We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Accident” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant

Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant
6 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3302 (Downtown Asheville)
828-252-9805
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Happy Accident”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We ended up at Salsas because the restaurant we set out for was closed for a special event. We had walked past it earlier and noted that even though it was not yet noon, the place was full and that the food we saw on tables looked fantastic. We made our way back and were not disappointed. The only thing that kept me from giving it an overall "excellent" rating was the beverage selection. Only one iced tea in the South is just not right. I don't care what funky hippie city you might be in. And the one they have is odd. Thick and red and frankly, not tea. But the burritos! The salsas! The service! We'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    177
    26
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OMG Great Food- Come in Hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The food is delicious! Ridiculously tasty and such big servings. I liked the art on the wall and for such a small sit down place the food is more top of the line. The only thing I didn't like was I ordered a soda and it was too sweet and they didn't take it off the bill which is strange because whether its food or drink it is in bad form to charge someone for something they don't like. They should offer a taste test to skip this possibility of disappointment.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highest quality...and bring your appetite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The price/quality ratio is off the charts, the setting comfy and attractive, but the flavors and food quality (and quantity) made this a memorable meal. We chose chips with 3 salsas (all unique, delicious), a Pom Pom, and the relleno with pork. They were belly busting in size, but so, so delicious.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A surprising mix of flavors and ingredients made this a truly unforgettable meal. The quality and freshness of the ingredients bring out the flavors of these creative dishes. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Salsa has a very unique menu blending Mexican and Caribbean foods and flavors. The food was fresh with big portions. The restaurant is cramped but the food is well worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.