We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends from Aberdeen Scotland - most enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 15%
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friends from Aberdeen Scotland - most enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

stayed here in Sept 2012 for four nights - we have stayed in Homewood Suites before and find them very good, clean, comfortable, friendly staff. This hotel has a shuttle service so we used this every night to go to a restaurant - meant my husband who was our driver was able to have some wine with dinner too. We enjoyed a glass of wine compliments of the hotel before we went out - Hotel dinner too early for us. We thoroughly enjoyed the walking food tour of Asheville - only 12 people so has to be booked in advance. We spent a day driving from Asheville south on the Blue Ridge Parkway to Cherokee then across the Smoky Mountains to Gatlinburg and home on the highway to Asheville - all we saw was trees, trees and more trees. We spent a whole day at the Biltmore Estate - highly recommend this to everyone. We aslo did the trolley tour of Asheville. Would highly recommend a visit to Asheville and the Homewood Suites.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting the mountains of Western North Carolina. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, our courtesy shuttle service, the wine from our Dinner with beer and wine, and the many things to do in the area. We look forward to seeing you again on the next time you come to visit the Asheville Area.
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    170
    44
    16
    6
See reviews for
266
241
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Staff is courteous. Hotel was clean. Guestroom was below Hilton standards in three areas: 1) bedspreads in 2012 are archaic, unsanitary and must go (let alone ugly), 2) WIFI in this hotel is terribly weak and basically non-existent, 3) biggest problem is the noisy plumbing. I could hear every time someone in the rooms above ours flushed a toilet as the waste water gushed down inside our wall in the plastic waste pipe which is uninsulated. Same problem with noisy water pipes and faucets/showers. Breakfast was also unsatisfactory as its offerings were less than I received in a Hampton Inn recently (no freshly made waffles, really?). I would never stay in this hotel again and I am a loyal Homewood Suites fan.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Asheville Area. I am sorry that you were so unhappy with your suite, and wished you would have let us know while you were here. The Homewood Suites by Hilton brand is in process of updating our bedding from the duvets to a new coverlet, which will be washed in between each guest. I want to apologize that you had trouble with the high speed internet access, as I use it everyday and do not experience the same as you described, but will check the equipment that supplies the area your suite was in. We also have a wired high speed internet connection in every suite as an alternate. I apologize for the noise you experienced and that the breakfast did not please your party. Although we do not have a waffle maker, we offer a fresh baked item every day, an egg dish prepared in a variety of ways, a select breakfast meat and a breakfast potato in addition to cold items. Overall, I am sorry that you will not be back, hope you will reconsider and give us another chance.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Ky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay on a "girlfriend trip". The staff were very friendly and made us feel so much at home. Everyone had a smile and "hello, how was your day?" attitude. Everything was clean and quiet. Breakfast was something different every day. The manager's reception seemed to be a nice dinner, but we were never there at that time. Location was good for the Biltmore and for shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your "girlfriend trip", and for sharing your experience. We are happy you had such a good time and look forward to seeing you again when you come back to the Asheville Area.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very clean friendly hotel on Tunnel Road, which is the main loop east of downtown Asheville- the shopping mall, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, etc.... I especially loved my stay because I was traveling alone. After touring all day, I came home to free dinner, with complimentary beer and wine. No it's not anything fancy, but after the free breakfast, and eating a good lunch while touring, it was a very pleasant way to spend my evenings. (I believe it's only Mondays thru Thursdays). Asheville is a compact town, you can drive to the Biltmore in 10 minutes from here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for being our guest while visiting the Asheville Area. We are pleased you made yourself at home and were able to enjoy our hot full breakfast and dinner with drinks. We hope to see you visiting again soon.
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I reside in Michigan and planned to spend our 2-year wedding anniversary on a vacation to the mountains of North Carolina. We settled on Asheville as the perfect place to day trip from and, after reading endless reviews, setlled on Homewood Suites by Hilton as the hotel of choice. We were extremely pleased with our stay from check-in to check-out and if we ever return to western North Carolina will most definitely be staying here again. We booked our room, a King Suite, in advance and received an extremely low rate ($100/night) for a hotel of this class.

