We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Charleston, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great room, great city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Drove up to Asheville from Charleston during Thanksgiving holiday. Was impressed by this Holiday Inn. Even though I arrived late, the front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. Really liked the exercise room. Did not eat there, but I talked to a couple who had breakfast and they loved it. Had a fine view of the city and slept great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that we were able to meet your needs during your travels and provide you with a comfortable home away from home. I hope that you keep us in mind for any future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    125
    43
    15
    9
See reviews for
63
122
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Good impression right away because check-in was easy and the people at the front desk were friendly. The room was big and it was very clean. Had everything I needed, and the hotel is close to all the main routes and downtown. I wish there was a free breakfast in the morning, and the pool didn't really look inviting, but otherwise it was great.

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor overlooking the kind of run down hotel next door. It wasn't rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank You so much for writing a review about our hotel. We are glad that your stay was great and hope that you will keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very nice rooms, secure parking, I loved the hotel and will come back again.
Very easy to get downtown,Plus lots of dining options within walking distance!
New Hotel, so it was very clean!
Comfortable bed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First off the staff here were second to none when it came to be friendly, warm, and extremely caring when it came to making sure your stay is exactly what you want. The price was right gave me a room with a whirlpool asked for 2 tv's - Bingo got the 2 TV's Very clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Be a part of the best hotel Loyalty Program. Join the Priority Club and Nature will take its course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I will be sure to share your words with the staff! We appreciate your time and look forward a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The staff was most accommodating and the room was clean, but the bed was horrible. I mean it was hard like the floor. I was wishing for a sofa to get some sleep, but alas our room was not equipped. I see from the other reviews that the beds are a Holiday Inn 'special' brand. Too bad; maybe they can use a memory foam mattress topper or something.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I would like to Thank You for giving us opportunity for your lodging needs. Our mattresses are IHG (Franchise) standard and therefore cannot be changed. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will continue to stay with Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanantonio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I happy with my stay here.. Staff was friedly & quick! Rooms are very big clean and this hotel is in a good location!! I had a nice view on the sixth floor!! lots of places in the area to menjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: Stay on 6 floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always strive to exceed your expectations. We hope you can stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This appeared to be a nice hotel but once we arrived I was VERY disappointed! First of all, we were given room #107, which is right besides the hotel bar and exit door. Once we figured out the room was right next door to "all the action" I went back to the front desk and asked for a different room--given we have 2 small children. The front desk told me that's all we have take it or leave it--they've had NO complaints on that room and the bar closes at 11PM. Well, to our dismay, they bar closed at 2AM with the music played loudly, people laughed & talked loudly, bar stools were pushed in/out all night. All of us finally went to sleep at 2:30AM. The beds are terrible--hard as plywood! We complained the next morning to the person on duty and she kept going back and forth to us and the manager. The manager never did come out and speak to us. They told us since we stayed there we had to pay! I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay here! If you do, make sure you ask to NOT get room #107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites. We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your time with us. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We do apologize for the noise issue you experienced. Due to the fact that we were sold out, we could not move you to a different room. We hope that you will give Holiday Inn another chance for your future lodging needs.
Sincerely,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Asheville
#26 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' LCD TVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor mineral pool and spa, a 24-hour gift shop and Hersh's Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.