We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room ,service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 15%
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great room ,service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Can't get a better place for the price. Great location everything is near and the people are great. Breakfast and dinner are a great addition This is a good choice

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for being our guest while visiting the Asheville Area. We are happy you enjoyed your experience and your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    176
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
270
250
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Before I explain a three star rating, I will say what is good or better about this hotel. The food is above average for a Homewood. The breakfast room staff really work hard to keep a relatively small room clean and serviceable. The location is pretty good and convenient to a lot of things. Everyone we interacted with was friendly and tried to be helpful. Pool area was good and not crowded most of the time.

Here's the deal on the rating. When I travel the overarching issues are 1) can I sleep, and 2) can I work. This was a family trip so #1 became preeminent. We just couldn't sleep well here during any of the four nights we stayed. Not only was the bed below average (I realize this is subjective), but the pillows were unsupportive and there were noises in the room (209) most of the time coming from the wall between the bedroom closet and the shower. The noises were tapping sounds like someone was buried in a mine. We could also hear every time a neighbor used the toilet or shower like they were 2 feet away. The HVAC was much too loud making us turn it off at night to sleep which made it uncomfortable for us.

It felt like the room was a little smaller than many Homewood rooms I've stayed in, but I can't be sure of that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for making us a part of your family vacation. We truly appreciate the opportunity to have you stay with us. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience as we use it to refine our delivery. Please allow me to apologize for your lack of comfort with the bedding and the noise you experienced while you were here. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to be able to accomodate you in the future.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have stayed at this location two times and most likely will be back. The only thing that could make it better is if it was within walking distance to downtown. As it is, it is very convenient to the expressway. The hotel is very nice inside and seems to have good upkeep. A decent breakfast is served every day and a light dinner (with beer and wine) is served Mon. - Thurs. This could save you a fair amount of money unless you plan to try many of the very good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Asheville. Next time you are here, we hope to provide you with our Courtesy Shuttle service, which offers transportation to anywhere within 5 miles between 8 a.m. and 10 p.m. This free service furnishes easy access to downtown. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope you find a chance to return soon.
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 2 nights and loved the spacious suite. We received breakfast and dinner with our stay. The food was good and had unlimited beer and wine. Rooms are comfortable and minutes away from downtown Asheville.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing about your stay with fellow travelers. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

I'm writing this review as I stay in this hotel. This is the most horrible hotel I've ever sayed in...they should be stripped away of the Homewood Suites name. Its not clean nor up to standard to be labeled a homewood Suites. This is a $75 hotel, at most. I've stayed at plenty of Homewood Suites and Hilton brand hotels and this is defintely at the bottom. I went to put a drink in the fridge when I first walked in the room and there was old food in there. I immediately called the front desk and the guy says "oh, I don't think its part of housekeeping job, hold on let me check", and he never got came back to the phone. Then we requested a pack and play, the first one was broken and the second one was soiled in urine...it made the entire room stink, so we had to set it outside the room. The sheets are worned. The guy who was assisting was nice and went as far as giving us a $15 gift card for chilis...thank you, but that's nothing close to what I paid for this room. I actually got online and searched for another room at a other hotels in the area, but unfortunately they were all booked. Even my kids are complaining about the room and I hate having them stay in an unsat room. Had I found another room, I honestly would've packed up my kids and left this hotel. I'm a frequent traveler and Army retired..and know quality...this hotel definitely isn't. If I had to compare this hotel to another and rate it....it would be 1 star and on the level of a motel 6 or something of the sort. I can't wait for this night to be over. I've even called corporate to make a complaint.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we value the opportunity to have you as our guest. We appreciate that you took the time to share your valuable feedback, as we utilize it as an opportunity to improve. Please accept my sincere apology for your experience, and know that we strive to ensure that every guest is extremely satisfied, and are happy that we were able to refund your night's stay in addition to the gift card in standing behind our Suite Assurance Guarantee. Thank you again for sharing your feeback and I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamAL
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our anniversary trip and I'm glad we chose this hotel. It is a warm family place that was equally suited for my wife and I or families with several children. It is quiet, my only concern was that the in room enclosed air conditioner was a bit loud but I got used to it very quickly. The thermostat kept the room comfortable. The room darkening curtains did a good job of keeping out the morning sun.

We had a King suite with the living room separate from the bedroom. The rooms look exactly like the pictures that have been posted. Some have commented about the "dated" look but I suspect this is more in line with the tone of the city and the Biltmore tradition. Everything was comfortable (especially the bed) and clean. It was nice having the separate rooms for the times when one of would want to sleep longer and the other wanted to work on the computer, watch television or simply read. The cabinets had enough dishes to fix a meal if we had wanted, and a dishwasher to wash them in.

The hotel had a nice breakfast buffet with the usual eggs, meat, cereal, bread, juice, plus some excellent muffins. The dining area was large and the staff kept it clean. They have a meal available in the evenings on Mon-Thurs. Our first night there had salad greens with lemon pepper chicken and shrimp. The second night was hamburgers and macaroni salad. The menu for the month was posted on the refrigerator with something different every day. It wasn't a fancy meal, but it was good.

The hot tub was located beside the indoor pool. It is small, warm, and a nice place to relax.

The people at the front desk were extremely helpful, especially Cheryl and Laura. Troy Ferguson, General Manager, obviously cares about his guests.

I'm glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side of the hotel and it probably had less road noise. It had a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while celebrating your anniversary. We are happy you enjoyed your suite, breakfast, dinner with drinks, the indoor pool and spa area, and the service provided. Thank you for your warm comments about Cheryl, Laura and myself, we greatly appreciate that we helped you enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again soon when you visit the Asheville Area again.
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We are frequent patrons of Homewood Suites and this location was on par with the Hilton Brand. The decor was nice and the hotel was very clean. The only small complaint I have is that the breakfast staff was not prepared for the rush on sunday morning. They were often running out of bacon, cereal, coffee etc. I have never experienced that at a Homewood. I would still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your continued loyalty to Homewood Suites by Hilton hotels, and for staying with us while visiting our area. We appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest. Sunday mornings are our busiest and our breakfast team works very diligently to keep items fully stocked. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Address: 88 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#6 Family Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Asheville’s finest all-suites luxury hotel located within minutes of downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estate and the city’s finest dining. At Homewood Suites by Hilton, Asheville, extra room is just the beginning. Our spacious and roomy suites have separate living and sleeping areas, work desks with complimentary internet, fully equipped kitchens and new high definition LCD televisions. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast served in our grand fireplace lobby and Monday-Thursday evenings, you can look forward to a complimentary dinner and drinks. Make your luxurious mountain vacation dream come true at Asheville’s new Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Asheville Hotel Asheville
Homewood Suites Asheville
Homewood Asheville
Asheville Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.