We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabin & property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds
Save
You added Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds to your Saves list
39 Stockwood Road Ext., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cabin & property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Ruby's Dogwood at Willow Winds. The cabin was spacious, well decorated, and very clean. They provided a delightful welcome basket, dvds for rent, and soft robes for use during our stay. The property is filled with trees and pretty water features. It's close to Biltmore and downtown Asheville, yet far enough away to feel rural and private. Willow winds is also adjacent to the Mountains to the Sea Trail.
At check in the staff was friendly and very helpful with maps and suggestions for local restaurants. There was a small glitch with the hot tub, but maintenance knew just what to do once contacted. Pat (who claimed to be part owner, but is apparently not per other reviews) was not as polite at checkout, but the "powers that be" (her wording) made things right.
Overall, glad we chose Willow Winds and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    36
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
172
221
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visited and stayed in Cora's Pine cabin during December 2012 during our trip to Biltmore Estates. The cabin is very nice and the staff was attentive in ensuring we had plenty of wood for the fire, and very friendly overall. I would recommend these cabins to anyone. My only comment is that it was clear that the cabin had some wear from a season of reservations and I suspect that some new paint in the spring will brighten it back up. I don't want to sound like it was dirty, because it was not, it was just a bit scuffed from all of the previous occupants. But it is a cabin in the woods a stones-throw from Biltmore and we loved our stay here. Near Christmas, some snow on the ground, the fire roaring, and we were very comfortable. Two couples shared the cabin and we had a great time overall.

Room Tip: Ask in advance about what view you get from each cabin, or make sure you check their website to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I love this place so much, my whole family is coming this year and we will be living at Willow Lane in bliss!!! Triple decker luxury loghomes with hot bubbly jacuzzis overlooking hammocks hung throughout the enchanted forest. Pinch me. Breakfast at the nearby Corner Kitchen, lunch at 12 Bones, a stroll through Jonas Gerards art studio to be saturated with vibrant colors then off to Tupelo Honeys for jam and buttermilk biscuits. Maybe we'll rest in Pritchard Park and let the local music tune our heart and souls.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and we were very pleased. Our Cabin was Ruby's Dogwood.It was really beautiful and our jaws dropped when we walked in the door. We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub in the evenings and relaxing to the sounds of the stream nearby. The cabin was spotlessly clean and well equipped for our stay. The ladies in the office were very helpful as well. I would recommend this place to anyone hands down!! We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Cabins with a view of the creek and waterfalls are a plus!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us! We are so glad that our resort met your expectations and that you enjoyed spending your honeymoon with us. We hope you will come back often ..... at least on your anniversary!! Thanks again for the review.

Sandy McLeod, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Willow Winds in Chris's Cabin. We expected it to be rustic and it was. However, the whole cabin leans so much that cables and logs are used to hold it up and the floor slants noticeably. Still, it was homey. There was a welcome basket and it was clean and well appointed. The grounds were great and up until the last day, we were happy and planning to come back, since we have family in the area. On our last day, we came back to relax at the cabin, took a hike and fished at the pond. We noticed the water was out and went to the office to see if we could buy bottled water. We were given water out of the cooler and told the water was back on. It wasn't. Workers were running around trying to get the water in our cabin fixed. It was fixed elsewhere, but there was some clog in the pipes at Chris' cabin. We were patient, but as it was almost 6:00 p.m., we became worried that the water wouldn't be fixed and the office staff would be gone.

We went to the office and asked what would be done in the event water wasn't turned on for the night. The owner told us that we could use hot tub water to flush the toilet and take bottled water from the office. We really wanted hot showers after a full day of activity, so we said this wouldn't work for us. Pat, the owner, said another cabin wasn't available. When we said we would probably check out and find another place in town, a cabin suddenly became available, but it wasn't offered to us. With a bit of negotiation, we were allowed to take a shower there, but were told to take our own towels. Pat demonstrated an air of inconvenience with this solution as she said she would have to go up to the other cabin and clean the shower. Of course, we were inconvenienced by not having water most of the day and having to take our clothes and towels to another cabin to shower. The next morning, she loudly asked in front of several people if we "were able to clean up okay". That was embarrassing! Obviously, we could have at least been offered the option to move for the night to the available cabin, but Pat didn't want to have to clean another cabin. Stay here if you want, but I wouldn't recommend Chris's cabin and I wouldn't expect Pat to help you out too much in an emergency.

