We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to find but worth it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Tough to find but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is not downtown, but on the 'outside' of the tunnel on Tunnel Road. Most will access it from Interstate 240, and from there is can be a little tough to find. Access is from a traffic light on Tunnel, and there is only a small sign at the turn that is shared with the Cracker Barrel and Outback restaurants. It's one of those situations where you can easily see the hotel but not the access! That being said, this was one of the better HI hotels I've stayed with. The whole facility was in good shape, clean, and bright. There is a restaurant and lounge in the lobby, with an outdoor deck off the back. There is a small indoor/outdoor pool with very limited seating. Parking is shoe-horned into the terrain, with the most accessible being under the hotel itself with elevator access that requires a room key.
All the amenities in the room (HVHC, microwave, fridge, etc.) worked well, there is a good selection of TV channels, and housekeeping was excellent.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, you might want to inquire about one of the rooms with a small balcony. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for staying with us! As I'm sure you read in other reviews we are not allowed to have a sign near the road due to city laws. We do usually tell people to look for the outback sign and turn at that traffic signal. Hopefully your review will help future guest find our location. I hope that your future travels to Asheville bring you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    139
    47
    21
    11
See reviews for
77
130
29
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is not downtown! More like a mile from downtown, you will be driving. That, however, is the biggest knock against the place. The staff was courteous, the pool area small but indoor/outdoor, the hot tub was hot but for some reason did not have any air being infused in the jets. The room was a two bedroom King and a giant sized living room with a fold out couch, more than comfortable for my wife and 2 teenage girls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are about 1.5 miles from downtown and therefore were given the downtown name, since we are the closest Holiday Inn to downtown. Please come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last couple of years. The first time we booked directly and the second time we booked through Priceline. This last stay was for one evening on our road trip.

Staff: Only interacted with one member of the staff. He was courteous.

Room: The room was pretty standard for Holiday Inn. It was very clean. The walls are pretty thin. The guy next door was on a telephone call, and while he was talking relative loud, as someone drunk might, you could not only hear him, but you could hear what he was saying. As far as a view, I don't usually expect one, most of the time you aren't in the room just staring out the window...but if you DO prefer a view there are only two sides of the hotel that would be appealing. The other two either face an old motel that is rather unsightly and the other is the highway.

Location: The location is okay. You will likely miss the entrance to the hotel on your first pass as the entrance isn't clearly marked. But it offers easy access to downtown (although you can't walk it) and has a lot of restaurants in the area. If you want to make a quick evening stop as we did, the location is fine.

Restaurant: The breakfast was actually reasonably priced. We usually joke about how much breakfast costs on the in-room door card, but it was actually very reasonable (Full breakfast for two would have been about $20 after service charge). We didn't try it, though, as there is a Cracker Barrel next door (best bet for breakfast).

Pool: We didn't use it.

What I wish was different:

-Clear signage at the road - even though this was my second time here I still missed the entrance.
-Pet Friendly - It is difficult enough to find a pet friendly hotel, even with a fee, it would be a nice option to have.
-Not much can be done about it at this point, but the rooms are too loud.
-I wish staff would take the opportunity to offer upgrades (even with a charge) as I usually say yes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for not only staying with us again, but for reviewing our property and giving us a great idea. We are not allowed to have a sign on the road because of a city ordinance, we typically tell people to look for the outback sign as we share a common parking area. We try to make things as easy as possible for our guest and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for the honest and detailed review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel was clean and the views were quite pretty. Only a short drive into the downtown core of Asheville and to the Biltmore VIllage area. You do need a car to get around, but cabs are fairly cheap (though hard to find). The staff were really helpful and were quite knowledgeable about tourist options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank You for taking time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep us in mind on your next trip to Asheville, NC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed here a couple of years ago and thought it was very clean and a great price. The staff was friendly. The pool was clean also and we used it every night, there was a hot tub too which we used as well. There is an Outback steak house right next store which was convenient and the food was good. The location worked for us because we were there to go to the Biltmore which was about a mile andhalf away. Also the shopping village is right there as well near the Biltmore. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank You for writing a review about our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are our repeat guest and hope that you will keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

On a recent trip to Florida my husband and I stopped at a Holiday Inn every time we needed an overnight or longer stay along the way. What I love about this hotel chain is consistency! No matter the city we were greeted by courteous, helpful and pleasant employees from the clerk at check-in, to the waitress at the restaurant or continental breakfast, to the housekeeper we passed in the hallway. The rooms were always clean. Rugs and furniture in good condition. This was our second stay at this particular Holiday Inn. It was perfect for our needs. We could walk next door to have a very satisfactory meal at the Outback Steakhouse or drive less than a mile to find a local restaurant as there is a lot to pick from in Asheville. We plan to travel this way again in the future, and this is my first hotel choice, hands down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Wonderful!! We are so glad that not only did you enjoy your time with us on your last stay but that in the future you plan to stay with us again. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and Im happy to hear that our staff and hotel property lived up to your Holiday Inn brand expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte nc
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Firstly, this property is not Downtown. I knew this in advance as should anyone looking for accommodations that does their own searching. That being said:
hotel is relatively new, very clean and well maintained. It is 5 minutes from downtown by car.
Emily at the front desk checked us in quickly and efficiently. She gave us exactly what i had requested in a prior e mail. Excellent service.
I would definitely stay here on my next visit to Asheville

Room Tip: ask to face the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for review our property and I'm very glad to hear that your stay was everything that you wanted. As you stated and have read before we are the closeted Holiday Inn to downtown which is why it is in our name. Im also glad to hear that the next time you visit the area you will be our guest again. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.