We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great hotel to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great hotel to stay and come back. Everyhting was clean and looks like new hotel. Rooms were great and roomy. Will be looking to come back when we visit Asheville area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    133
    47
    19
    10
See reviews for
72
124
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This 3 year old hotel provided the best "hotel" experience I have had in a very long time. A dear friend and I were having a reunion after 2 years. We are both over 60. The hotel was very close to I-240, and easy to access. Parking was not a problem and a garage was also available. Staff was energetic, and always ready to please, from the front desk to the bar and restaurant. Staff was always very friendly and helpful. My friend and I plan to return to Asheville next year and will stay at this hotel again! I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

We had a fantastic experience here. Jon at the front desk was beyond great,the rooms were clean,staff was friendly&fun. We will stay again for sure! Near downtwon, easy walk from hotel to downtown bars&restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The rooms are good size and clean. Nothing fancy, just average. The hotel is near downtown but not in downtown. It is about 2 miles by car. Biltmore is also about 2 miles. Parking is free. Lots of fast food restaurants in the area. If you are in a budget this hotel may be good for you. If you want to be close to restaurants, cafes & unique shops you are better off spending some extra money and staying in downtown.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a hotel room with great views this is not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wardensville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We parked our RV within eyesight of the front door, on the hotel property, and overnight it was broken into. The door frame bent from a pry bar and the window broken out. Inside was ransacked and thousands of dollars in items were gone. The only assistance offered was to send housekeeping out to clean up the broken glass on their sidewalk. We were delayed with police officer and had not had breakfast and couldn't go anywhere. We paid for our own breakfast. Due to the delay, we were not able to make our trip home and were forced to spend another hotel night in the Asheville area. We stayed elsewhere at our expense. They had no security cameras in front of the hotel, none. A comp breakfast, comp the room, offer a second night at a reduced rate, how about a cup of coffee while we waited for the police department, something would have been nice. Customer service needs work.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Our hotel has signs all over the parking lot which clearly say that we as a hotel are not responsible for any items that are left in your vehicle. Not only our hotel, every business which has overnight parking or any kind of parking has those signs. Our hotel did everything possible to help the guest but we do not know what else we could have done since the guest never said anything after reporting the theft to the Asheville Police Department. As far as complementary coffee is concern, we have it avaliable for everyone that comes in the hotel and not just guest who are staying at the hotel. What happened to this guest is unfortunate, but there was nothing more hotel could have done. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I thought I was staying downtown and it is "close" to downtown but too far to walk. It's convenient to the interstate and a grocery store if that's important to you. Neighborhood is filled with chain restaurants and cheap hotels. Asheville is a great city to visit, but there are better places to stay if you want to experience Asheville.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Okay, here are the cons:
As some of the other reviewers have said, the surrounding area is a little... sad looking- especially if you have a window on a low floor facing the Tunnel Rd. apartments (though I can't imagine those poor apartment tenants enjoy having a glowing hotel shining through their back windows either).
And also as previously stated- this hotel is not at all downtown or within a realistic/safe walking distance. Easy and quick to navigate there in a car though.
Also, the hotel itself is a bit hard to get to, even once you have it in your sights; you'll just need to be on the look out for the little green Holiday Inn signs at each turn.


Having gotten that out of the way, here are the pros:
The customer service staff (and bartender) were wonderful and better than that which we had previously experienced at The Hilton and even Grove Park Inn. They provided recommendations and always seemed to be concerned with our overall happiness.
Secondly, the hotel bar is great. Do yourself a favor and try one of the many local beers they have on tap instead of Budlight- they're way better and the delightful bar tender will thank you for your good choice.
There is a small parking garage and there were always open spaces for us to park in. In case you're worried about the security of the area, this is nice for your peace of mind. Also, there is a card-entry elevator inside the garage for added convenience.
The room was very clean, cool, and modern- exceeded my expectations. Alternate pillow choices are available if you don't like the hand you're dealt.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the mountains or on a floor above 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.