We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold food, no customer service!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner Kitchen

The Corner Kitchen
3 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2653
+1 828-274-2439
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Corner Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: All Soul's Crescent
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cold food, no customer service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A little embarrassing to take California family to this restaurant. It took 20 mintues to advise that they were out of what one person in our party ordered. Then all the food is held resulting in cold steak and fries that are overcooked and cold and or have been sitting too long. Fries tasted like they came out of a can. Took the time to write a letter stating the facts and no response. Won't go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    376
    110
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not at all what we expected, nothing like the reviews.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our last night in Asheville we decided to eat close to our apartment rental. We did not want to venture far or into downtown due to the Belle Chere festival. I had viewed trip advisor and seen the good reviews. Someone even referred to this restaurant as a "Farm to Table". Please note serious food diners.....This is not a farm to table style restaurant. They state they change their menu every week, however , that is not farm to table. The menu was a joke. It was at best a 1989 chain restaurant menu. Really immature style and no creativity. We knew as soon as we sat and read the menu we were in trouble. We both had one starter, a sad little salad ( shreaded lettuce no doubt with three stands of onion and a few nuts) and the calamari which was described as a having a jerk flair ( was topped with canned jalapanos ) and a glass of wine. We politely paid the bill and ran out as fast as we could. We left all of the food on the plates after two bites and went to Rezaz's down the street. The waiter was very friendly as so the hostess that greated us upon arrival.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleNative139, Owner at The Corner Kitchen, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi - and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We always like hearing from restaurant professionals, as I see you are from your profile. In your review, you wrote about a couple of things. One was the idea of farm to table. We take that to mean that, when a restaurant can, they source food from local farms, dairies and other vendors. It doesn't limit us to a certain style of food when we create our menus, however.

For us, it means using items like the following (these were on one or all of our menus the day you dined with us): local heirloom tomatoes (we buy the total output of a local farm each year), trout (from a local trout farm that has been raising trout for over fifty years), stone-ground grits, eggs (delivered 2-3 days a week from a farm seven miles away), cheeses, jam, steaks (from fifty miles away - not a lot of cattle farms any closer than that), ground beef, pork, herbs (including those from our garden right outside our door here at Corner Kitchen), mushrooms, beans and honey. I am missing a couple of other items, but you get the idea. We are also supporters of ASAP, the Appalachian Sustainable Agriculture Project, and it's farmers.

As the seasons change, the items we use from local farms change as well, and during some seasons, most notably winter, we must use items that are not local. However, if it can be sourced locally, we try to use it.

In addition to buying from local farms, we make all sauces, dressings, desserts (except for one gluten free dessert) chips, and several of our beverages in-house.

From your review, it sounds like you did not have the chance to really eat more than a couple of bites with us. I wish you had. I would have liked to hear about specific flavors, textures and whether you liked or disliked any of our entrees.

As to the items you ordered, the Village Green Salad is indeed lettuce and the pickled onions on it are a garnish, and they are pickled right here in our kitchen. The jalapenos are not from a can, but cut fresh by our executive chef as he makes each plate of calamari. If you happen to get a seat at the chef's bar, you can watch him do it all night (among other things, of course). He is also the person that carries the heirloom tomatoes in to the restaurant each day. They come from his farm.

In closing, I apologize that you did not enjoy your meal with us. (Rezaz is a great restaurant, however, and he is a good friend, so I'm glad you found your way over there). We work hard to make sure that everyone feels welcome and that the food we serve is as fresh and delicious as possible. We would love to have you try it when you come back through Asheville again.

Regards,
Kevin Westmoreland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't skip this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here and I made the right choice! I got lox salmon with a bagel and it was delicious. Lots of great vegetarian options and was very focused on local sources.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Bridal Shower Winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a bridal shower here last weekend and the food and service were superb. I can't wait to come back to test the dinner menu! Well done!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful farm-to-table restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our third meal at the Corner Kitchen, and once again the restaurant did not disappoint. Food and service were outstanding. My 8-year-old rates the mac and cheese "excellent, almost as good as mom's"! My son had steak au poivre, and my husband had the trout, which he said is one of the best dishes he's eaten. We appreciate the upscale atmosphere that caters to both couples and families.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Kitchen also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Corner Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.