We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pillow to lay your head on” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Cartersville, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A pillow to lay your head on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great location,room,bed,indoor pool. Bar and front desk were very help. Restaurants galore. Room 304 has frige , microwave clean and has large flat screen tv. (2) green beds. Room is in great shape. Not wornout. Easy parking. Directional sign to hotel are small and easily missed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank You for writing a review about us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the amenities at our hotel. Please recommend us to your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    112
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
60
110
26
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Things I loved:

1) The delicious hamburger in the small restaurant. Was expecting a frozen ho-hum something, but found a burger w/grill marks. The seasoned french fries were second to none.
2) Washer/dryer!
3) The microwave for lunch stuff and the frig for wine
4) breakfast - you can keep those free breakfasts where you sit around waiting for the toast to fall out and you have to put it back in and the scrambled eggs are like ball-bearings. I had eggs made to order w/bacon and an english muffin reasonably priced. I'd rather pay the $5 or so and get it brought to my table, thank you.
5) free wifi - have you noticed that high end hotels charge about $12 a day for wifi??

Room Tip: Higher is always better, no matter where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank You for recognizing us as a great place to eat. Our full service restaurant has some great dishes on the menu and our chef is one of the best. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience in our Chef's Corner Lounge/Grille. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte nc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is not even remotely close to "downtown." Its out on tunnel road, closer to the mall. But I like staying here because the beds are great and the showers are good. The parking is never a problem and it is quiet. Internet Wi-fi is free. The price is a bit high, but this is Asheville. Usually hotels are pretty full on weekends and I have not usually had problems getting a reservation here. Breakfast is average. Ice is cold. I have not used other services. The drive to downtown is about 7 minutes and finding parking is about another 15, depending on the day and time. It is on the bus line but I would not use the bus service here. There are always very unsavory people sleeping or sitting on the bus stop benches. There is a Starbucks across the street, and an Outback, a Cracker Barrel, and a Dairy Queen adjoining. I stay here almost every trip, and like it much better than the Haywood Inn or the Grove Park which I felt were basically rip offs. 4 stars, enough said.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. We are 1.5 miles from the heart of downtown and therefore makes us the closest Holiday Inn & Suites to downtown. There is another Holiday Inn on Tunnel road also and to differentiate both of the properties, the "Downtown" name was give to us by the franchise since we were closer to downtown. Please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location was a little different than what we had expected but we were very happy with the hotel overall. It is very clean and the staff are very nice and helpful! Wish there was a continental breakfast but the prices on the restaurant are really reasonable. Had a great stay! Our room was very large and quiet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I want to Thank You for taking a moment and writing a review about our hotel. It is always good to hear when a guest enjoys their stay at our hotel, makes us feel that we did our job right. Please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs when you visit beautiful Asheville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a change of plans and arrived in Asheville on Saturday at 11:30 am - tired and in need of a shower. There were very few vacancies and 1 hotel wouldn't let us check in until 3:00 pm.

We stopped in at the Holiday Inn and Lisa was wonderful. We explained how tired and dirty we were. She arranged for us to check in, go to the pool and then she went to see what rooms could be made available. After only an hour wait, our rooms were ready! she went out of her way to get us an early check-in. All the people at the hotel were so nice.

The room was quite nice, clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Thanks to Lisa, I will always stay at a Holiday Inn whenever possible.

Great customer service, makes repeat customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank You for writing a review about our hotel. We try to accommodate each and every guest and their needs. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, SC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wonderful staff who were very courteous. The room was clean and tidy. Interesting location that is very close to downtown Asheville. The only probem was with sleeping...haha. The bed I believe was made of poured concrete...so incredibly hard! We actually considered making the trip home versus staying the night due to the level of discomfort. Very interesting.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a more comfy bed when checking-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank You for taking time to write a review about us. We like to apologize to you if you found our beds too hard. It is interesting to hear about our beds being too hard. We have had couple of review that said that the beds are too soft. I know that it is preference which depends upon individuals, but please consider us for your lodging needs in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

On a trip from Maryland to Tennessee we decided to stop over in Asheville for a couple of nights with no reservations anywhere and wing it. We stopped at a couple and happened upon this Holiday Inn after trying to navigate the downtown area. I spoke with Kenneth at the front desk and he had several rooms left. Kenneth and the rest of the staff were awesome. He gave us a suite for two nights at an awesome price, which we assumed meant a terrible room. We were wrong. The room was awesome and very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank You for posting a review about our staff and hotel. We are committed to give the best customer service and after reading your review, I think we are achieving that. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn
Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Asheville
#25 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' LCD TVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor mineral pool and spa, a 24-hour gift shop and Hersh's Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.