We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner Kitchen

The Corner Kitchen
3 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2653
+1 828-274-2439
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Corner Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 646 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: All Soul's Crescent
Jericho, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We where actually looking for a different restaurant, stopped to asks the employee for directions, which was done very courteously. We were so surprised, we ask if they had room for us to eat there,after checking with the staff, there was a table available for us and we enjoyed a wonderful meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,086
    387
    113
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On a trip through much of N. Carolina...We loved this place! I didn't absolutely love the atmosphere... but the food was fantastic. I had the meatloaf with collard greens and my dad LOVED his trout. Very homey, delicious southern food. They had 1/2 off bottles of wine too! Very lovely, well priced meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Quaint and Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We ventured to this corner of Asheville upon the recommendation of a friend and tripadvisor reviews. We certainly were not disappointed. We started off with a couple of great local craft beers followed by an excellently grilled portabella with a sun dried tomato and cream cheese topping. The spinach with walnuts and candied cranberries were also a nice touch. My wife had the Southern standby, a 3 meat - meatloaf with cheese grits and greens. You might want to ask which 3 meats make up the meatloaf. My wife does not prefer lamb, but the sides were great. Finished off with a white chocolate bread pudding, less the ice cream,,,,great. You won't find better service than on the corner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Very Good but Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Recent Sanitation Score 96.
There's not much one can add to the hundreds of other positive reviews. It's a very good "new contemporary Southern" type restaurant. Nicely decorated, Features a beautiful outdoor seating courtyard area.
The menu changes frequently, and the actual menu when we came for dinner wasn't the same as the one online.
The food was very good, the portions large, the prices a bit high. Service was very good.
Please note that the restrooms are upstairs.
Recommended if your budget can sustain it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went there while in town for a conference. My husband picked it out which is surprising considering he doesn't like upscale places. The atmosphere was relaxed which was great because we were both dressed casually. My husband had the beef tenderloin which I tasted and it was delicious! I had the Italian Mac and Cheese which was decent but not my favorite. The portions were a good size. The waitress was great and very attentive to us although she had a lot of tables that night to cover. The price was a little steep for two of us it was $45 but my husband said he would definitely pay it again. I would recommend this place to a friend looking for a date night idea or just a place to get together with friends outside of the status quo restaurant around here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Kitchen also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Corner Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.