeper and the Chief Engineer to investigate if any of your issues can be resolved.

Sincerely,
Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    176
    129
    59
    26
See reviews for
97
186
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

There were so many differing reviews of this hotel; I was curious to experience it. Our room was modern and clean. Yes, the sheet did come untucked easily, and there wasn't a lot of maneuvering room near the toilet/tub, but it was all fine. The continental breakfast buffet ($6 when we were there) included bread, pastries, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, grits, cereal, and coffee, and was a real bargain. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. It was a nice walk to all of the downtown spots, and we walked everywhere. I found this to be an excellent place from which to tour Asheville downtown. (Ask about the birth year rate if you are staying more than one night.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Virginiatravel1,

Thank you so much for the great review! I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy your time here and the downtown Asheville area. Please come and stay with us again the next time you're in the area!

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our stay was just "ok". The rooms were quite musty smelling, like they had some sort of water damage at some point. The bathroom water didn't get warm very quickly; the shower was tricky -- it took quite a while for the water to get hot and then it got too HOT to handle. The work-out facility was very small. We had trouble with air conditioner making awful noises; convinced the front desk it was really an issue, and they sent someone up to work on, then we didn't have a cooled room for the full day after. The location of the hotel was very convenient - right in the heart of downtown Asheville. Bathroom was also very small, with no exhaust fan. So after a shower, you couldn't stand to be in the bathroom to get ready. Cost for our third night there (Friday night) got very expensive because there was a festival in town starting that day, which we weren't aware of when we made reservations. The festival was fun though, so ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear taycamsmom,

Thank you for the feedback. I apologize for the issues you had with your room. If you could please contact the hotel directly we would like to know which room you were in so that we can further investigate these issues. I hope you will allow us another chance at a better stay in the future.

Thank you for choosing Four Points -- Asheville Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswade
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed this past weekend during the Bele Chere festival. We found the staff to be very friendly, the breakfast buffet was top notch and the bed was more comfortable then the bed at the Grove Park Inn. It was about a 5 minute walk to all the restaurants and bars in downtown Asheville. We enjoyed our stay. And the place was very quiet, especially considering we were there for a music festival. We had one little issue in our room and they were quick to resolve the problem. Amble parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear mrswade,

Pleased to hear you had a great stay during Bele Chere weekend. I'm glad we were able to resolve the issue with your room. We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing Four Points -- Asheville Downtown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Asheville's Four Points Sheraton. The location is very good for walking around downtown. Our room was very nice - large and well-appointed, exceptionally comfortable bed and bedding, and very clean..Even had a small refrigerator in our room that we didn't expect. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi ghaynes57,

We definitely want you to stay again! Thanks for the great comments. We sincerely hope you had a great time here and appreciate your business.

Thank you for choosing Four Points -- Asheville Downtown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the convenient location of this hotel to the downtown area. The staff were very nice and helpful. The room was clean with very comfortable beds. It has an onsite restaurant and bar but it did not seem to have many customers while we were there. The front desk area could stand a little updating but lobby furnishings were nice. It is located very close to I-240 but the noise was not a problem at all for sleeping. Also it would be nice to have queen beds instead of full size beds in the double rooms. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Fayhil,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us! We appreciate the comments regarding location, staff and rooms. Thank you for your business and please come see us again the next time you're in the Asheville area!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my first time staying at a FourPoints. It will be my last time too. The room was just old and I felt dirty. This hotel reminds me of a Holiday Inn. The restaurant was just gross for breakfast. I left for a Starbucks in town. There is an awesome hotel across the street that is much nicer in scale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAsheville, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear CAgal_13,

I'm very sorry to hear that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback will be reviewed with the management team. It is my hope that you will allow us another opportunity to provide you with an honest, comfortable and uncomplicated stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Address: 22 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801-3022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Asheville Hotel is located Downtown and offers the convenience of a great location while being nestled among the Blue Ridge Mountains. We have a committed, lively staff and put our guest's needs first! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown Hotel Asheville
4 Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Four Points Asheville Downtown
Best Western Asheville
Asheville Sheraton
Asheville Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.