The location of the hotel cannot be beat as it is a quick minute from I-240 which is the main route to Asheville. The hotel is located within quick walking distance of a great variety of restaurants including Olive Garden and Red Lobster. The hotel was extremely clean and well-kept, the decor was aesthetically pleasing, and the staff were extremely courteous and friendly. The indoor pool area was well-kept and included a hot tub. The hot breakfasts were an important factor in our choosing this hotel and were even better than advertised! The menu was substantial, the variety from day to day was fantastic, the food was never in short supply, and the dining area was the best I've seen in any hotel. Best hotel breakfasts I've ever had, by far. The manager's reception offered Mon.-Thurs. is worth mentioning as well. We were able to save a substantial amount of money by utilizing the light meal offered by the hotel during the week. Similar to the breakfasts, we were pleasantly suprised by both the quality and variety offered at these meals, and would not deem them "light", as they are described by Hilton.

Our King Suite was fantastic and included two 32" flat screen TV's (one for the living area, another for the bedroom), a DVD player, computer desk, 2-person dining nook, kitchenette with full fridge, spacious bath, and king size bed. Perfect for our week-long stay.

The hotel offers small additional perks such as free DVD rental at the front desk and free transportation via hotel shuttle within so many miles of the hotel, which were a nice touch. Our stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton was fantastic and could not have been any better! Made for a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing the back of the hotel. Rooms facing the back have a fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while vacationing in the mountains for your anniversary. We appreciate you choosing us amongst all of the choices in the area. We are happy you were pleased with our location, cleanliness, our hot full breakfast, evening dinner with drinks, well equipped king suite and courtesy shuttle. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, DE
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Biltmore Estate. We found the hotel to be quite nice. A breakfast buffet is included in the price and there are hot and cold foods available. The first morning they had quiche and bread pudding, both of which were very tasty. The second morning was scrambled eggs and cheese with sausage and grits. On Monday through Thursday nights they have free light food and wine in the same area. We did not try this so I can't comment on it. There are a number of chain restaurants within easy walking distance including Applebees, Olive Garden and Red Lobster. We had rented a car so getting to the Biltmore Estate is about a 5-10 minute drive. Since the Estate's driveway is a couple of miles long there are no hotels that are really walking distance anyway. I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Asheville area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Biltmore Estate and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. We are glad you enjoyed our hot full breakfast and our central location. We hope to see you when you visit our area again.
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights and really enjoyed it. Our room faced the surrounding hills and had a great view. Nicely appointed rooms and decor. TV had few HD channels which was a bummer. Front desk was very helpful and one young man there was very willing to give us recommended restaurants that we would not otherwise have found. One is right next door...Cornerstone...and was great. In fact we ate there 3 times. another he recommended, Juicey Lucies, was a ways off but had a great burger. Close enough to the downtown and only a block off the Blue Ridge Pky and a couple of freeways made it very convenient. Breakfast was adequate, not great.

Room Tip: Room in the rear section for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while vacationing in the Asheville Area. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your suite, the views of the surrounding mountains and our central location, just a mile and a half from the center of downtown Asheville. We do have all of the HD Channels available in the area and apologize you felt them lacking. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you returning soon.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Address: 88 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#6 Family Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Asheville’s finest all-suites luxury hotel located within minutes of downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estate and the city’s finest dining. At Homewood Suites by Hilton, Asheville, extra room is just the beginning. Our spacious and roomy suites have separate living and sleeping areas, work desks with complimentary internet, fully equipped kitchens and new high definition LCD televisions. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast served in our grand fireplace lobby and Monday-Thursday evenings, you can look forward to a complimentary dinner and drinks. Make your luxurious mountain vacation dream come true at Asheville’s new Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Asheville Hotel Asheville
Homewood Suites Asheville
Homewood Asheville
Asheville Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.