We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with the service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant

Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant
6 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3302 (Downtown Asheville)
828-252-9805
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Kernersville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed with the service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

After reading all the reviews I was excited about eating at this restaurant. However when we arrived the hostess didn't acknowledge our group for 15 minutes. Once she finally did she was unfriendly and unwelcoming.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    190
    26
    15
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had one of the best meals of my life here after a visit to Biltmore Estate.

The flavors were amazing, unlike anything I've ever had before. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Flavorful lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We read previous reviews and we're not disappointed! The empanadas were amazing. The favors of the salsa were definitely Caribbean. We had a late lunch and not crowded at all. The portions are large. The server was attentive. Great meal!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I stopped in for lunch today. She had crab empanadas and I had shrimp diabla pom pom pom. Food was delicious service was excellent and friendly. The only reason I'm not going to give it a five is the dining room is a little crowded.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stopped in to Salsa for lunch after wanting to try it for quite some time. I got lucky with my timing since it wasn't that crowded when I got there and was seated immediately. It got busy shortly after. I ordered a pulled pork empanada which came with rice and slaw. The empanada was massive! Everything tasted great and appeared to be very fresh. Service was attentive. Overall a great experience for lunch and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.