We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olive Garden= Attentive, courteous-Dan, server is the man and Experience Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
121 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1817
(828) 255-9887
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Asheville, N.C.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Olive Garden= Attentive, courteous-Dan, server is the man and Experience Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Part of the reason a chain restaurant can be a good experience is the "comfort, no surprise factor." I was not really expecting bells and whistles here but frankly, I was mistaken.
From the moment we entered the establishment we were acknowledged and treated as treasured guests.
Our server, Dan, exemplary and an employee I would value, covet and had they not so kind, the lunch so lovely and delish...I would attempt to steal. So too, the young woman who greeted us. Excellent both in personality, welcome, attention and expediting us to a booth.
Got the salad , pasta bowl special and it was very, very good. So, if you are looking for a filling, delicious lunch at a very cost contained rate with only good surprises...Look here!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Just Ok......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Had dinner there last night was not very impressed. The food was just ok, and the service was just ok... I had a gift certificate I rec'd as a Xmas gift and it took me 8 months to get there to use it There's your clue..LOL

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best meal and best service in ages!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were seated quickly and our server, Devon, greeted us with a HUGE smile and a through knowledge of the menu. She was very attentive and kept us comfortable and happy throughout our meal. Olive Garden is Great, and Devon is STUPENDOUS!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurtland, Ky
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stopped for dinner while on spring break. The food was good and so was the service at this location.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hair in the salad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My wife, 12 year old granddaughter and I ate at the Olive Garden in Asheville, NC on 7/11/2010 and, to say the least, it was not a good experience. After waiting 20 minutes to sit, we finally were seated and ordered drinks. My wife ordered a glass of wine and it did not appear until just before the meal came and after the salad was delivered. Our waitress said she "forgot" to check the bar for her wine.

After two bites of salad, I noticed a hair in mine. Waiting several minutes for the waitress to come back I then told her about it and showed her the hair. She took the plate and left.
the meals arrived and were okay. Shortley thereafter, a manager arrived and inquired about the "extra" item in my salad. I explained and he apologized.

When the bill arrived there was no consideration given for the hair in the salad and there was never an offer of a desert or drink to compensate for the hair. Any restaurant of any standing would have offered some type on compensation for the hair in the salad. Needless to say I will not eat there again.
This experience was not a pleasurable one.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.