We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
charlotte
1 review
“Rude!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

My sister and I stopped to check out the availability having stayed here before. The girls at the front desk were very rude and had the nerve to stand there laughing in a little cluster. Not sure what they were laughing at and that really wasn't the point. Needles to say we were very turned off by there behavior and left. For the cost of the room $119.00 and $10.00 each for breakfast it really it is not all that nice anyway. Won't bother to go back either.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    230
    184
    95
    58
See reviews for
153
243
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
charleston
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We came here thinking this was going to be a resort- It is no resort! The golf course is a Dog and there are huge power lines running overhead right over the front entrance...also the place looks like a construction site, and the location is terrible - surrounded by interstates and nothing within walking distance. Also incredibly convoluted directions getting here...(Literally had to drive through a shopping center parking lot, following signs back onto another interstate, and finally into the Crown Plaza entrance)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

we got a great price on priceline.com a day before coming to asheville and we heard people even got it for cheaper. it was a gorgeous room- giant bed- you had to use your room key to get ice- first time i saw that. ask for a room not on the first floor because every room gets a balcony and ours just went out into a parking out/gold course road. but it was nice to sit out and have drinks when the sun was going down- even if we had to steal chairs from next door to seat us all.
comfy squishy beds. great staff! they were young and friendly like us and gave great reccs. there was also a shuttle for cheap to take you downtown and back so we could have drinks and not worry about driving home.
kinda a weird location. we got lost. its next to a cowboy store and then down a long windy road.
huge golg courses- would recc. for golfers.
lots of brochures in the lobby, pretty modern and manager on staff making sure we were happy.
if going to biltmore i would recc another place because that was a longer trip to it than expected.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

I was leary of our trip after I read all the reviews on this site. However, my husband and I were pleasantly suprised.

Good service from the front desk; didn't have to wait too long to check in. We had breakfast each morning and the buffet was decent with a chef to make made-to-order omelets, eggs and waffles. We didn't order room service, so can't speak to that.

Our room was clean and more spacious than expected. Comfortable bed, small bathroom and everything seems to have been updated. TV was grainy, but we didn't come to Asheville to watch TV. Swam in the pool; it was nice.

Apparently all construction has been completed because there was no noise, trucks or mud. The entrance is a little hard to find, but if you follow the directions on the Crowne Plaza website, it is no problem. 5 minutes to downtown; 15 to the Biltmore Estate.

Overall a decent hotel for the money. Would recommend for budget-concious travelers.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. I agree with other reviewers that it's more than a little tricky to find, but the winding road certainly had no potholes when we were there. Loved the spacious and attractive room with the small refrigerator. Bed was fantastic. Grounds were beautiful. Golf with cart was only $20. Pool was beautiful. Restaurant was a little pricey, but excellent. Don't understand the the reviews complaining about smoke, as it was non smoking when we were there. Balcony was nice, and had a great view of the entire resort. Wi fi was non working in our room, so don't bring your computer, but who needs it at this place? Can't give high marks to service because my complaints about wi fi were practically ignored, even so I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

As I was planning my trip I could tell that finding the place would be a challenge. Even after staying there I still don't know where the main entrance road is, the only access I could find was a one way winding pot-hole filled lane. I had to back up once to let other traffic through. The overall appearance is quite shabby. I have never experienced such a gap between the pictures on the internet versus the appearance in person. I suppose the hotel served its purpose. We had no major cleanliness issues. But the whole complex was sprawlng and the parking rather inconvenient in relation to the entrances. No free breakfast. If I'm ever in Asheville again I will definitely look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

Plus side..room was clean and we found very acceptable
Staff was very social & helpful
A good location for our travel plans
Shuttle service to downtown
Very good fitness equipment and area
Very good clay tennis courts
Negative Side..pets are allowed..couple nights listen to barking a dog apparently left alone in a room
Room walls could transmit less sound
An afternoon at the pool, listen to a barking dog in a kennel left on a balconey for several hours
Fees associated with outside tennis courts

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Address: 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.