Room Tip: Spa was cloudy in Chris's cabin and it was old and leaning. Choose one of the newer cabins. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review regarding you stay with us at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds. We welcome ALL reviews, both positive or negative, and have been very pleased to receive very few reviews that are negative.

With regard to the slanting of the floor and the cabin leaning, when we purchased the property in 1995, the cabin was on the property. It is a rustic cabin that is probably close to 80 or 90 years old and to my knowledge has not moved an inch since we purchased it. Our web page shows pictures of the cabin and we in no way are trying to advertise something that it is not.

We are extremely sorry that there was a water problem during your stay. We try very hard to make everyone’s vacation perfect....but sometimes problems arise, and it is our goal to fix these problems as soon as possible. My staff stayed on the property until all water problems were resolved and although it was off for several hours, all water to every cabin was back on by 7 p.m.

Pat is NOT the owner of Willow Winds. I am the owner and I was out of town during your stay. I have, however, spoken with Pat, John Michael and others on the staff to determine what happened. Pat stated that she did suggest that you use the hot tub water to flush the toilet and thought that this was the right suggestion, because it was better than not being able to use the toilet at all. She also stated that she first told you nothing else was available, but immediately checked the computer and said there was a available cabin. Pat has worked as the manager of Willow Winds since its existence, in1997 and the ONLY feedback I get from guests is how great she and the entire staff is. I know Pat very well and if she said to you “were you able to clean up ok”....she was totally joking and trying to make you feel comfortable. She was certainly NOT trying to embarrass you. That is not her nature. Pat is a wonderful caring compassionate individual who has worked tirelessly for us for years. It is her goal to make all guests feel special and comfortable and she far exceeds this goal.

Your comment stating that “you wouldn’t expect Pat to help you out” is very surprising to me. She would give you the shirt off her back and would help anyone in any way that she could.

Sandy McLeod, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The staff goes out of their way to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as possible. The cabin visitor log was a great touch. I doubt I will consider staying anywhere else on my next visit to Asheville!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Just a note to thank you for your kind comments regarding Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, and our staff. I can truly say we have the best staff in the world and they try to make everyone's vacation as special as possible.

Hope you will come back to see us again soon.

Sandy McLeod, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Dads Digs at Willow Winds and it far exceeded our expectations. The cabin was very clean and well stocked, had fantastic views of the pond, gardens and woods, and the staff were very helpful and hospitable. The two bedrooms were comfortable, the fireplace well-stocked with wood, and lots of updated free videos to choose from in the Office and free wi-fi internet. We enjoyed the private hot tub, blazing fires in the fireplace, steaks cooked on the electric outdoor grill, and relaxing evenings in the hot tub daily. It was a quick ride to the Biltmore, which was amazing, and downtown Asheville is close and a lovely walkable city. There was a nice walking trail accessible right from the cabin. It was a lovely, relaxing getaway. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Dad's Digs - fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds

Address: 39 Stockwood Road Ext., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asheville Cabin of Willow Winds is a luxury vacation rental resort located just 5 minutes from the Biltmore Estate. We are located in the City limits of Asheville, on 39 secluded acres of woodland gardens. Our Property adjoins the Blue Ridge and the Mountains to the Sea Trail. Each of our 1, 2, or 3 bedroom cabins is completely furnished with designer touches. Each Cabin also has a wood burning fireplace, and your own private hot tub. Our guests will not be disappointed. We have everything you need to enjoy a wonderful vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asheville Cabins Of Willow Winds Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.