We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best vacations ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds
Save
You added Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds to your Saves list
39 Stockwood Road Ext., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best vacations ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I recently spent a week at the Cabins of Willow Winds. We loved everything about the place. Our cabin was very clean and we appreciated the wifi, hot tub, hammock, etc. Many times when you book a trip online, the accommodations do not look as good when you get there or they will say that the website needs to be updated and blah, blah blah hasn't worked in years. This facility had everything. We fished in the pond, walked the community but will have to make time for table tennis and horse shoes for next time. It was a relief not having to bring sheets, towels, bathroom tissue, etc. Our cabin was completely stocked even down to aluminum foil. We also appreciated being able to wash our clothes before returning home.

What made the experience most memorable were the ladies in the office. They were so friendly and helpful. I was in the process of applying for a writing fellowship and discovered in the eleventh hour that I would not be able to submit my application and samples online. I didn't know what I was going to do as I didn't have a way to print and mail out the materials without missing the deadline. Mary Darby was so helpful - she let me print in the office and even helped me trouble shoot with one of my email attachments. I cannot say enough. She was helpful and friendly and informative. She never let anything ruffle her feathers which was an energy that we found contagious (appreciated under the circumstances.) We plan on returning to Willow Winds in the next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your taking time to share your experience here at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds! Exceeding guests expectations and going the extra mile is something all the staff and crew love to do here. We look forward to seeing you again next year, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    37
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
186
234
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Thanks so much for a perfect vacation! This was our second trip to asheville and the location was excellent. We will stay here again for our next trip to the area. having a full kitchen and washer and dryer was an absolute treasure! We were able to go home with clean clothes and not spend time catching up on laundry! The pictures on the sight don't lie, This place is beautiful and family friendly. We enjoyed staying on the property and not having to venture out to entertain our kids. There is a playground and water balloon station that entertained them all day. We will recommend to anyone going this way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are so glad that you "loved every minute" of your vacation and that your children enjoyed just staying on the property and playing with the water balloon station and the other kid friendly activities. I am glad you will stay with us your next visit to Asheville, and hope it won't be too long.

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our vacation resort.

Sandy McLeod,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was as easy and worry free vacation rental I have ever had. No renter-hating contract that makes you nervous to walk in the door. Everything is available from DVD library to water balloons. Non intrusive but available staff. Beautiful grounds. We were with 6 families and all of the houses were positioned to have privacy. Most of the decks are covered with fans and lights. Mikes Place was not--which meant we could no enjoy the view in the rain. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind comments. I'm glad your adventure/vacation with us was "an easy and worry free vacation rental". That is exactly our goal.....to make everyone's vacation as worry free and enjoyable as possible.

We hope you will come back to visit us again soon!!! Thanks again for your comments.

Sandy McLeod, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great location! Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway and close to the Great Smoky Mountains. We stayed here two nights in June and wished we had more time! The cabins are great, clean and well maintained. The grounds were great for couples or families. My kids loved the giant chess game and the movie library. I would definitely recommend this spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in Donna's Diamond cabin and loved the location, real quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your comments on your stay at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds!! We are glad you "loved this spot" and hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Thanks again, and hope to see you soon.

Sandy McLeod, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in Jackie's Gem. The property is very quiet, and it is convenient for a family or group to have kitchen facilities. Some of the bedrooms are quite small (made more so by the large furniture). The hot tub was a treat to have, and the fitness room was convenient. The staff was very helpful providing maps and answering our many questions. Our one complaint is that the buildings were not maintained as well as they could have been. The rugs were threadbare in areas, there were luggage scuffs on the walls and the dishes were chipped. These were small things that did not ruin our vacation by any means, but with so much staff driving around tenting to the lovely plantings it would seem that someone could care for the insides of the cabins too.

Room Tip: The bedrooms in the round cabins may be a bit smaller. Ask about the sq ft of rooms when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I appreciate your bringing to my attention the issues with the cabin and will talk with our cleaning crew first thing tomorrow.

Again, thanks for your comments and I hope you will come back for a visit again soon.

Sincerely,

Sandy McLeod, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed a week in Chris's Cabin, a rustic log structure of unknown vintage. If cattywampus walls and a steel cable holding everything up don't bother you, you will enjoy your stay in Chris's Cabin.

The deck overlooks the pond, and we spent a good deal of time out there reading or just enjoying the surroundings, even when it was raining very hard. If you choose to use the exercise room, it is a very short walk, shorter than the locker room to the weight room at our gym back home.

Our only criticism, and a minor one at that, is that the cabin is cooled by a window style air conditioner at one end of the cabin while the bedroom is at the other end. We had the a/c on maybe three days out of seven. It was toward the end of our visit we finally noticed the small fan tucked away in the bottom of the closet.

For our purposes, exploring Asheville, the location was perfect. It is hard to believe a place so off the beaten track is still so close to everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us in Chris' Cabin... I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and agree that sitting on the porch overlooking the pond is a wonderful way to spend some great relaxing time. We hope you will come back to visit us again soon.

Sandy McLeod, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We loved Jen's Jewel! What a marvelous cabin, what a marvelous place! We spent three nights here in late May, and wish we could have stayed longer! At Asheville Cabins, you are in the woods, secluded from all of the other cabins on the property, and the rest of the world, but out of the gate and down the hill; you are literally within the the city limits of Asheville! It is less than 5 minutes from the Biltmore, and just a wee bit longer to downtown, but, you will not want to leave the property any more than necessary. The cabin is well appointed and outfitted with anything you might need, or think you might need - from a private hot tub, to dryer sheets! We had a wee problem with the air conditioning after hours one evening, but Mike, of the maintenance department, was right on top of things, and within an hour everything was fixed and fully operational - so we can vouch for that department too. Enjoy your stay at Willow Winds - you'll be back - I know for sure that we will!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. It really makes me happy to read that we are "one of the best places we've every stayed". I'm glad that you enjoyed Asheville and Willow Winds and hope you will come back to see us again.

Thanks you again for your comments.

Sandy McLeod, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds

Address: 39 Stockwood Road Ext., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds is a luxury vacation resort with cabins and cottages in a secluded woodland garden setting in the city of Asheville just 3 & 1/2 miles from the Biltmore Estate. All of our cabins and cottages are completely equipped and beautifully furnished with designer touches. Private hot tubs, spacious decks, gourmet kitchens, and wood burning fireplaces at each of our one, two, or three bedroom cabins. Savor the peace and serenity while enjoying hiking trails, trout pond, recreation areas, exercise room, free movies and WI-FI, gardens, fountains and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asheville Cabins Of Willow Winds Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.