We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just doesn't get better than this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 15%
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It just doesn't get better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I cannot say enough about the positive experience we had at this hotel. From the warm and friendly greeting by Kayla when we checked in to the Assistant General Manager, Robbie.

Each and every encounter with the staff at this Hotel was so positive. Even the maintenance staff (Tim) bent over backwards to help us solve a slight problem with a luggage cart.

The place is one of the cleanest hotels we've stayed in! I really appreciate that.
I would recommend this Homewood Suites to everyone!

*** We had such a wonderful experience that we decided to book a Homewood Suites in Alexandria, VA..... They don't even come close to the folks in Asheville.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Asheville Area. We appreciate you being our guest and your kind words about your stay. I have thanked Kayla, Robbie and Tim for another job well done. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality, and are eagerly waiting to see you again.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    176
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
270
250
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed here 5 nights and were very happy in a 2 rm suite that had a full kitchen with service for 4 in the cabinets, dishwasher, microwave, 2-burner cooktop and full size fridge. very clean, Flat screens in both rooms. Very clean, nice housekeepers. Great location right by highways, Less than 5 min drive to downtown Asheville. Short ride to Biltmore shops and Estate. Staff was so helpful, especially asst. manager Robbie. There is a free shuttle that will drop off/pick up within a 5 mile radius, except for the Biltmore estate. So we had a few trips into town via the shuttle and we didn't have to worry about parking. We will happily return!

Room Tip: complimentary breakfast daily and dinner M-Th
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your clean, well equiped suite, courtesy shuttle and the service provided. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We hope to see you the next time your travel plans include the Asheville Area.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The Homewood Suites Asheville is a great choice for families or budget conscious couples. My extended family (wife, kids, inlaws) booked two one-bedroom suites at a good rate on the Hilton website. The facility itself was appealing with a comfortable, traditionally decorated lobby/lounge area. The suites were very spacious and well-appointed with a full kitchenette complete with pots and pans, dishes and silverware. There are two flat screen TVs (one in living area and one in bedroom) and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom is small but functionable and there is a sink outiside of the shower/toilet area. There is a well-maintained indoor pool/spa that the kids enjoyed and a small workout room. The breakfast buffet included bacon, hashbrowns, eggs and various cold items and fruit. The food/serving area does tend to get crowded (I found myself bumping into other guests at the hot items section) but the hotel staff worked hard to replenish the items.

A word about the service: We arrived after the scheduled check-in time (about 3:30 p.m.) and the room was not ready. The front desk staff explained that there had been a "water problem" in town the day before and there was a delay in laundry. The Assistant Manager personally helped to clean the rooms, which took longer than we were initially told (at first it was 20 minutes but ended up being over an hour). We received a small gift card from Applebees for the inconvenience. Throughout the rest of the stay, the service was very efficient. Simply put: they do their best to satisy the customer, which is all I really ask.

The location, while convenient to Asheville and Biltmore, is in an industrial looking strip-mall area with no view but that didn't bother us. The spacious room/suite, free breakfast and good service outweighed a pricier location in central Asheville or Biltmore (the Inn at Biltmore appears very overpriced and our hotel was less than 10 minutes away by car or shuttle). Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Biltmore Estate, and reviewing your experience. We are happy you were pleased with the spacious suites, breakfast and the service provided. Thank you again and we hope to see you "home" again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Homewood Suites is conveniently located in a commercial area just east of downtown Asheville. That said, we still had nice mountain views from our suite, beyond Tunnel Rd and the interstate. None of the noise from a busy road and highway penetrated the walls of the hotel. Our little travel group was made up of my husband and me and our long time housemate and good pal (we're all in our late 50s). The three of us currently live in NJ and we've contracted to build our retirement home in the northern part of Asheville near Weaverville and needed a place to stay for five nights/six days to work with the builder on specs for the new place. We always try to find nice suite hotels when we travel as a group for more than a night, and after carefully reviewing available hotels that fit the bill, Homewood Suites was by far the leader of the pack because of its many amenities, great location near shopping and many restaurants, and good value. Reviews on TripAdvisor were quite favorable and we were correct to believe we'd picked a winner. Breakfasts and light suppers were a welcome bonus and another terrific value. We saw many families with young children who seemed especially grateful to have some in-house meals included in the price of the room so that they didn't have to go out of the hotel (plus, this is full suite type hotel with a well-stocked kitchenette so families will find the set up particularly attractive). Our suite had two full rooms with a bedroom with two comfortable queen size beds so we could all spread out. There is a sofa bed in the living room section of the main room but we always bring a self-inflating airbed for stays that are longer than a couple nights in case the sofa bed is uncomfortable. Internet service via Wi-Fi and ethernet were both fast and we experienced no dropped connections (three notebooks/netbook) during our stay. The hotel was very clean (the suite and public areas) and there were always plenty of friendly and enthusiastic employees around cleaning and repairing things. Any time we walked down a corridor, rode the elevator or encountered the staff (including the manager) on the grounds, we were met with eye contact, smiles and pleasant greetings. Housekeepers read our notes and left additional towels without being reminded. At least three people in maintenance and housekeeping asked if we were enjoying our stay at Homewood Suites and if we were having a nice time in Asheville! In a world where not everyone takes the initiative to ensure that the service they deliver is top notch, this staff clearly takes great pride in what they do so well. We're becoming quite fond of Hilton properties and racked up a ton of HiltonHonors points for this stay, which is a perk we can use toward a future visit. Because we are building our next home in Asheville we eventually won't have a reason to stay in a hotel. But until that house is built and we need to come down to NC as visitors to our next hometown, we certainly DO have a reason to choose to stay at Homewood Suites!!! Let's call it our "transition home away from home" until we move down permanently in a few years. Thanks Homewood - you guys rock! We'll be back.

