We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We don't get it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beaver Lake

Beaver Lake
Asheville, NC 28804, Asheville, NC 28804
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 83 attractions in Asheville
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Placida, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We don't get it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have been staying in Asheville for a couple months and discovered Beaver Dam Lake. We think it is a great place to take a nice (flat) walk through a pretty area. We try to go over there and walk at least once a week. Unfortunately, there's only one small (5-6 cars) parking area and if that's full, you're out of luck because all the other areas are private. You also cannot park in the area where the warden shack and canoes are. And there is no one there to rent you a canoe, so we are constantly perplexed as to how the permitting/boating thing would work. What is a shame is that there appear to be lots of owner boats there, but we have yet to see a boat on the lake. Maybe we just go at the "wrong" times, but the whole set up leaves us wondering how this wonderful area could be used better -- both by residents and visitors. Maybe it's this way to discourage visitors?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    7
    2
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are not a resident of lake view be ready pay $50/ dog just to walk them and make sure you have vet records and rabies verification on you at all times. I understand having a rabies tag but that is just unexpectedly ridiculous. I thought Asheville was a progressive city and in touch with animal rights. I would never pay any amount of money to walk my dog. I'm beginning to see the snobbish side of Asheville. Biltmore lake is another example of snobbish attitudes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A GREAT SPOT TO VISIT - RELAX - ENJOY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you looking for a place to go and relax - try Beaver Lake. Great walking trail and simple boating. If you have a dog license - Fido will love it. Great stiffs

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Enjoy the bike trail and watching the remote sailboats. Wish there was more available parking but guess that helps keep out the rif-raf.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

looks horrible and dirty. needs full time staff to clean up some of the mess.
also way over fished by the other locals

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Lake also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Beaver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaver Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beaver Lake to your Saves list