We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but not actually Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not actually Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here on business using Priceline. Great rate (60), but not located in downtown Asheville as advertised. It is actually on the other side of the "tunnel" in a commercial district populated with Subway, grocery stores and restaurants. Requires either a long walk back through the tunnel or a car ride to get to the eclectic downtown area of Asheville.

This is a nice place, however, and the staff are a friendly lot. All the right upgrades to the rooms including WiFi which handles Netflix without problems (one of my key rating items). Covered parking is a nice touch, if you arrive early enough to get a spot, otherwise the outside parking appears o be safe. Plenty of restaurants close by, but I would recommend driving, not walking, to them in the evening because of the traffic.

Room had nice appointments, Flat Screen (not HD) TV, nice linens. Bathroom is a bit small, but very clean and fixtures were in good shape.

Good hotel for the Priceline price, but I would not pay the Holiday Inn rack rate, due to the location.

Room Tip: Location is away from the road, so all rooms should be fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. There are two Holiday Inns on Tunnel Road and we are closest to the Downtown (1.5 miles) and therefore given the name to differentiate both of the properties. Please keep us in mind on your next trip to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    138
    47
    21
    11
See reviews for
77
128
29
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I travel a great deal for business and have never been treated so rudely by a hotel staff in my life. Although the location of this hotel is convenient, it's not worth the frustration of dealing with shoddy internet, inconsistent air conditioning and a hotel staff that is both rude and inconsiderate.

After losing my second night's reservation and then stating the hotel was overbooked, I was told my only option was to leave all my belongings on a cart in the hopes that another room might be available. When this option was not acceptable I was told, "if you do not like it, checkout is at 11:00am." Requests to speak to the manager were met with "he's too busy.''

Traveling can be stressful and sometimes there are unexpected circumstances that can add to the frustration. Treating other people rudely, however, is never acceptable.

These days, travelers have many options when it comes to where they stay. In the future, I will stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. You had booked a reservation for one night only and if you decide to stay the second night and if the room type you were in is not available the second night hotel only have one choice, move you to a different room type which you refused. We tried our best to accommodate you and your needs but we feel that you did not give us a chance. We also have great and caring staff at our hotel and if you feel they were rude to you, I like to apologizes to you and hope that you will keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked this hotel because we booked at the last minute and nothing closer to downtown was available. However, this hotel is still quite close to downtown, and there is free parking.

The lady at reception was EXTREMELY nice and friendly, gave us a couple of tips for restaurants and bars, and gave the impression that she was genuinely happy to help us. The lady at checkout was equally friendly. On top of that, our room was upgraded to a suite with a whirlpool, so based on what we paid for what we got, it was great value. The room was very nice and clean, the temperature was good. The only complaint about the room was the very noisy air conditioning unit that would sometimes jump to life and make noise at random times during the night. It was a pretty minor complaint, and we could have slept on the sofa bed in the other room if it was really that bothersome.

The location is not quite downtown, but we were able to walk. It was about 1.4 miles to where the restaurants, bars are.. so if you really hate the idea of walking ~25 minutes (or hate the idea of walking for 5 minutes through a (well lit, well used) tunnel), you need to call a cab or drive. We found it to be a nice way to see part of the city leading up to the bar/resto area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I like to Thank You for posting a review about our hotel and excellent staff. All of our AC's have thermostats and therefore comes on according to the temperature set in the room by individuals. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will give us a second chance when you visit Asheville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while we visited the biltmore estate. We also did some exploring in downtown Asheville. This hotel is a great location for both. One exit away from being right in downtown Asheville. And only about 10-15 minutes from Biltmore. Right near the hotel is also a great selection of restaurants from red lobster to Cracker Barrel to Dairy Queen and more. My wife also managed to make her way to the Asheville mall which was nice and it was only about a 10 minute drive. As some of the other reviewers mentioned there are some "not so nice looking places" around the hotel, but that doesn't reflect on this place at all. The staff was friendly, the room and overall facility was nice and clean. Overall, a great stay for the price and for the activities we wanted to do! Thanks holiday inn!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We want to Thank You for posting a review about our hotel and are glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable. Please keep us in mind when you visit beautiful Asheville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and we were very pleased with their central location, great restaurant and bar, clean and spacious rooms and friendly staff. We highly recommend this hotel.
We were a little disappointed in the bathroom because it did not have a tub, just a shower. Parking under the hotel is most convenient on rainy days, but for some reason most travelers choose not to park there so we always found a space.

Room Tip: Our room was over the restaurant deck and was a little noisy. Also the bathroom did not have a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We want to Thank You for recent stay and writing a review about our hotel. The room you were in was a ADA room and therefore had a roll in shower instead of the bath tub. On your next visit, please let our staff know if you would like to have a bath tub. Again, we really appreciate your business, and hope to see you again on your next trip to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Front desk staff went out of their way to assist me with something that I needed their help with. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful.
Overall, exceptional people and exceptional service~
Joni

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank You for sharing your positive experience about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our staff was there to assist you in any way to make sure stay more enjoyable. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed one night only. We had a room each. Both rooms were very clean, spacious, comfortable and great value for money. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms quiet. We had a great nights sleep. The staff on the front desk were very friendly and the lady serving at the bar very helpful. This hotel has changed my opinion on Holiday Inns. I will use this chain again in the future because of my experience here. I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you giving us feedback on our employees too. Please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs when you visit Asheville, NC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.