We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner Kitchen

The Corner Kitchen
3 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2653
+1 828-274-2439
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Corner Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: All Soul's Crescent
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I used reviews to pick the restaurant. We were so happy we did. We brought my two girls- 8 & 5 with us. We had appetizers which were good- mussels and Brie. My husband also ordered the crab bisque which was taken over by my five year old. It was delicious. Our entrees were great- Mahi for me and duck for my husband. Even my girls were happy with the kids menu. My youngest wanted to see the chef so out he came. The staff was wonderful and the service was great. We will eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,051
    376
    110
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallston, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am not a big fan of having to pay for a basket of bread when it was nothing spectacular. Chicken with prosciutto was tasty. Other dishes were tasty too.
The people next to us must have been regulars. They ordered off the menu and seemed happy with their meal and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a wonderful al fresco lunch at The Corner Kitchen after our visit to The Biltmore Estate
The Fish and Chips were hot and very tasty. Service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had an excellent meal at the Corner Kitchen while vacationing in Asheville. Once we were seated, we had good service and extremely good food. The only minorly irritating thing was the way we were treated upon our arrival. The hostess greeted us and informed us we were 10 minutes early. I already knew that. No problem. We were told to go wait outside. Again, no problem, since it was a summer evening. However, this is where it gets interesting. A couple walked up and checked out the menu, decided to eat at the Corner Kitchen, went inside and were immediately seated. I guess they might have made a reservation, but I don't think so. This happened at least once more. After waiting about 20 minutes, I returned to the hostess stand inside and inquired about our reservation. She said it would be just a few more minutes and informed me they were very busy. I did not speak my mind and ask if we had just walked up without a reservation, maybe we would be seated and eating by now. So, while the food is very good, I suggest you consider the treatment one receives with a reservation and clearly a visitor. What this hostess probably did not consider is we plan to return to Asheville and I sincerely doubt we will eat at the Corner Kitchen, unless of course, we feel like being mis-treated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Southern Fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food the service is excellent, be prepard to wait quite awhile. This is a high energy cafe, which has a lot of noise . The chefs excell at everything I have ever eaten there, the portions are huge and I learn to split an entree, or take home the left overs ! It's a fun place with good food go and enjoy !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Kitchen also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Corner Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.