We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Table

Table
48 College St, Asheville, NC, Asheville, NC 28801-2818 (Downtown Asheville)
828-254-8980
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 626 restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Rankin St
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The restaurant is situated on College Street, a short walk from downtown hotels.

We started with the lamb carpaccio appetizer, then the wife had scallops while I had the beef rib. While the carpaccio was excellent, the entrees were tired and boring. We both felt that we had ordered off the senior citizens low salt menu. In addition, the portions are skimpy ($24 for 4 scallops), though considering what we thought of the food, this was not a real hardship.

We've read good reviews of this restaurant, so this may have been an off night, but in a city with as many restaurant choices as Asheville has, we'd try a number of other restaurants before we'd return here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    168
    57
    38
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

awesome food and our server was wonderful -- I highly recommend to people who like fresh, innovative cuisine!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place has the most amazing food... I ordered a steak and it was huge!! and delicious!. I felt like I was in a 5 star NY or LA or SF restaurant. Love it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Appetizers and Vino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stopped in for an early bite before continuing our shopping. This little taste of their offerings certainly made us want to come back for the full evening. Both our small plates and the wines we chose were excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stood Up!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i LOVE the Table, so much so that we planned our News Years celebration around eating there. we were going to stay in near by Hot Springs,NC so we knew that we wouldnt be able to enjoy a traditional evening but called a month early and were THRILLED to know they would be open for lunch. We made our lunch reservation and drooled at the thought of eating there. We live in Nashville and although a ton of great restaurants, we love the Table! Now comes the diappointing news. We traveled the 45 minutes to Ashville to find the restaurant closed! The owner was in there preparing for dinner and said "we decided to close for lunch". VERY DISAPPOINTING!!! Good thing they have such good food but you should have let us know. We may have made different plans altogether and come to Ashville on a later date..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesse r, Manager at Table, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We apologize for disappointing you on your trip to Asheville especially seeing you made a special trip just to see us! Please let us know the next time you are in town and we will take care of you.

Best regards,
Table
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.