We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crooked Oak Mountain Inn is a welcoming retreat with excellent food, exceptional comfort and wonderful hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Save
You added Crooked Oak Mountain Inn to your Saves list
217 Patton Mountain Road, Asheville, NC 28804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
madison
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crooked Oak Mountain Inn is a welcoming retreat with excellent food, exceptional comfort and wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I spent a few nights at the Crooked Oak Mountain Inn in May with some friends. Enjoyed every aspect of my stay. The rooms were all beautifully decorated, spacious and very inviting. Patti and Bear are perfect hosts - their warmth and friendliness are apparent from the minute they greet you at the door. Breakfasts are above-and-beyond expectations, with daily homemade pastries, fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes, whatever you might want. The Inn is not more than 5 minutes outside Asheville, in a beautiful wooded setting. Love that I saw a scarlet tanager on my last morning there! Will definitely return for another visit. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
256
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

The rooms are charming and comfortable. The location is secluded in the mountains and yet minutes away from downtown. Patti and Bear have thought of every detail to make your stay pleasant and fun. They have recommandations for dining, hiking, shopping and touring that provides for a complete visit to Asheville. Most of all, they are amazing cooks and the breakfasts are to die for!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed four days here at this small bed and breakfast and loved every minute of it. The owners are gourmet chefs and serve up a breakfast that can't be beat. It's outside the city in a wooded setting and is so peaceful. Rooms are clean and spacious and most have their own bathrooms. I will stay here again and highly recommend it. It's close to the Biltmore Estate and many parks for hiking.

Room Tip: Take the larger suite at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We loved everything about this B&B. The location,the"home" our room, the food......we didn't leave one morsel on our plates.....but perhaps the best part of this B&B..... hosts Patti and Bear......they were wonderful,friendly,gracious,helpful and boy... they can cook!!!!!!!!!! We WILL return!!! hopefully soon

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Crooked Oak offers the peace and relaxation of a mountain getaway -- but is close enough to Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway to enjoy good food, the arts, and outdoor adventure. We hiked, biked, ate wonderful local food, relaxed in the Inn's gardens (loved the hammock!), and enjoyed delicious breakfasts in a beautiful great room with incredible forest views. Patti and Bear, the innkeepers, are friendly, yet professional, and offered a perfect long weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Wonderful outdoor patio, seclusion, great food, cozy indoor atmosphere and friendly helpful owners who provide a pleasant stay with a smile. I will be returning and sending friends and family as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

My Mom, siblings, nieces and nephew stayed here when visiting over Easter weekend and all gave rave reviews and promised returns! Patti and Bear, the proprietors, served a special brunch on Easter morning just for the 10 of us and the quiche was perhaps the best thing I've put in my mouth, or maybe it was Bear's special waffles. All served with love and gracious humor! Thanks y'all!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

Address: 217 Patton Mountain Road, Asheville, NC 28804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from downtown Asheville, this mountain bed & breakfast is set on three wooded acres and offers the perfect place to relax while enjoying the gorgeous mountain views and natural setting. Inside, you will find rustic elegance and beautifully appointed guest rooms in a friendly, casual atmosphere. The breakfasts are abundant and the innkeekpers, Bear and Patti, are happy to accommodate special diets such as vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, etc. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crooked Oak Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.