Room Tip: You can pick your EXACT room before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for being our guest recently while you were in the Asheville Area. We value the opportunity to have you as our guest and are thankful for you sharing your experience with others. We hope to see you again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed for 5 days on business. The staff made me feel like family. Hot breakfast every morning, and very good food at the mgrs. reception each evening. Had an evening off and not only did one of the managers give me some great suggestions for dining, they took me in the hotel shuttle to the downtown area and picked me up when I was ready to come back. Everyone from the housekeepers to the General Manager were extremely friendly and attentive to details. The property is very clean, my room was perfect and very quiet.
I've stayed everywhere from Motel 6 to Four Seasons. The staff at this Homewood is as attentive and personable as any 5 star hotel I've been to. Because of my experience on this trip I am planning to return in the fall for some vacation time with my wife. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while conducting business in the area. We appreciate your review on our hotel and are glad you enjoyed our full hot breakfast, dinner & drinks, courtesy shuttle service, cleanliness, quietness and the service provided. We look forward to seeing you on your vacation this fall.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We normally try to stay at Homewood Suites because of the overall high quality of the hotels. This hotel ranks as one of the best Homewood Suites that we have stayed at. The rooms are super clean and well furnished . The breakfast was great with a good selection of items to choose from. We didn't take advantage of the Manager's Reception at night but the menu seemed varied. We will certainly stay here again when we travel to Asheville.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you so much for your loyalty to Homewood Suites by Hilton, and for staying with us while visiting the Asheville Area for leisure. We appreciate you taking the time to share with fellow travelers about your experience. Thank you for commenting on the cleanliness, furnishings and Full Hot Breakfast Buffet. We look forward to you coming "home" again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We booked three nights at the Homewood Inn and Suites on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews. We had a king whirlpool suite on the ground floor – all whirlpool suites are on the ground floor if that is a concern for you. The hotel looked new and well kept. All staff members were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were adequate, typical of Homewood and Hampton brands. We didn’t use the gym, but it looked clean and adequately equipped although quite small. Location is good for visiting Biltmore, downtown and Blueridge Parkway. There are a few chain restaurants in the area. Included internet is good. There are no in-room safes, a shortcoming and surprise in a new hotel. There are safety deposit boxes at the front desk but they are too small for laptops, GPS, etc. and are inconvenient. Overall, a good value and a good place to stay in Asheville.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for being our guest while visiting the Asheville Area. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel to other travelers. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Address: 88 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#6 Family Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Asheville’s finest all-suites luxury hotel located within minutes of downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estate and the city’s finest dining. At Homewood Suites by Hilton, Asheville, extra room is just the beginning. Our spacious and roomy suites have separate living and sleeping areas, work desks with complimentary internet, fully equipped kitchens and new high definition LCD televisions. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast served in our grand fireplace lobby and Monday-Thursday evenings, you can look forward to a complimentary dinner and drinks. Make your luxurious mountain vacation dream come true at Asheville’s new Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Asheville Hotel Asheville
Homewood Suites Asheville
Homewood Asheville
Asheville Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.