We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Ambiance for Adult Travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Anne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Anne Hotel to your Saves list
Princess Anne Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   301 East Chestnut Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LAST MINUTE DEAL!!!
Ranked #15 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy Ambiance for Adult Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Our family of three stayed at the Princess Anne the night before the opening of the Craft Fair of the Southern Highlands. This small boutique hotel has lots of character, stemming from its 1924 origins. The public areas have comfortable, upholstered chairs and sofas with plenty of nearby tables to place your personal belongings. Our room was a 3-room suite, with a comfortable master bedroom, room with sofa bed and TV, and a living room/eat-in area with a fully furnished kitchen. Had we stayed more than one night, we would have availed ourselves of the kitchen to save on meal costs.
Included in the room rate were an evening wine and hors d'oeuvres spread and breakfast the following morning. Both added to the value of the room. The wine selection had some interesting red and white choices - I settled on a cabernet from Argentina. The nibbles included some excellent cheeses (brie, aged white cheddar), homemade brushetta, assorted tortellini, Greek olives, fresh melon and strawberries, and cherry tomatoes with fresh mozzarella marinated in balsamic vinaigrette. Breakfast consisted of 3 choices - a spinach/tomato/havarti omelette, a bacon and sausage omelette, and a granola/yogurt/fruit choice.
This property caters to adults/couples, many of whom would be seasoned travelers looking for more than the bland hotel experience. The ambiance, food choices, and room set-ups all cater to that clientele. That said, our 23-year old daughter enjoyed it, but she is an adult with adult tastes.
Best features: Small hotel charm, friendly/attentive staff, excellent food.
Possible drawbacks: Creaky floors (we stayed on floor 3 of 3, so this was not a problem for us), residential location leaving little room for 4 & 5-star amenities, not kid-friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    57
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
267
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
savannah, ga
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

My husband and I happened to get a room for an overnight at the Princess Anne. We loved it. It is charming with a feel of old world hospitality. The breakfast is plentiful and beautifully presented, the afternoon wine and cheese offering were so welcoming. The staff including Howard the owner were available and accomadating!!! The room was spacious, beautifully appointed with a European Flair. The bed linens were of beautiful quality and the bed was super comfortable. Next time we will definitely stay longer. Asheville is a great weekend destination with lots to do and see. A great find. We will return!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
All of us here at the Princess Anne Hotel are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate you sharing your kind words. We too hope you will stay with us again in the future, and experience more of all the wonderful attractions that Asheville has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoa, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Have stayed at Grove Park, Biltmore Inn, and many other places in Asheville; this is the best.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thank you for your kind words! Asheville has many nice places to stay, but we are happy you like us the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We considered many locations before choosing the Princess Anne and we did not make the wrong choice. Truly the best part of our visit was interacting with the staff. We stayed in a deluxe suite (room 202) and it was delightful. It was like having our own little apartment that was only a short drive to downtown. The handmade chocolate truffles that were left in the room were awesome! The b&b was close to Biltmore and the Blue Ridge Parkway. This place is highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Princess Anne in Asheville NC and we can't say enough good things about our stay. From the super friendly staff to the beutiful rooms every detail is taken care of. When we arrived there was a hand written note with a bottle of champane waiting for us in our room. Then as we explored the wonderfully restored room we found choclate truffles just for us. The bed was wonderful, the marble floor was perfect the stay couldn't have been better. Asheville must be very proud to have a jewel of a Hotel like the Princess Anne. The best representation a city could have. Also don't forget to ask the staff about the ghost stories. JUST PERFECT! We will definately be back here again and if your smart you will stay with these fine folks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
We so appreciate your kind words about the Princess Anne! I'm glad you chose to treat yourself to the Grande Suite with marble floors in the kitchen and bath, not to mention the clawfoot tub! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It really was our pleasure to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My husband and I wanted to stay at an independently owned place for our visit to Asheville. Princess Anne appealed to us because it is more affordable than many B&Bs and not as "frilly." Slightly creaky floors and exposed pipes (painted to help blend) are part of the charm. So is the old-fashioned elevator with its metal gate inside door and non-automatic outer door. The breakfast was good, just not fantastic. The afternoon wine reception helped encourage interaction with other guests. Even though it was in the upper 80s/low 90s, the hotel is on a tree-lined residential street, so it didn't feel too hot - we sat on the comfy side porch in the afternoon and evening just relaxing. What really helped make our stay great was the staff. They made recommendations for scenic drives (to/on the Blue Ridge Parkway) as well as for dinner and things to do in/around Asheville - including where to park and a way to walk that was pretty & avoided the interstate off/on ramp. Little things helped make us feel that at the Princess Anne we really were guests - notwithstanding paying. : )

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
It's great to hear that our knowledgeable staff helped to make your vacation a better one. We all have years of experience as concierges and are actively involved in the community here in Asheville. Our recommendations come from first hand experiences and we're so glad we helped you to have a great stay! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed here for four days in a one bedroom deluxe suite - it offered plenty of room for two of us to throw our stuff around, be able to stretch out, and not step on each others toes. Our goal was to hike and spend the remainder of the time downtown exploring the many brew pubs. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of downtown (appx. 1 mile) but we were lazy and drove. The room was clean, the staff extremely helpful and friendly, the breakfast quite delicious and substantial enough to sustain us through the early afternoon. We loved our stay here and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you for the great review. The One Bedroom Deluxe Suite is our standard room, and with its separate bedroom and living room, we think it's perfectly suited to couples. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Address: 301 East Chestnut Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophistication and grace describe this gem of a historic hotel. The lovingly restored Princess Anne is characterized by its classic 1920s appeal with modern luxuries and conveniences. Listed on the National Register of Historic places, the Princess Anne boasts a unique history in Asheville. Each two-room suite is individually designed to make you feel comfortable and relaxed, with amenities including LCD TV, high-speed Internet access, micro-kitchen, and a private bedroom. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Call for availability! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Anne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.